We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We got lucky, they had a cancellation and we got in.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Basaga Holiday Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Basaga Holiday Residences to your Saves list
Basaga Holiday Residences
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 71 Kuching B&B and Inns
Melbourne FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We got lucky, they had a cancellation and we got in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We went to Kuching for InterHash late June/early July. With over 4,000 Hashers arriving in Kuching rooms were hard to find. We had requested a room at Basaga but they were full. They said they would let us know if there was a cancellation. There was and we were in. No deposit required, and they picked us up at the airport. Brandon and his lovely wife were so helpful and friendly. The price was right. The bar was great and so was the food.

Would we stay here again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    99
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
54
109
36
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

I stayed at Basaga for five days earlier this month. Basaga opened about a year ago. This is a wonderful place to stay. Rooms are terrific. I stayed in a verandah room which features a TV, air con, two big beds, and an en suite bathroom. The staff was great. I felt like I was staying with family. Basaga offers free airport transfers. They will pick you up at the airport upon arrival and drop you off there as well. Breakfast buffet in the morning is good. They also have a bar and a restaurant that offers lunch and dinner. Laundry service also available. The only negative is the location. It's about a five to ten minute taxi ride to central Kuching where most of the hotels and bars are located. But that wasn't a problem for me. This is suitable for the solo traveler, couples, or families. All of these traveler types were present while I was there, and all had a wonderful experience.
I've traveled all over the world and I can tell you that this place is a real gem!
I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Kuching!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Just got back from a lovely trip to Sarawak and had the pleasure of staying at Basaga for a few nights. We were picked up at the airport by manager Brandon and whisked to the hotel around twenty minutes away. The hotel is really boutique, lovely and relaxed, with a cool pool and beautiful bar under a vine-covered veranda.

We were staying in a courtyard room with a bathroom inside and shower outside - it's so nice to shower outside in your own private courtyard in the sunshine.

Kuching is a 25 minute walk away or a 5 minute taxi, and quite often Brandon will drop you off in town himself. There's lots of museums to see in Kuching, and the waterfront is great to stroll along at night but I'm really pleased I stayed at Basaga - I finished my holiday completely relaxed and recharged - especially after coming back to Basaga after trekking in Bako National Park! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone, and Brandon couldn't do enough for us, even putting us in touch with some amazing people who made the holiday especially memorable. Enjoy this place!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

An excellent place to stay. Beautiful, clean rooms. Pool. Great staff who were friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

We've stayed for more than a week and needed to continue our journey, otherwise we would have stayed the rest of our 3 month trip. The staff is very friendly and helpfull (especially Jason). The rates are negotiable but stil reasonable and the food is very tasty. Rooms are cleaned daily and the pool is nice and salty! Keep up the good work, we will be back one day!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

What a great place!! [We stayed 6 nights in the Suite and it was perfect. Everybody is very friendly! We felt really comfortable.
There are some restaurants/shops nearby and the citycenter only 5 minutes by taxi.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holboli
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2010

We stayed in Basaga twice during our time in Kuching. The first time we were stayed in the room with the veranda. It had a good view overlooking the pool. It was quiet with a big room and massive double bed. We also stayed in the main house. The room was just as nice. The only thing I think they need to change is the bathrooms. They don't seem to have great drainage. That being a very minor thing, the overall resort was wonderful. The rooms were very clean.
Very warm and friendly staff, who were always very helpful in booking taxi's and other accommodation.
The food was great, we never needed to venture out to find a restaurant in the evening. The food was cheap too.
Only 5 minutes from a massive shopping mall, great for shoppers.
Definitely come here if your staying in Kuching, just for a relaxing few days...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basaga Holiday Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.