We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Step in Lodge

Save Saved
You added Step in Lodge to your Saves list
Step in Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Step in Lodge
Sinsuran Complex, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | 1st - 3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We checked in for one night and the extent to how friendly the staff was really impressed us. They made all sorts of phone calls to arrange our following days, even called our next hotel to say we would check in early - even though that meant we would stay one night less with them

The rooms are neat, the view is bad, but really, that wasnt important to is. Clean, cool lobby with a flatscreen and comfy couches, books and magazines. A small kitchen for those who want to cook. Clean showers.

Good value and a clean, calm spot in a pretty husky, stopover town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    17
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
4
16
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We had a referral from someone so i had no reason to doubt this recommendation and so i just booked us a triple room. The mailcontacts were very friendly and it was absolutely no problem to arrive very late, due to a late arrival of our flight.
The room smelled, the towels were dirty and the bathroom could be so much cleaner (only one for women and one for men). We arrived very late, ate at the nightmarket (so not recommended!!), slept a bit and took off early in the morning... heading to better places!
Important note: this is a review of the accommodation itself, not of the service of the staff because we didn't really had the chance to talk to them (only check in and check out) .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

I just stepped in and out of this facility a night ago, and am writing this review now before I forget all the details.

Firstly, it's location, although close to the Night Market, the Warisan Square shopping mall and other reasturants by the esplanade, it is also right in the middle of a busy, noisy and dirty street, where night hawking goes on until after 10pm. The stairs leading up to the place are dirty, and it feels like you are walking into a factory or warehouse. The reception area and lobby is very big and clean but it opens to a narrow sitting area, or balcony where you can have a clear view of the above mentioned street and listen to Indian/ Arabic music blasting from the speakers below.

Secondly, you will pay RM28 for a bed in a dorm room with a fan. Sure, the mattresses are bigger than usual, and comfy if that sort of thing is a priority for you. Then there is a RM5 fee to access the wifi, which, by the way, you can only access in the lobby, not in your room! A room with aircon will cost you MR38 excluding wifi!

On the same night I went looking for other places to stay and you can try out the following instead:

Traveller's Light, Australia place where I moved to, North Borneo Backpackers which are RM25 for air conditioned dorm room and similar amenities.

The selling point for Step-in-Logde is that the staff is helpful, true, they did ask me where I was planning to go the following day, when I told them I want to climb Mt. Kinabalu they referred me to the Sutera offices, this is not helping. I booked my climb through Traveller's Light literally 5 minutes after I inquired about the climb.

This place has some redeeming qualities, the bathroom and showers are very clean, the beds are big and comfortable and breakfast is great (cereal, toast or Malay choice of Roti Canai and coffee)

Bottom line is you can get the same and more for far less than RM33 ( which is what a fan room with wifi costs you here)

Just dont do it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I am not generally a hostel person, preferring small guesthouses over dorms. I stayed at Step In because a freind was staying there, and I must say it is fantastic. Comfy beds, good showers, nice common area and friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

All I expect from a hostel is cleanliness and well-maintained facilities. Step-in Lodge manage this well, and with a smile; during both of my stays, their shared and private rooms were clean and comfortable, with a/c to boot. The latter isn't critical, but makes sleeping in Malaysian humidity that much more bearable. Many thanks for the repeatedly pleasant stays!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We had a dormstyle room for the 4 of us (2 adults and 2 teenagers). It was very hot in the room and the fan did not help too much. It was clean, the showers and toilet were ok. We liked the public room where breakfast is also served. In the evening we enjoyed chilling with a book. The location is very good, very central near the night markets and not too far from Jesselton pier to het the boats to one of the islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman National Park.After all we found the price a bit too high; for the same price (or even a bit less) we got a huge private room with airco and private bathroom on the other side of the street.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

the decoration of this place was really nice and beautiful...
but the worse is..."BEDBUGS"............

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Step in Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Step in Lodge

Address: Sinsuran Complex, Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | 1st - 3rd Floors, Lot 1 Block L, Kota Kinabalu 88000 , Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 74 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Step in Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Step In Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Step In Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Step in Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.