We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lavender Lodge to your Saves list
Lavender Lodge
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   No.6, Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88804, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed together with our two daughters (aged 15 &17) for three nights while diving in the area. The hostel was conveniently located, we had a quiet room on the first floor which was spacious enough that we didn't feel cramped, the hostel and our room were spotlessly clean, the facilities were fine (plently of hot water in the showers), and the staff were friendly and helpful. Daniel also picked us up from the airport - what service. Breakfast was basic but adequate - what do you expect at this price level? Conclusion - if you are staying in KK you should consider Lavender Lodge.

Room Tip: There is no lift so if your luggage is heavy ask for a lower level florr.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    141
    30
    9
    8
See reviews for
34
119
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Staff are very friendly and the room was very clean. We had a double room en suite and although basic without window was perfectly adequate for out one night stop.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Sarawak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

My bf and I stayed here for 4 days and 3 nights after we completed our studies...just enough for us to get around KK and the islands. It's my first time staying at hostels and i must say its been a very pleasant experience!

We got a room at the topmost floor, despite having to climbed the stairs to the fourth floor while carrying our huge luggage, our room was HUGE. I think it was meant for a family room, there was a queen size bed with a double bunk bed towards the end. We asked the host whether they gave us the correct room because we actually booked for a double deluxe room and they said yes, its for us. The other rooms were full apparently and they let us stay there with no extra charge. The room smelled like lavender and it was VERY CLEAN! the shared bathroom was awesome too!

The location was good...just 5 minutes away from centrepoint KK. Warisan Square and the Waterfront was quite near too! If you wanna do your laundry there's a laundry shop just opposite the lodge itself.

The host was super friendly...even though there was once we got back quite late, somewhere around 2am and she still smiled and asked whether we had a good time. The breakfast was basic...some light toast and choices of coffee or tea.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Our group of 15 stayed here for a duration of 10 days from June 13 while we hiked up the mountains, explored the nearby islands and sight-see the city of Kota Kinabalu.

The good bits:
The parquet floor dorm rooms which consisted of bunk beds / single beds (4-5 persons per room) were mainly on the top floor of the 4-storey building. Air-conditioning and fan are provided in each room. However, there are no cupboards / storage provided. Two communal hot showers are located at the end of each floor. Fresh bed linens and towels were provided daily. Other facilities such as a TV room with pool table is located on the 1st floor.

Breakfast - served from 8-10am daily is a simple fair of toast, fried eggs with a side of fresh local fruit and your choice of coffee or tea. On the last few days we were there, the lodge even served delicious fried noodles with eggs!

Free wifi connections is only found in the common / breakfast room. Two pc's with internet connections can also be found at the Reception with no extra charge.

The lodge people are on the whole are very helpful - from directions, to suggestions, even arranging taxi pick-ups from the lodge.

From the airport, the lodge is a short 15 minutes away by cab. Situated right in the heart of the city, the location is ideal as there are many eateries, an all-night convenient store right beside and even a pharmacy just a street away. A fairly large mall is also only a stone throw away where groceries can be found on the lower ground floor. And if local delicacies are up your alley - head down towards the market in the late evenings where the locals dine on freshly grilled seafood.

Tired from the whole day of walking? Just pop into one of the many massage shops located at every corner of the street for a good feet reflexology or full body massage.

The not-so-good bits:
Although the sheets were changed daily, a few of us suffered bites from beg bugs.

Water pressure is a issue especially if your staying on the top floors - the toilets could not be flushed on several occasions.

No communal phone that connects to the front desk - so its 4 floors (7 + 1 really long flights of stairs) up and down if you need anything! Not good especially on the calves if yours are still aching from climbing Mount Kinabalu!

It happened only once when we were there, but we found drops of fresh blood stains on our towels - which were promptly changed upon our request

The verdict -
The good outweighs the bad in this case - and at RM20 per night - it surpassed our expectations of a budget dorm style lodging. We would recommend this place especially if you are traveling on a budget with a large group of people.

Room Tip: Pick rooms on lower floors unless you dont mind the walking the stairs (a few times a day!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights after climbing mount kinabalu. This budget lodge is extremely clean and cheap. We stayed in a triple room for 85rm per night nett. The rooms were clean with AC, a cupboard and a desk. The room was decent sized. There was hot water available in the common shower and the toilets were clean too.

The owner of the hostel was around during our stay and was very helpful in dishing out advice on where to eat and what to do, and would proactively help with transport/tour arrangements.

The hostel is within 10mins walk from the water front and the city centre, and there were numerous dining options right outside the hostel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

We had a standard double room (with no bathroom) on the 2nd floor (201, I think). The room had no windows (which we weren't aware of). It was simple but clean, with a bed, a night table, table and closet. We had noisy neighbour for one night as they were getting in and out of the room and kept banging their door. The room was next to the staircase and sometimes people were talking loudly as they were going up and down. The hotel was full and we couldn't change room. I wouldn't come back for the same room.

There are two toilets and two showers on our floor. All were clean. There was a night that I had to wait for a shower (I went upstairs instead).

The free breakfast was simple, with toast and fruits, and tea/coffee.

The free wifi was strong on the ground floor and in the tv room. Signal was a bit weak in our room.

The hotel location is ok. It was easy to find a parking spot on the street at night.

The seafood restaurant across the street was overpriced. We had dinner there on the first night and it was expensive. If you have a car, there are certainly places outside of the city that are much cheaper with similar quality.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butuan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

The Lavender Lodge is simply amazing... For a rate that is very affordable, you experience the comfort of a hotel. Since first in my list is cleanliness, I rate this hostel 99%. Clean rooms, daily replacement of clean towels, and foremost, clean toilet and bath...

The staff is great! The hostel operator, hostel manager and the rest of the crew were all friendly and accommodating. Service is personalized, especially the airport service wherein the operator himself met us at the airport.

Location? Well, it's near to almost every place you want to go in KK. It's located at the heart of the city, yet we didn't experience the hustle and bustle of the city... and much more... there was no noise from whatever source.

It was like home to us for the 5 days we stayed in KK to attend a conference. I recommend Lavender Lodge to people who want to tour Sabah and just need a clean and comfy place to sleep...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Lodge

Address: No.6, Jalan Laiman Diki | Kg. Air, Kota Kinabalu 88804, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central business district of Kota Kinabalu, within walking distance to shopping complexes, restaurants and entertainment outlets. Our clean and comfortable rooms, exceptionally friendly staffs and affordable prices make our lodge the favorite among international travelers. Our aim is to ensure all our guests have a memorable stay with us and a great holiday in Sabah, Malaysia. From free airport pick up to travel advices and tours, just talk to us and we are always on hand to assist you. We are your holiday home in Borneo!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Lavender Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Lavender Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.