We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Lodge to your Saves list
Lavender Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   No.6, Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88804, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location. Taxi driver from the airport knew where the place was. We arrived after 10pm due to late flight. No problems checking in. Staff very friendly and helpful, directions, booking taxis etc. Breakfast is sufficient, toast, bananas and tea/coffee. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    128
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
33
112
45
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Lavender lodge in KK is a perfect quality for money hostel. It is situated in the middle of town with big rooms (with aircon). what makes it excellent:
* incredibly clean, the rooms get cleaned every day and the hallway & showers get cleaned multiple times per day. you will not find any sand or anything in the hostel
* friendliness of the staff. they are very welcoming and will do anything to help you out.

One of the best hostels ive stayed in so far!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We found this wonderful accommodation literally by random. After arrival on the Jesselton harbour we looked for a place to stay and i seems deem, when we found out almost every hotel room in Kota Kinabula was occupied and booked for the people attending the coming graduation of the nearby schools.

It is a budget hotel, so you get what you pay fore. So don't expect the comfort of the 3+ star hotel. There is no lift and the shower and toilets are shared with the other guests.

After visiting several hotels we all fully booked, we found the last available room in Lavender Lodge.

The room was clean and you feel are save there.

We were happy to get to know The Lavender Lodge, the owner and the staff.

We bought a jungle tour to Kinabatangan River and the hotel arrange the whole tour for us and they were very clear about there will by no hidden cost, so was great.

And for those who loves seafood, the hotel had some good places to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

For small and family rooms, you have to use the communal toilets and shower area but it's okay because it's clean!

The place is good for travelers who will spend most of the time exploring the city. They have free wifi and breakfast (toast and coffee/tea). You can also borrow books to read if you want, and also use the computer for free.

The owners are really nice. They will tell you what is good to try and where to go. They can also arrange tours for you if you want.

We stayed there for 4 nights. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay in Kota Kinabalu which has the friendliest staff as well as a very good location I highly recommedn Lavender Lodge. It is situated minutes away from the shopping disctrict as well as some fast food and restaurants around the city. Authentic Malaysian and Asian restaurants are adjacent to the hotel. The jesselton port as well as some other modes of public transport are within reach from the doorstep of the hotel. Every breakfast, the dining area will always have bananas and malysian coffee served for guests. Most importantly hotel staff are very accomodating even giving advice on where to go without charging sky high fees. Staff are also very warm in talking with us tourists. Even the actual owners of the lodge are talking with us anything under the sun, they even picked and dropped us off in the Airport. Would love to go back to Kota Kinabalu and still stay at Lavender Lodge!

Room Tip: For smokers, they can simply get out of the hotel (during the day) to smoke, or stay at the 2nd floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights during my July visit to KK. The location is good as everything is within walking distance (Centre Point, Asia City, Waterfront Esplanade, Gaya Street, etc. Although some are quite far, such as Jesselton Point, but if u're on a budget trip, just walk! :) u can reach places by walking as KK city is not really big, and that's what I did!) My room was a double deluxe, washroom en suite. Yup, it's only washroom en suite, bathing still takes place at the shared bathrooms outside the room. The room was quite clean and smelled fresh. The staffs were friendly and there're a lot of tourism pamphlets at the reception area and it is free to take for references. Besides that, breakfast is being served every morning till 10am. It was only simple breakfast (toast with butter and jam, coffee or tea) but it is good enough for me to start off my venture at Kota Kinabalu..
With all that, I'm satisfied for the price I've paid for... :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights and loved it. It is basic, clean accommadation in the middle of KK but definitly one of the best budget accommodations we have stayed at.

The staff are so Helpful and friendly and rooms are cleaned daily. Internet is good and there is a communal tv should you want it. They even made a take away breakfast for us When we were leaving at 6am even though breakfast doesn't start until 7! Would recommend to all budget travellers!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Lodge

Address: No.6, Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88804, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central business district of Kota Kinabalu, within walking distance to shopping complexes, restaurants and entertainment outlets. Our clean and comfortable rooms, exceptionally friendly staffs and affordable prices make our lodge the favorite among international travelers. Our aim is to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us and a great holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. From free airport pick up to travel advices and tours, just talk to us and we are always on hand to assist you. We are your holiday home in Borneo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lavender Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Lavender Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.