We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and relaxed location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tempurung Seaside Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Tempurung Seaside Lodge to your Saves list
Tempurung Seaside Lodge
Kg. Tempurung, Kuala Penyu, Kota Kinabalu 89747, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food and relaxed location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We loved the food, it was really amazing. The best was the ginger crab!
Relaxed quiet location, and the beach was totally deserted. The only negative things are the strong current and the sand flies at the beach.
But the lodge also has plenty of seats around the restaurant area and on top of the hill near the rooms.
The rooms are simple but nice, cleaned everyday with hot water and fresh towels.
The staff was really helpful and friendly.
We found the tours and transport a bit too expensive though.
They don't have Internet/wifi and there is no ATM near the lodge.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
20
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Been here for the second time. I strongly recommend to book "lodge" room as the seaview from the door step.

Water pressure had been set! The shower place water too small :(

Food was great especially at night....

Good place for relaxation... Good enough for looking privacy feel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I stumbled upon this place on a trip to Sabah and stayed for two days. It's true, it's a bit remote if you don't have your own 4 wheels, and there is no internet, but what better place to enjoy isolation and solitude for a few days? Beautiful, impeccable grounds, amazing beach, great views, kind staff... what more could you ask?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's in a good location has a nice beach and it peaceful


We paid 150 MYR per person for 1 night with 1 Dinner and 1 Breakfast. Both meals were fairly ordinary.

The room was pretty basic only fan rooms no AC bare light bulbs etc.

To put the price into perspective you can stay at the Langkah Syabus in Kinarut for around 175 MYR per room per night and Tommys place at the tip of Borneo for 120 MYR per room per night. Both of these places have nicer rooms - AC etc and the meals were nicer.

Its even cheaper to stay at the 4 star Horizon hotel in KK than it is to stay in tempurung.
We ended up staying as we arrived quite late and this is the only place in the immediate area to stay so I guess they can charge what they like.

The worst thing about staying here were the bed bugs. There was a dead one on the bed when we checked in and specks of blood on the bed sheets. I have encountered bed bugs before and know what they look like. Although I have to admit i did not see an alive one it was enough to put me off sleeping for the night.

Sorry I can't recommend staying here it's just not worth it. We are going to try Sawangan Beach lodge next time - its only 30 MYR per person per night!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miri, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This is a lovely little find. Basic and clean rooms with breathtaking view of the sea. Meals consist of local dishes and its well prepared with adequate portions. The staff are attentive, polite and helpful. A twin room cost rm130 per night which includes 3 meals. Guests have access to a beautiful stretch of clean beach. Come prepared with your own amusements (books, tablets, or cards) if you are easily restless (no tv in rooms and very limited or no data connection). Otherwise just sit back, relax and soak in the view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed in Tempurung Lodge more 10 days ago and I still have spots and blisters all over my body because of the bedbugs (we stayed in room 8). I even had to see a doctor back home as it was really severe. Yes, there are lots of sandflies, too, but the bugs are far nastier.

Well, the lodge and the beach are really nice, there are great sunsets and no crowds at all, but our impression was that the owners do not make the most of it. The food is local and we liked most of it- but there is no choice and they seem not to be very enthusiastic about giving you more; especially breakfast is very basic and might not fill you until lunch! Bad luck as there is no supermarket to buy snacks etc. Unfortunately, they only offer some pieces of fruit after lunch and dinner - as this is cheap it would be great to get more- most tourists love it!
Transport to and from KK is totally overpriced and there is little support to catch public transport on the main road.
Well, the lodge needs some improvement to make it more attractive for tourists - and after
this huge bedbug attack I cannot recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

An absolutely fantastic place! The placement by the beach is magnificent, while the beach seems endless with white sand. The service is amazing, and the food is great. Anyone who is looking for an affordable getaway, with few turist where about the only thing to do is to swin and relax at the beach, should check out this place before deciding any expensiver options.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tempurung Seaside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tempurung Seaside Lodge

Address: Kg. Tempurung, Kuala Penyu, Kota Kinabalu 89747, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tempurung Seaside Lodge is located some 90 minutes from the Kota Kinabalu Airport. Sitting majestically atop a small hill overlooking the South China Seas, the view from the lodge is breathtaking. The lodge was built with a mixture of modern and traditional architecture amidst green surrounding and beautiful beachscape. It is truly a Mirror of Paradise where dreams and reality converge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Tempurung Seaside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tempurung Seaside Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Tempurung Seaside Lodge Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tempurung Seaside Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.