We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Life Cafe

Life Cafe
Jln Carpenter | Chinatown, Kuching, Malaysia
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 321 restaurants in Kuching
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The operating hour is from 11am onwards and we reach there on 10.55am. The workers refuse to let us go in to have a seat and they just stand inside the cashier and talk with each other. When being asked, they told us to stand outside and look at the menu. Very disappointing!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    23
    20
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Spicy Noodle with Chicken Curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you are looking for something hot and spicy, go to this restaurant! It is famous with its spicy noodle. Do not have to worry about the spiciness, because you can choose your "spice level". Most of the menu is served in a set. One set includes main dish of your choice, a bowl of seaweed soup, and some vegetables. I ordered Spicy Noodle with Chicken Curry. The chicken is very tender and not so spicy. The noodle is tasty and of course it is hot! Nice environment with free WiFi and friendly staff. Definitely will come back next time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“My Sunday Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We actually first discovered Life Café at its Brighton Square location, just outside of Kuching. Our first taste of it was sampling a few of their finger-food snacks whilst drinking beer at a nearby pub.

Since then we have found its city location on the end of Carpenter Street (China town) and are now regular customers. For me the attraction of this quaint little Chinese café is the dumplings which are amazing. When we first started going to Life Café they served pork and I used to have the minced pork dumplings. However, they have now removed all pork from their menu but this does not effect the dumplings at all as the chicken dumplings are easily as good. There is also the choice of vegetarian dumplings which are very nice too. Whichever type you choose you can opt for fried or steamed (both are great).The chicken chop with Life sauce (sort of mushroomy gravy) is really tasty, and as with other main meals it comes with either rice or noodles. Life Café is also great for vegetarians - not only for the dumplings, but also for the vege chicken chop with curry sauce, a couple of types of noodles, and a kind of stewed mushroom and vege chicken concoction (this description does not do it justice - its really yummy!) This café is our hangover lunch treat - the ice blended fruit drinks are so tasty and refreshing, and the menu is delicious whilst still being reasonably priced ( RM14.90 for Chicken Chop with rice/noodles, around RM7 for 1 portion of dumplings) and I thoroughly recommend coming here.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great wonton and dumplings and very friendly...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This place is really worth a visit - after wondering around china town and failing to find anywhere open to eat we stumbled across this place and were really pleasantly surprised. The wontons are delicious - I will definitely go back for more... But the best thing about this place is the staff who work here who are so friendly and helpful and really welcoming...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I LOVE IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was one of our favourite discoveries in Kuching. Originally we found this one of carpenter street, but have since found two more outlets elsewhere outside of town.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is delicious (the steamed and fried dumplings are the real highlight - available in both chicken and vegetarian). The best thing though has to be the ice blended passion fruit drink! It is delightful, and the whole package of dumplings and ice fruit juice is actually a superb hangover cure!

The café is in a great location, just at the end of carpenter street next to a Chinese temple - bang in the middle of town.

If you visit Kuching I would recommend you try this place for something a bit different from your standard coffeeshop food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Life Cafe also viewed

Kuching, Sarawak
Kuching, Sarawak
 
Kuching, Sarawak
 

Been to Life Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Life Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.