We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“averagel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basaga Holiday Residences

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Basaga Holiday Residences to your Saves list
Basaga Holiday Residences
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 71 Kuching B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“averagel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

initially book for queen bed courtyard room as i would like privacy, but was given room upstairs..with 3 single beds! change room to 1 twinbed and 1 single beds.. that bed only took the room space as we didnt need it. parking space is not enough! no guest-only parking space.. entrance signboard is tiny, u'll probably miss it if u drove there by yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    97
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
52
104
35
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Wonderfully friendly staff, air-conditioned rooms with hot showers.
Nice bar and excellent mix of good value Indonesian and western food.
Nice swimming pool and shaded pool terrace.
Lovely decor and plants surround a large, quiet, comfortable terrace are where you can eat your breakfast and relax.

Room Tip: Some rooms open on to the common verandah overlooking the pool where you can sit and relax. The room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I was told that the property is about 125 years old and was once a school, so that meant that I was probably sleeping in one of the classrooms or a staffroom.

I stayed in a spacious room at the main building. I loved that Basaga was nicely decorated with local crafts and lots of healthy green plants, which makes it feel as if it's nestled in a private haven somewhere, when it's only a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of Kuching. It's cosy and comfortable, and has a bar and restaurant, which seemed to be quite popular while I was there!

Room Tip: The airport pick-up isn't complimentary. Staying in the main building may be noisier than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Basaga was perfect for us, close to the city so we get around and go to the places we wanted but not in the centre so it was peaceful, it almost didn't feel like you were in a city! The staff are very friendly especially the reception staff, who can't do enough to help you.

The food was great and reasonably priced, the laksa is a must! The pool area is lovely with lots of trees providing shade but also open space for he sun worship peers, the pool is regularly cleaned. We stayed in a courtyard room with an outdoor shower which is a great concept, although the shower was only ever lukewarm.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Lovely house, nicely converted to a hotel with an excellentrestuarant/bar, full of character. We stayed in a small (but comfortable) double room (with good airco and ceiling fan) at the back of the new block, with a private courtyard and open shower. Nice idea, and very quiet, but a bit small and in need of a bit of renovation. Staff were very friendly indeed (manager, reception and restaurant) and we felt welcome and very much at home. 10 minutes by Taxi from the airport and same to town centre - not expensive. Easy to arrange tours etc.

Room Tip: Rooms in main house look great BUT right by the bar/restaurant (which is used by locals too) and can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jihlava, Czech Republic
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I was in Basaga with two of my friends for four days. We stayed in main building in second floor (rooms 28 and 32 ). My room was very spacious with really huge bed. Just one thing was not so good. The cleaning staff should ventilate rooms much more often, my first impression was "oh my god, what is that smell?" it was because of humidity and the sheets, but you can't escape from it in Borneo, so...few hours of aircondition and ceiling fan helped a lot and from that moment it was all good :)
The hotel is very relaxing place and the staff is really amazing. Food was good too, they can make delicious specialities, refreshing drinks (oh, lime juice, where are you...? :) ) for a good price + they are friendly and helpful. Much appreciated.

!!! if you'll stay in Basaga, you definitely have to contact Brandon about the tours around Kuching .-) he is your guy, trust me :) ask at the reception .-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for a week with my wife and one of our friends. We stayed in the main building, which is a lovely old Brooke-era house with hardwood floors and nice verandahs. It is beautifully kept and full of character - at the same time very clean and well-appointed. The rooms are very comfortable with a/c and fans.

The hotel has a good restaurant and bar. I recommend the iced coffees! It also has a resident tour operator who i can also highly recommend - good value and well organised tours. Unfortunately his name escapes me now! But hotel management can advise.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It was a 20-min walk of cheap taxi ride to Kuching city centre. Well recommended.

Room Tip: I can recommend the Main Building as it has got great original features - not least the polished iro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Basaga Holiday Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basaga Holiday Residences

Address: lot 69-70, Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Basaga Holiday Residences 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Basaga! Basaga is located in Kuching, the capital city of Sarawak in Malaysia on the island of Borneo, an island long known for its rich history, culture and eco-tourism. Our property is a truly unique hotel and travel accommodation concept with a great environment and almost resort-like relaxing atmosphere, unlike any that is currently available in the urban Kuching area. Nestled in a secluded, well wooded private property just a mere 7-minute drive away from the City center, Basaga features an exclusive number of 33 well-appointed rooms with full in-room amenities, an annex which houses a private dormitory and leisure facilities contained on the property grounds for our guests' convenience. Basaga's innovative room products and range of services can accommodate the varying needs of tourists and travelers, offering good service, private seclusion with great value for money. It’s more than just a hotel - it’s your residence while in Sarawak. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Basaga Holiday Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Basaga Holiday Residences Hotel Kuching
Basaga Holiday Residences Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basaga Holiday Residences, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.