We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lady luck was with us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Semenggoh Nature Reserve

Semenggoh Nature Reserve
Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
82618324
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 35 attractions in Kuching
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas
Activities: Viewing wildlife
Attraction Details
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Lady luck was with us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Sighting of the orang utan is rare during the fruiting season from Oct-Mar each year, but we struck gold on the day we visited the reserve. After 30 minutes of waiting, one of the rangers shouted that a mother and her child were sighted in the fruit garden on the other side. All of us ran (it was funny!) and to our delight witnessed the mother feeding her baby! Then Ricky the alpha male, and another smaller orang utan joined the party!! Ricky was so close to us the rangers kept telling us to "go back" and keep a safe distance. It was wonderful, seeing the orang utan thrive in the wilderness. Kudos to these rangers.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    320
    87
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Orang Utan galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were, apparently, very lucky to see so many of these marvelous animals. The park rangers are knowledgable and very approachable. Great value for RM10. If you take public transport, be prepared for a 20min hike from the gate to the feeding area...and back, again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Orangutans!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

I went here early October to see some orangutans and I felt it was brilliant to see these animals first hand!

Before you enter you can go and look at the information point which tells you a little of each orangutan you may see and gives you a little insight as to how orangutans live and just in general a bit about them which is great!

The place you go to is cool, it's offset from the animals which is great as it stops people getting too close! The guides were good, telling people what to do to stay safe and stuff but the best part is of course observing the animals just doing their thing... Unreal and for pennies!!!

I really enjoyed it and would recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“One orangutan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Go in summer months ie May to August as in November there is lots of fruit and therefore no need for orangutans to come to feeding station. We saw one so were very lucky as the previous four trips the guide said they didn't see any.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great way to see the orangatangs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My daughter and I really enjoyed the reserve. We were able to see several orangatangs in their natural habitat for the first time. The reserve was well managed and easy to navigate. There was plenty of signage in English and the rangers were very helpful. A must-do in Kuching. If you do go, don't bring a stroller!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semenggoh Nature Reserve also viewed

 

Been to Semenggoh Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Semenggoh Nature Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Semenggoh Nature Reserve to your Saves list