We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location,wonderful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Step in Lodge

Save Saved
You added Step in Lodge to your Saves list
Step in Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Step in Lodge
Sinsuran Complex, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | 1st - 3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great location,wonderful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We stayed here when we arrived to KK and then again on our way out. Great location near the popular night market. Only a 10 minute walk from the Australia area. Betty is amazing and welcomes you as if she has known you her whole life. The common area is bright and airy. There is coffee and tea all day long. The included breakfast is cereal, toast and fruit. A nice way to start the day. The rooms are spotless and the common bathrooms are clean. The dorm can get hot, so splurging for a/c is not a bad idea. We met other travelers here and saw them again as we traveled throughout Sabah. We loved our time here and will be back again someday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
16
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I came here to make a suprisevisit to my girlfriend. The femalestaff were so extremly helpful that Im actually touched when writing this afterwards. It's easy to tell that they put their heart in their guests welfare infront of earning money. Best location in KK for hitting the town.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

One piece of advice: Skip and go to the neighbors (Akinabalu youth hostel)
Not expensive, staff is ok-ish (friendly but not the ones to ask for advice), rooms are just doable but the whole building feels like a prison. Although the other places in KK also have a surprisingly extensive security setup this one definitely feels like a prison.
Better places are not hard to find

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My wife & I came to Borneo for a two-month honeymoon. When we landed in KK we tried the lodgings in a few places including Eden 54, Borneo Gaya Lodge and Lucy's Homestay but for us, as soon as we came to The Step In Lodge we knew it was the place for us. Very comfortable and homey communal area with cosy sofas, TV & real coffee served all day. The staff are so friendly and eager to help no matter what you need, the rooms are comfortable, regularly cleaned and affordable (with air con) and the showers are a dream. To cut a long story short, we soon booked the whole rest of our stay here (for which we were offered a generous discount) and it became our home-from-home. When travelling to and from other parts of Borneo, coming back to Step In Lodge really was like coming home. For breakfast (6-10am) the staff would often buy fruits from the local market for the guests to try. I don't know if some of the less positive reviews are from a long time ago but in our experience, one would have to try very hard not to be relaxed here. We both loved it and have very good memories of the place. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: If you are a couple, 2B is very nice..!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

My favourite hostel stopped at during a 6 month RTW trip in 2010/11. Stayed here twice either side of the epic Kinabalu mountain climb and enjoyed both stays. The one issue is trying to climb the steep stairs to the hostel reception and rooms after ‘doing’ the mountain – ouch!! Friendly staff, homely communal area (with free wi fi and tea and coffee) clean dorms and bathrooms and situated perfectly between the many eateries and pubs in KK. I arrived a day early via Brunei and they quickly checked me in with no issues or the need to change dorm rooms the day after. Great spot to meet fellow travelers (all a bit different to the usual Asian backpacker) and share tales of Borneo adventures past and future. Top marks.

Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

This place is way overpriced. 90 RM for a double with shared facilities. We were staying in a room without window that smelled like nobody was there for the last 5 years. After the first night we looked at some other places and are staying at borneo backpackers now. 60 RM for a very nice room..

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nah trang
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

so, i read the lonely planet review and thought: looks like an ok place so i committed to two nights.....big mistake. haven't seen such filth since india and at a high price too! rooms are small cubes and the curtains don't even cover the windows completely. bath down the hall for $30.00 a nite. go elsewhere, saysi!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Step in Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step in Lodge

Address: Sinsuran Complex, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | 1st - 3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Step in Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step In Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Step In Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Step in Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.