We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay and staff are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Lodge to your Saves list
Lavender Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   No.6, Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88804, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Nakhon Si Thammarht, Nakhon Si Thammarat, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay and staff are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed here on a couple of occasions during our two weeks in Sabah. We found the place had a really nice, relaxed atmosphere and we felt really comfortable while we were there. The rooms are clean and the shared bathrooms are well maintained and cleaned throughout the day. The staff really made us feel welcome and were always happy to offer advice. I had an allergic reaction at one point and the staff took me to a nearby doctors surgery and spoke to the staff there, I really felt looked after! The breakfast is toast and fruit with tea or coffee which is good considering its free! 5 minutes walk around the corner are the taxis that go to Kinabalu national park and. The night market is also about 5 to 10 minutes walk (really cheap, delicious food!) overall a great location, we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    128
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
112
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Lavender Lodge offers an overall excellent package! The rooms are clean, the bathrooms are clean and they offer breakfast!
The staff I found were very helpful and at times went out of their way to make your stay even more comfortable! 9/10

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

can't find any fault in our stay. They have everything I could ask for a budget / backpacker type hostel. Very clean, and reasonably priced.

Centrally located, the mini bus station as well as the markets are just a few minute's walk away.

Room Tip: The rooms with shared toilets are of good value. The toilets are plenty and always kept clean..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights mid-March at the beginning of a month long trip. The staff could not have been more friendly, helpful or welcoming and made us feel very much at home, especially my 7 year old son.
Nora in particular is lovely and her knowledge of the area and sites to see was brilliant, she answered all our questions patiently and helped us a lot!
The room was clean and comfortable, and the rest of the facilities very clean too.
The only downside for us was that we were in the room next to the tv room, and there was a large group of rowdy lads who came back at 4am and sat in there chatting loudly...although this is no reflection on the hostel itself, just the people staying there at the time!

We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampot, Cambodia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The ladies at Lavender Lodge have gone above and beyond the call of duty. They were so helpful and welcoming. Any questions I had were answered quickly and accurately, and they never expressed any annoyance at the shear volume of questions! The dorms were comfortable and quiet, the bathrooms clean and close to the rooms. I would stay here again, the staff were amazing and the location is very central.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue, Vietnam
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Someone booked us into this lovely Lodge and thank goodness they did! Such lovely friendly people who can't do enough for you. They got us cups and saucers for afternoon tea so we shared our chocolate cake, bliss!! The double room although with no window is cosy and seemed clean. Simply loved the communal area where you can enjoy free breakfast (tea and toast) and just sit and chat to other travellers; great idea....

Room Tip: I'm not sure if you a double room upstairs whether it would be quieter but it could be noisy, po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is such a nice hostel in Kota Kinabalu. We loved our time and will any time return to this place. Best about this place is the atmosphere and the hospitality that you receive from the owner Mr. Daniel and his crew. We enjoyed our conversations and their care for their visitors. They helped us with finding good restaurants and made our trip even better by just letting us feel so warm welcome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Lodge

Address: No.6, Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88804, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central business district of Kota Kinabalu, within walking distance to shopping complexes, restaurants and entertainment outlets. Our clean and comfortable rooms, exceptionally friendly staffs and affordable prices make our lodge the favorite among international travelers. Our aim is to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us and a great holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. From free airport pick up to travel advices and tours, just talk to us and we are always on hand to assist you. We are your holiday home in Borneo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Lavender Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.