We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive views and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Restaurant at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Coast Restaurant at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort
Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
60 88 797 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 344 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy contemporary western cuisine in an inviting beachfront setting at this exceptionally designed, award-winning restaurant. The outdoor terrace offers an unrivalled place to toast the Borneo sunset with one of our specialty cocktails.Coast Restaurant also offers three private, thatched gazebos for a truly memorable beachside dining experience.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Impressive views and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

For two veggies we didn't think we would be offered much at a seafood restuant but we had an incredivble meal. we told the chef we didn't eat fish and he told us not to worry he would put something together.
We later had five beautiful, surprise dishes ;-)
The views are the best at rasa ria and the service is unfultable, our lovely waitress saw I was cold and put a beautiful blanket around my shoulders and upon leaving she gave me a rose.
Another high light is the pianist in the corner of the room!
This is a lovely place to go for a special occupation or with a loved one.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    59
    30
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food - must dine outside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I went there on the first night and we chose the Easter set dinner (a 4-course menu) - mostly seafood as we heard that seafood is good there. Food is great but a bit too much for me as I couldn't finish dessert. Service is alright. The restaurant is comfy but the decorations are totally outdated. They have bling bling stuff hanging on the ceiling and it makes the restaurant looks like those in the 1980s movies. :P

We didn't know there are tables outside the restaurant otherwise we will definitely dine outside. It looks really romantic to under a nicely decorated hut and it's quiet. They have a table for 5-6 persons, and a few for 2 persons. It's a shame the staff at the reservation desk didn't tell us we can dine outside (service minus one point).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Don't leave this out!,,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We left this to the last night as a bit more pricey than the other eateries but wish we didn't leave so late. They do a chef special menu which is three course and week worth the 130 rm each p,us have a good wine list. Nice atmosphere that bit extra special service and well air conditioned which is a relief as can get very humid in the evening. Excellent.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“We were invited to drinks at Coast and stayed for a meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very up market cuisine. Not too expensive and option to eat outside if you want. The in house brochure puts you off this a bit as it asks for clothing to be a bit more formal but I think it really means not beach wear!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schoenberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“interested in asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

our food consumption took exclusively place in Shangrila´s Rasa Ria Resort restaurants, coffee terrace, naan flavors of india, makan street and sampan bar were our favorites

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Restaurant at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Coast Restaurant at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Restaurant at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.