We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lodge 121 Kuching - Super clean & funky!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge 121

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lodge 121 to your Saves list
Lodge 121
Lodge 121, Lot 121, 1st Floor, | Section 33 KTLD, Tabuan Road,, Kuching 93100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lodge 121 Kuching - Super clean & funky!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Kuching seems to be most backpackers first stop for touring southern Borneo, used as a base for many day trips & easy access to Bako National Park. When staying here I'd highly recommend using Lodge 121 as your 'home away from home’.
I’d already spent a few months backpacking & was secretly looking forward to a few luxuries - especially between mosquito infested National Park dorms. Lodge 121 really does offer it all for a reasonable price. The hostel (or B&B as they call it) has a funky vibe spread across three open planned levels with varying room types (all with A/C included) & super comfy beds!! Free Wi-Fi /phone & computer access - a necessity here as everything in Borneo needs to be booked ahead. Super clean common areas with free tea/coffee all day, free toasts and spreads for breakfast, canteen of drinks/beer/rice wine for sale. Offer free secure luggage storage, their own escorted day tours (which I’d heard great review of) & the team love love love to offer their knowledge of the area! Henry the Manager seems to be bursting with excitement to help anyone that asks.
Kuching is a surprisingly small city, this hostel is just 3 mins away from a very popular restaurant called Junk, a supermarket (best of seen in Asia so far!! probably because it sells Vegimite), a few bars, shops and just 5 mins from the waterfront.
I actually feel ill from a tummy bug picked up in Indonesia & had to spend 2 weeks recovering when I first arrived. What you’d imagine to be a very frustrating situation turned out to be quite bearable because of my stay here & the oh so helpful staff! The team (Rajesh, Jair & Zul) offered me; transportation to the hospital/doctors, information on the local clinics, to collect lunch/dinners to ensure I was eating & even checked in on me throughout the day to see if they could help in anyway. Top knotch customer service.
If you are looking for a roudy/boozy hostel then this probably isn’t the ideal place. Seems most people’s itineraries are for full day activities, so if you want to ensure a good night’s sleep this is your place. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2 or 3rd Level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    30
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
28
23
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang,Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I went there with my bing gang of friends. about 30ppl. I love there so much because of the modern design. I can feel i stay at home at there. It is awesome and also free coffee,tea and breakfast. Every corner give u different feeling such as study corner, tv room and dining area which can let u all chit-chat. The room is comfortable and so warmed. will be back!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

like they said, don't judge a book by its cover...i never check in to any hostel before..this one was recommended by my friend..the hostel was superb, the staff was so friendly,they will help you to find a great place to be visited, the room and toilet was very clean ( can beat some of 4 star hotels) , comfortable, with modern design, clean and tidy, only one word...WOW!!!...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Arriving to the hostel, we were immediately surprised by how modern, spacious and clean the hostel was. The staff is amazing, friendly and they always go out of their way to give good tips on where to go and what to see. The facilities are really clean, you can get complimentary coffee, tea, water 24/7, with breakfast included in the service. The hostel is about 3-5 min walk away from the water front. We will definitely come back here if we decide to visit Kuching again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Just arrived back from our (four ladies in our fifties) trip from Malaysia. We only booked in for one night but ended up staying four. we booked two double rooms with air con and private bathroom, which was great apart from one of the rooms did not have a window.
The staff are very friendly offering ideas as to where to go and organising trips , also the best and cheapest places to eat or how to get places.
We did a couple of great trips our guide was called Edward and he was fantastic with us not just taking us to see the orangutans, and the long houses and caves, he took us to the market to try different foods stopped when every we wanted to take photo’s even cut a rubber tree for us
Lodge 121 is in a great location, for the town centre and several attractions are easily accessible by foot (Museums, waterfront, Chinatown, etc. useful Chinese supermarket called Ting and Ting about 2 minutes walk away where you can buy everything.
Our rooms, were clean and when we asked for clean towels or any thing we got it more or less straight away , breakfast was included it is basic, drinking water and unlimited tea/coffee are available free all day. Avoid going to Friends Garden it is about 10 mins walk from the lodge 121 lovely to have a drink nice gardens and fountains the food was the worst we have eating for some time. Borneo is a fantastic place and hope to go back again soon

Room Tip: If you do not ask the you will never know
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

One for those on a budget trip. Very friendly and helpfull staffs.
Clean shared toilet + bathroom. TV room by the reception.

Located in a great location, the town centre point and several attractions are easily asseible by foot (Museums, waterfront, Chinatown, etc).

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

helpful and nice staffs. the room and the environment were clean. matress were rather thin in my opinion. only 2 common bathroom for many room that i feel insufficient. walking distance to the Kuching waterfront. free simple breaky that we never touch since we prefer local kolo mie for breakfast :)

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lodge 121? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge 121

Address: Lodge 121, Lot 121, 1st Floor, | Section 33 KTLD, Tabuan Road,, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Kuching
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge 121 offers double private en-suite, common shared bathrooms & toilets for private single, double, triple and quad sharing rooms. We also have a dormitory unit for group of 10 persons, attractively priced to fit your budget.We are strategically located in the heart of Kuching City. LODGE 121 is just a stone's throw away from the famous Kuching Waterfront, Main Bazaar, India Street, Sarawak Museum, Visitors' Information Centre, main shopping centers, Supermarkets, main bus stops, Cineplex and trendy eating & entertainment outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Lodge 121 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge 121 Kuching, Sarawak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge 121, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.