We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best choice! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Save Saved
You added The LimeTree Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 317, Abell Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast and Wi-Fi!
Ranked #1 of 47 hotels in Kuching
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Still the best choice! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here a couple of times but this time I tried a different method to book the room, but it's come to my surprise by the time I stepped in when 1 male staff spotted me and recognized me straight away even greet me with my name! The check in process was super fast and it took me less than 5 minutes.
After a very long day and exhausted, there only 1 thing that I have in mind -a good rest, but before that an ice cool drink! So I went to their rooftop bar on the 5th floor, and over there I was greeted by this guy (couldn't remember his name-my bad) very helpful, cheerful guy and definitely yes, he also recognized me. Really great! After having their home made ice lemon drink and a small chat, I head to the room for a 'short' nap before dinner.
This time my room is facing the sarawak river or should I say the road side, (my favourite room was the in the middle, with no windows) but still the is very comfortable.
The only challenge that I'm facing during this trip is when I overslept and woke up at 2 am, starving!
I went down and asked the midnight staff of places to eat in that hour. He gave me some suggestion of where to eat. The nearest place is about 5-7 minutes walking distance and the nearest 7/11 is about 10-15 minutes walking distance from the hotel. So I decided to try Khatulistiwa restaurant in Kuching waterfront which is the food is a total disappointment! (Don't go the unless if you a white)
The breakfast next day was great, and I took my niece to join me for breakfast.
In this trip, I stayed here for 2night and decided to try another hotel which I regretted of making such decision. This hotel absolutely the best choice for an 'easy travellers' just like me.
Keep it up Limetree, you will always be my 1st choice!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    286
    258
    56
    7
    1
See reviews for
89
269
57
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bombay
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a late review as I stayed at the Lime Tree in July of 2013. It was a wonderful experience. The rooms are clean and basic and reasonably priced. The service is excellent and the location is also very nice. I loved the rooftop bar, which is a great and unpretentious place for a sundowner.

The hotel also organises excursions to national parks and I went on one such tour. I will definitely stay here again when I visit Kuching next

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Good location - Within 15min you can get to 3 malls, waterfront, main bazaar. Its also close to restaurants and Chinatown is behind the hotel.

I booked the Deluxe room. it was really small.
What I didn't like is the bathroom as it was tiny and there wasn't good ventilation.
slippers, hair dryer, 2 in 1 shampoo and shower gel combines and other accessories were provided. No fridge.

room was cleaned daily. staff are really nice and helpful.
Try to use cabs to get to tourist attractions as the hotels tour packages are really expensive.

Room Tip: cabs can easily be found 5min walk away from the hotel, go to the malls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Nitika04,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. My team and I are very pleased to know that you found our hotel to be well located and our team to be nice and helpful during your stay.

Regarding in-room fridges, mini-coolers are available for loan from our Front Desk. Advised with a sign in the room, this measure is in line with one of our efforts to be green and we are glad many of our guests are supportive of it.

The Deluxe room you had booked was 18 sqm in size, designed with a minimalist feel and equipped with amenities essential for a short stay. Please do not hesitate to enquire about our other room types of larger sizes, different layouts and amenities.

With regard to visiting places of interests, one can consider a few options of travel. Those who require guided tours, especially tours conducted in a foreign language, can consider the tour packages offered by our appointed trusted tour agencies. They offer a variety of all-inclusive packages which consist of transfers, tickets, scheduled guided tours and meals if stated so. Those who do not require guides for their visits, are able to purchase tickets upon arrival at the places of interest and wish to explore at their own time should consider taking our shuttle services which are competitively priced (if available) or hiring local taxis whom we can assist to call for.

Once again, thank you for your review and feedback. Wishing you a great year ahead and we look forward to welcoming you again to The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed four nights with our two children and had a family suite room (adjoining rooms -- king bed in one, and double in the other), to which we added an extra bed for our second child. The breakfasts were quite good, and the location was great, adjacent to Chinatown and a block from the river. They were helpful with arranging day trips around Kuching. The only downside was the extremely slow wifi.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Biogeog,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent holiday to Kuching and for taking the time to review your stay. We are thrilled to learn that your stay was overall a positive one!

We are regretful to learn that the internet service was poor during your stay. Our internet service provider is constantly upgrading their lines and servers which can cause intermittent connection issues without prior notice while the works are being carried out. As much as we would like to provide this complimentary internet access consistently at good bandwidth, the service level by the provider cannot be guaranteed and is only at best effort; on our part, we shall always work with the provider to expedite their tasks in order to ensure our guests stay connected.

We are grateful for your comments and our team had the pleasure of serving you and your family. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

I read the reviews before booking. All the positive reviews are true. The staff very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfast was exceptional. The room was great. The location is close to everything within walking distance to the waterfront. We had a early morning flight to leave Kuching and we had lunches made up for us at no charge. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We are seasoned travelers and have stayed in many hotels, this is by far the best bang for your buck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Anna and Ron K,

A really big thank you for giving us two thumbs up! We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay at The LimeTree Hotel. Nothing makes us happier than knowing you had found your stay to be of great value and that you liked what we offer.

I have shared your kind comments with our brilliant team, which will further motivate our team to strive for excellence at all times. Your satisfaction has been regarded our most valuable reward! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us the next time you are in Kuching.

Warm wishes from all, at The LimeTree.

Kind regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We booked an executive deluxe room with extra mattress inclusive of breakfast for 3 adults from December 5-7, 2013. Airport pick-up to the hotel was RM25 for 3 pax. The driver was patient and friendly even though our flight was slightly delayed. Check-in was smooth. The room card was also used in the lifts/elevators before selecting the level/floor.

Room 308 was spacious for 3 adults but it would have been more comfortable to have a proper extra bed instead of a mattress placed on the room floor. Room was clean with adequate lighting. Bottled water, bedroom slippers, face, hand and bath towels were provided. Towels were a little worn-out though. An all-in-one hair and body wash with lime essential oil was provided in the bathroom that had a fixed rainshower. Poor TV reception. Free wifi speed in the room was acceptable.

Buffet breakfast at Café Sublime on the lobby level consisted of toast, cereals, steamed white rice, mushroom chicken, fried noodles, Sarawak laksa, egg sandwiches, banana fritters, hash brown, scrambled eggs, ham, sauté potatoes, omelette, beef nugget, local kueh/cake, sliced papaya, watermelon, orange & lime juice, coffee & tea. Some food items were changed daily. Food was replenished promptly. F&B staff was friendly and quick to clear the tables. There was less room to move around the buffet when the Café is more crowded as the tables are placed quite close.

Staff at the Limelight Rooftop Lounge on the 5th floor was very polite and friendly as well. The fizzy lime welcome drink was refreshing.

We returned to The LimeTree Hotel on December 9-11, 2013 and stayed in the suite room. Room 409 was bigger than Room 308. There was ample space for a 2-seater sofa and ottoman, however the carpet in this seating area was dusty and had an unpleasant smell. TV reception was better in this room. Towels provided were in better condition. The bathroom had both a bathtub and shower stall. The wooden blinds for the half-glass partition between bathroom and hotel room offered little privacy for our grown-up daughter. Maintenance staff was prompt and courteous when changing lightbulbs in the study area.

The basement carpark and some carpark lots at the back of the hotel were useful when we rented a car. The hotel is also within walking distance to nearby eateries, Spotfree (laundry shop) and the waterfront.

The same driver who picked us up from the airport on Dec 5, and a female reception staff provided my husband with a map and detailed directions on how to drive to the Kubah National Park - they were extremely helpful. Both my husband and daughter enjoyed their time in the national park.

Overall the hotel rooms and premises were well maintained and we had a good stay there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Travelled solo for the first time to Kuching from 12-16 Dec. Booked Lime Tree hotel for my 4 nights stay due to the glowing review. One week before my arrival, the hotel contacted me to say they can only accommodate me for 2 nights due to some faulty aircon which requires servicing. They offered to book for me another hotel nearby at no additional charge and threw in a complimentary pick up at the airport and complimentary transfer to the new hotel. Accepted the offer since it was pretty decent. But upon reaching Lime Tree did not see any signs of aircon servicing and the hotel seemed to be functioning as normal. Figured they probably over-booked and needed to kick someone out and who better to kick out then a solo traveller. The alternative hotel (Hotel Abell) which they booked for me was really nice and located between two malls and a 5 mins walk to the waterfront. But I realised I was shortchanged as the hotel booking did not come with breakfast (I booked and paid for 4 nights with b'fast!) and the hotel has no wifi! Not a wise idea for a solo traveller to be w/out wifi to get in touch with home.

On my first day there, asked the cafe (there's a little cafe that sells cakes and pastries at the lobby) lady directions to the waterfront but she told me to ask the receptionist. So asked the receptionist and she said walk straight for 10 minutes. Really what type of directions is that?! The directions I would give was walk straight until you see a Macdonald's then cross the road towards the cat statues in the direction of Hotel Margherita. After crossing the road turn left and walk straight until you see a 7-11 store. Turn in after the 7-11 to the waterfront.

Overall, pretty disappointed with the hotel for diminishing my solo trip a little.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Murshida M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. Firstly, we appreciate your kind understanding for accepting the prearrangement to be relocated to another hotel during your stay in Kuching due to unforeseen circumstances on our part. We wish to also extend our apologies for the inconvenience as we read your feedback with concern regarding your overall experience. We take your comments very seriously and I would like to take this opportunity clarify and address the issues outlined accordingly.

A week prior to your arrival, we discovered our digital air-conditioning system had encountered an error which needed an urgent repair requiring imported replacement parts. Our team and vendors planned with care and scheduled for this critical repair work, not servicing work, to commence as soon as the parts arrived in mid-December. Under these circumstances coupled with our desire to accommodate our guests as much as we can and to handle this matter as seamlessly as possible, we immediately halted new bookings and contacted our guests with confirmed bookings for the affected room types in order to discuss alternative arrangements for their stay. I had then contacted you personally by e-mail regarding this situation.

The repair work could only commence once our guests vacate the affected rooms, hence the chosen date of your relocation to another hotel. You may wish to know that some guests had chosen other accommodations altogether with a full refund from us - an option I had offered to you as well, and you had chosen to accept our proposed alternative arrangement of a two-night stay at our hotel, complimentary transfer followed by a stay at Abell Hotel, a hotel not inferior to ours, in a room with breakfast of a category higher than the one you had booked at our hotel.

The room and breakfast details were stated in our e-mail to you as confirmation; if the stay details at Abell Hotel had not been honoured and did not meet your expectations, it should have been our team's obligation to resolve the matter where we would not hesitate to promptly assist, advise their staff of the discrepancy and demand a corrective action, if we had been contacted and made known of the issue.

We are disappointed that our compensation effort, which we believed at the time was our best judgement call to alleviate the situation for the inevitable issue we had to face, has indeed been grossly misconstrued. Nevertheless, your feedback will allow us to identify gaps and refine our processes to ensure issues are handled more seamlessly with our guests.

Please be assured that I have also shared your comments regarding the travel directions given with our front office team for their attention, where the importance of details have been emphasized. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention for our improvement.

Once again, we are sorry to learn that your stay was not a positive one; we hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us in the future and regain your confidence in us. In the meantime, wishing you safe travels and a Happy New Year.

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Address: Lot 317, Abell Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kuching
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique upscale and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Café Sublime serving local and international delights and the bar at LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serving signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The LimeTree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.