We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK if you like an early night...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Berambih Lodge

Berambih Lodge
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Berambih Lodge to your Saves list
Berambih Lodge
No. 104 Ewe Hai Street, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 48 Hotels in Kuching
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“OK if you like an early night...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We stayed at Berambih Lodge for 4 nights at the beginning of April 2012. Initial thoughts was that the building has an authentic Sarawak feel to it with its long-house style.
Positives:
- Its very affordable place for the budget traveler and is right in the heart of Kuching's China town, not far at all from the waterfront and bus station which is handy when planning excursions.
- Basic breakfast included.
- Water cooler in the Kitchen which guests can use.
- Towels provided.
- Showers and Toilet clean
- T.V. and DVD player in the lounge. Cable channels available. Great DVD collection.
- Friendly staff.

Negatives:
- Thin walls and creeky floor caused restless nights.
- AC was fine until the last night, made clanking sounds and worked infrequently.
- We discovered mice which were running around in the breakfast area, particularly where the ingredients were being stored.
- The back entrance is located next door to a garage which open early in the morning so another cause for lack of sleep.
- There seemed to be a curfew as staff wanted to sleep in lobby area we thought this was poor as there is no T.V. in the rooms. This is very annoying when you're half way through a film and are told to switch it off.

Like I said, this place is very affordable for the budget traveler and especially if you can sleep through noise. Unfortunately we are both light sleepers, we found that we were constantly tired throughout the day and got less done as a consequence. In the end we had to move to another hotel.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the toilet and showers as you'll constantly get disturbed as people are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
17
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

they have a nice decorated entrance, and common area. But I'm sort of a bit disappointed when i get to see the rooms, well, it is a decent room, but maybe the nicely decorated entrance made me expect more...

Room Tip: avoid the rooms near the toilet. paper thin walls,
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

The place was fine and the communal area was a nice touch but there where lots of biting insects around here, the room was also comfortable and fine for the price but I saw my only cockroach here in all my time in Borneo (not that I am fussy) so I have to rate it down for that.
The showers are fine and hot but I have to agree with previous reviews of really thin walls and some rooms share windows to let in light ( they have frosted glass) but there are lots of choices for somewhere to stay on the same street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights. Room was small but did the job. Beds comfy. Shared bathroom showers ok hot water all I needed and clean. Ac in the room. Downstairs nice traditional longhouse style communal area. A few mosis around though. Only issue was thin walls. Listening to drunks 'making love' at 4am is not a comfortable experience !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

I ended up staying in Berambih Lodge for 14 days in Kuching, changing my mind from a protracted jaunt around Malaysian Borneo.
Why? Was it just too fabulous to leave? No, not really, but it was hotter than a skillet outside in September and the sky fell out in torrential downpour everyday at exactly 4 p.m.

After few days, I just decided to take little day or overnight excursion trips out, like to the Orang Preserve, to the Longhouse exhibition park, and a night at the Park at Bako.

I had booked a small dorm room, but there were no other dorm takers so they gave me a private room with shared bath for the same price.
The room was neat enough with sheets and AC, but the bath could have stood a little more cleaning. I cleaned it some days.
Downstairs is a kitchen and a very basic breakfast is included: tea bags and instant coffee, peanut butter and white bread.
There was, however, internet in my room , so I would refuge in there at the heat and rainy part of the day.

The location on the main street in Chinatown is perfect, and there are many restaurants and food stands everywhere.
Market streets and museum are an easy walk. See the authentically constructed longhouse inside the museum, complete with skulls swinging from the rafters.
It turned out to be a good base in Kuching and, since I like to stay somewhere long enough to feel what the everyday life is like, it served me well at an almost give away price.
Most people only stay one night coming or going from Kuching.

Room Tip: Blackmail the manager!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Semporna, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Berambih has a nice longhouse style, where you can lay down and chill and watch some movies. The rooms are small, but clean.
The thing we liked the most here was the staff, who were very friendly and helpful, even after we checked out and asked if our backpacks could stay there for a day.
When we ever visit Kuching again, this will be our first option to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Fantastic and very helpful staff, they help to organize all the trips and transfers, this is also a fantastic place to meet other backpackers, clean, cosy, pleasant. take the room upstairs they are much bigger and spacious, first floor are really small no room even for a luggage. breakfast / only coffee and some toast with jam but what you can expect for 5 pounds a night ;) overall nice experience
no windows in first floor rooms and loud air conditioner

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Berambih Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Berambih Lodge

Address: No. 104 Ewe Hai Street, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Berambih Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berambih Hotel Kuching
Berambih Lodge Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Berambih Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.