We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, clean rooms, airconditioned..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The LimeTree Hotel

Save Saved
You added The LimeTree Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The LimeTree Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 317, Abell Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast and Wi-Fi!
Ranked #2 of 47 Hotels in Kuching
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, clean rooms, airconditioned..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Great location for this hotel, very modern inside. Lovely bar on the roof terrace. The cleanest and most modern hotel we stayed in Sarawak.

Recommend you stay here for Bako or the Orangutang santuary.

Initially forgot to give us back our deposit for the safety deposit box but refunded it afterwards.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear EarthExplorer000,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The LimeTree Hotel on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate your feedback on our rooms and LimeLight Rooftop Lounge; you will be pleased to know that we will be redesigning some sections of our property in the near future as part of our continuous effort to upgrade and to maintain its contemporary look!

We thank you for your kind comments and we are grateful for your commendation of us to others. We look forward to having you with us again. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree!

Warm regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    280
    61
    7
    1
See reviews for
96
289
63
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Started with a pleasant check-in at the counter by the friendly and helpful staff. My room was without window but very spacious. The dummy windows does helped in making the room feels more comfortable. The room is clean and comfortable. Although I find the room's 2 partitions design a little awkward. The breakfast was good and much better than what I had in other hotels of similar price range. It was within walking distance to the Waterfront and no shortage of food nearby. Overall, it was a pleasant stay. Every staff I interacted with were friendly and welcoming. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear choymp,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The LimeTree Hotel in Kuching recently and I am glad that you had a positive stay with us during your business trip. Your feedback on the room design for the Superior room is much appreciated and has been noted; you may wish to know that the partition design mentioned was done with the intention to separate the bathroom area from the bed area distinctively for this room type. Please do not hesitate to enquire about our other room types with different layouts and views which you may want to consider for any future stays.

We are grateful for your comments and kind commendation of us to others. We remain committed to exceed our guests' expectations with our services and to provide quality accommodation at great value with our complimentary breakfast and free internet usage for our guests.

We hope to see you again when you next travel to Kuching. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree Hotel!

Best regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

If in Kuching, you should definitely stay here. This is one of the best budget hotels I have ever stayed at. It puts some 4*/5* hotels to shame. The staff at the reception and at the rooftop bar are outstanding- they are friendly, helpful and chatty. They made us feel really welcome. The quality of breakfast is very good (something to suit all tastes - European style and Chinese style food available). Although the selection was not huge, it was enough for us and was well stocked. Rooms are basic but clean and practical. I really can't recommend this place enough! It's also about a 5 min walk from the waterfront which is handy.

I think the hotel manager should be very proud of the excellent staff that work in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear JassiLally,

Thank you very much for such a great review on The LimeTree Hotel. We are delighted to learn your stay at The LimeTree was a positive one. Your comments will no doubt motivate our team to strive for excellence at all times! I am truly proud of our team of unique individuals whose objective is to ensure our guests' experience is a memorable and seamless throughout their stay.

We thank you again for your kind comments and commendation of us to others. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us the next time you are in Kuching!

Warm regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I can only continue to add to the glowing reviews. Everything about the hotel is good - the price, rooms, location and breakfast - but it really is the staff that make it great. Everyone we spoke to was helpful and friendly without exception and it's service like this that enables The LimeTree to stand out and justify it's no.1 status on TA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Kingston34,

Thank you for taking the time to share your LimeTree experience on TripAdvisor! My team and I are delighted to read your positive feedback and to know that the aspects of our hotel had met your expectations. We are grateful for your comments which undoubtedly validated our team's efforts to always provide great service and to always ensure our guests are our top priority.

A big thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to see you again when you next travel to Kuching. Many best wishes from all at The LimeTree Hotel!

Warm regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I should also add that the location is good, the included breakfast is very good, and the rooftop patio/restaurant is very enjoyable!

I spent two nights here (separated by a couple of weeks). For what you get, the price is excellent. Wifi is strong, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I arranged airport pickup and drop off, and everything worked out perfectly.

I love the lime theme of the hotel; it's very interesting and unique (LOVE the lime soap in the shower!). Make sure you use the voucher for a free lime soda at the rooftop lounge, as it's very tasty, and I found the view quite nice and relaxing in the evening.

The breakfast buffet was also terrific. Plenty of excellent, high-quality foods and drinks. Definitely a highlight!

Without question, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JTayKuching, Resident Manager at The LimeTree Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear RMBolton,

Thank you very much for such a great review on The LimeTree Hotel! I am glad that you had a positive experience during your stay with us and that my team ensured you were well taken care of. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that you found your stay to be of terrific value.

I am also thrilled to know you enjoyed our amenities and our lime theme as we are always pleased to share the concept of healthy and positive living with our guests through our lime products.

I have shared your kind comments with our brilliant team which I know they will appreciate, and your satisfaction has been regarded our most valuable reward.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us the next time you are in Kuching! Many best wishes from all, at The LimeTree.

Warm regards,

Julie Tay - Resident Manager
The LimeTree Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We uograded to a larger room for very little extra cost and found the cost to be worthwhile. The hotel is very clean, comfortable and the staff provided a very good standard of service. The breakfast provided, as part of the room cost, was pretty good but rather basic.

The hotel is sufficiently close to town to be a comfortable stroll although taxis are readily available if required.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

The Limetree is rated #1 in Kuching on Tripadvisor. I think the staff know this and are eager to retain top spot and are well trained , friendly and attentive.
Free welcome lime drink and delicious lime marmalade for breakfast are nice touches..
Offered an upgrade on arrival. Check in seamless.. Rooms clean and comfortable. Rooftop bar nice for a cold sundowner.Hotel shuttle bus to airport excellent.
2 minor quibbles. Location is average only . A walk to the waterfront along Jalan Abell is an unpleasant one with car repair shops and traffic. Better to cut across to the river direct and follow the path along the river..
My wish list would be to add a swimming pool.
Otherwise this hotel is fantastic value in terms of price and outstanding service..Would return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The LimeTree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The LimeTree Hotel

Address: Lot 317, Abell Road, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kuching
#2 Family Hotel in Kuching
#4 Business Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The LimeTree Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the Kuching city centre and adjacent to the charming Chinatown Padungan area, this non-smoking boutique hotel offers 50 rooms and suites equipped with free wi-fi internet access throughout the hotel, complimentary breakfast, built-in universal sockets, LCD TVs, plush bedding and rain-showers - all for the comfort of sophisticated travellers today. As a unique upscale and trendy hotel with a passion for limes, The LimeTree Hotel offers an exciting dining experience at its Café Sublime serving local and international delights and the bar at LimeLight Rooftop Lounge serving signature lime cocktails over breathtaking views of the city and river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The LimeTree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Limetree Hotel Kuching
The LimeTree Hotel Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The LimeTree Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.