We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good until the end” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Basaga Holiday Residences

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Basaga Holiday Residences to your Saves list
Basaga Holiday Residences
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 69 Kuching B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“All good until the end”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at basaga when I was with a tour group for a few nights and it was nice friendly and clean. The rooms are nice and the pool is good. The food was average, but the bar closes at 2pm as well as the kitchen so there is no way of getting a drink or a snack inbetween 2pm and 5pm which I personally find ridiculous, a place like this should surley have a bar and kitchen open for those staying here, especially when I had to check out by 12pm and my flight is not untill 7pm. I was left hungry and thirsty and when asking reception to open the small fridge with cans of drink in I was ignored as both people laughed at a computer screen, rude doesn't even come close...all in all dissapointed with the kitchen bar and service here in the end.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    94
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
103
34
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

We based ourselves at Basaga whilst day tripping to some of the nearby national parks. This is a pleasant hotel, which has a triple room option if you have three non-romantically involved adults travelling together. The breakfast was included and is adequate. One way transfer from the airport was included, although all guests in the same room had to travel together. The bar at the hotel is a nice hangout, popular with locals. It is a bit of a walk into town and that stretch of road, we were told, is popular with bag snatchers. We just got taxis into the town centre as needed. The pool is nice, although there seemed to be quite a bit of fallen foliage from the trees above in the pool, in spite of the best efforts of the staff to keep it clean. We had some troubles with the hot water. Let's say it was lukewarm, short lived and better at low pressure. Not the best outcome when you have three shivering adults post Borneo downpour. When we stayed there, a very cute kitten joined us for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just the whole layout, such as the wooden floors, the pool, the gardens, then add the over-the-top help of Mildrid and her staff make for an absolutely unique stay. For a small resort everything is right there! Just minutes away from the waterfront, about 20 from the airport...And the food is superb!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

initially book for queen bed courtyard room as i would like privacy, but was given room upstairs..with 3 single beds! change room to 1 twinbed and 1 single beds.. that bed only took the room space as we didnt need it. parking space is not enough! no guest-only parking space.. entrance signboard is tiny, u'll probably miss it if u drove there by yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderfully friendly staff, air-conditioned rooms with hot showers.
Nice bar and excellent mix of good value Indonesian and western food.
Nice swimming pool and shaded pool terrace.
Lovely decor and plants surround a large, quiet, comfortable terrace are where you can eat your breakfast and relax.

Room Tip: Some rooms open on to the common verandah overlooking the pool where you can sit and relax. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was told that the property is about 125 years old and was once a school, so that meant that I was probably sleeping in one of the classrooms or a staffroom.

I stayed in a spacious room at the main building. I loved that Basaga was nicely decorated with local crafts and lots of healthy green plants, which makes it feel as if it's nestled in a private haven somewhere, when it's only a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Kuching. It's cosy and comfortable, and has a bar and restaurant, which seemed to be quite popular while I was there!

Room Tip: The airport pick-up isn't complimentary. Staying in the main building may be noisier than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Basaga was perfect for us, close to the city so we get around and go to the places we wanted but not in the centre so it was peaceful, it almost didn't feel like you were in a city! The staff are very friendly especially the reception staff, who can't do enough to help you.

The food was great and reasonably priced, the laksa is a must! The pool area is lovely with lots of trees providing shade but also open space for he sun worship peers, the pool is regularly cleaned. We stayed in a courtyard room with an outdoor shower which is a great concept, although the shower was only ever lukewarm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basaga Holiday Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.