We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Kuching

Save Saved
You added Pullman Kuching to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pullman Kuching
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 45 hotels in Kuching
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at this hotel earlier in the year. From the moment we stepped out of the car, we were treated liked royalty by every member of staff we encountered, during our entire stay.

The rooms are huge & the view looking down over Kuching was wonderful. The complimentary canapes & cocktails in the club lounge were of a very high standard. We have stayed in many hotels using these facilities & most are very limited in choice & quality can be so so at times, not here!

Added bonus to this hotel...Hills Shopping centre is attached to the rear of it, not huge & not at full occupancy when we were there, but some quality shops.
If you have a passion for portugese tarts or other asian sweet delights, you cant go past Hong Kong Bay & Macau Cafe in this complex. Delicious food!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    506
    449
    115
    23
    22
See reviews for
242
386
110
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Stayed there last weekend and will definitely go back again. We booked 2 deluxe room but at the eleventh hour, my mother in law refuse to stay with us at the hotel and we have already made full payment for the rooms. We paid a good RM430 for each room and without breakfast. Upon check in, we asked the receptionist if we could trade our 2 rooms in exchange for a room to the club/executives floor. They promised to look into it while we check in to our Deluxe King room in the meantime. We didn't put much hope to it initially. How delighted we were when informed that they will upgrade us to the Junior Suite with 2 complimentary breakfast. However, we are not entitle for the executive privileges. Well, it is our fault and they have all rights to reject our request in the first place. Therefore, we are grateful for the offer. The room was huge with spectacular view of the river. Bathroom were huge too but it doesn't come with a view like the one in Deluxe King.

The hotel is within walking distance to Topspot seafood restaurant. We went to stall 25 as suggested by most travellers but find the place overrated. The baked garlic+butter crayfish was fresh but tasteless. We only enjoy the midin and the sweet and sour chicken. The steam siakap was a little overcooked and the soy sauce lack of taste. We can easily find better seafood in West Malaysia. However, the price was really cheap. Do try out Kim Bay at the mall adjacent to the hotel. They serves good dim sum with suprisingly big portion. We expected bite size egg tarts for the price of RM3.80 for 2 but what we got were 2 regular size egg tart. Same goes with the rest of dimsum. Go try them!

The breakfast spread at Pullman was sufficient, taste wise was so so. Nothing spectacular but they have freshly brewed decaf! That makes my day. The staff at the counter was very pleasant and wears a smile all the time as well as the staff at pool area. The breakfast staff was very sulky, especially one lady with short hair, I wish she would have come closer to my table so that i could get her name. It was not a sight i would like to wake up to in the morning. However, they were all very friendly towards their white lady colleague whom i suppose is their supervisor. With all the smiles lighting up their faces. How ridiculous if one can do that to fellow to colleagues but not to customer who pay their salaries.

We slept so well, we would want to go back to Pullman for the comfortable bed and very lovely pillows!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Valued Customer,

Warm Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear such a wonderful feedback about our rooms and the food. We look forward to seeing you back for your next visit!

Best wishes to you!

Regards,
Eric Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

A great place for a mini break. The rooms were spacious, clean and well maintained. There is a gym and outdoor pool for use too. There is a shopping centre in the basement with Mango, Zara, Calvin Klein to name but a few. There was also a selection of food places in there too. The cafe in the hotel sells nice cakes and pastries and the bar has a happy hour...! I would recommend this hotel without a doubt ;0) The waterfront is walking distance and it is safe enough to walk around in the evenings.

Room Tip: I chose one on a high floor ;0)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Valued Customer,

Warm Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thank you for your review regarding your stay in Pullman Kuching. It is always a pleasure to receive kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the future.

Best wishes to you!

Regards,
Eric Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This was our second time/year staying at Pullman Kuching. We stayed there last year just because it was new in Kuching. We absolutely love the contemporary design. Clean & crisp! We stayed at the executive level just because you get extra perks - complimentary breakfast, hors d' oeuvres, cocktails and the use of the exec. lounge. It was also quite the view from the 22nd floor lounge. In short, we enjoyed our stay! As long as it's well managed, we definitely will keep on coming back there every year for our family get together.

Room Tip: If you have extra $$$. Go for the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Dear Valued Customer.

Warm Greetings from Pullman Kuching!

Thank you for your kind review regarding your stay in Pullman Kuching. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to come and stay with us again in your next visit!

Best wishes to you!

Regards,
Eric Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pullman in late August 2011 during Ramadan and Hari Raya.
We found the Pullman to be in an excellent location with a great view over the city. Our room was a very good size with a huge bathroom, also with a great view!
The staff were courteous and very responive to any requests we made and the level of housekeeping was very high. We used the gym and pool, both excellent,with really good equipment in the gym.
As we wanted to try as much local food as possible, we did not eat in the restaurants however they looked good and seemed to offer good choices. As it was Ramadan, it was possibly a quieter time than usual around the hotel and Kuching in general, however being on the hill, over the Hills Shopping Mall, the hotel provided easy walking access in all directions and was close to a good evening food market, the Top Spot (?) which had some very good places to eat.
Free internet was also available in the foyer but it was very slow.
Overall, we couldn't fault our stay at the Pullman and would rate it as one of the best value hotels we have stayed in anywhere in SE Asia.
Very strongly recommended to a business or holiday traveller.

Room Tip: Go high, but view to either side would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PullmanKuching, General Manager at Pullman Kuching, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Valued Customer,

Warmest Greetings!

Thank you for your kind comment regarding your stay in Pullman Kuching. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Have a nice day!

Regards,
Eric Tan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itally
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

This has to be one of the best hotels in kuching. Not possible for anyone to complain about their lounge food. Service or anything.

The rooms are fantastic the design and the furniture is very sophisticated . Night view from the room is so very beautiful and we had the great evening in kuching ,having a dinner at the seafood restaurant"top spot" the food was very nice and delicious.

going to the orang utan tour and the sarawak cultural village quite far from the city area but it was worth it.

the hotel staff very helpful and so energetic, from the restaurant to the front desk greeting is every where.the staff name yatum from the bell counter is really helpful and funny guy giving us all the information that me and my husband needs.


the hotel is located at the centre of kuching city,you can just walk from the hotel to the city area.

'CAN'T WAIT TO COME BACK TO KUCHING'


Stayed AUGUST 2011

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pullman Kuching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Kuching

Address: No. 1A, Jalan Mathies, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kuching
#1 Family Hotel in Kuching
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
#2 Business Hotel in Kuching
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Kuching 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Kuching is the newest addition to the 5-stars international brand in the city. Located in the heart of Kuching on top of the hill at Jalan Mathies, Pullman Kuching offers astonishing panoramic view of the city and the Sarawak River. The hotel is adjacent to a two storey city life-style shopping centre “Hills Shopping Mall” and within walking distance to commercial centre and city attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Pullman Kuching reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pullman Kuching Hotel Kuching
Pullman Kuching Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Kuching, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.