We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winner is a loser hotel!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Winner Hotel

Save Saved
You added Winner Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Winner Hotel
No. 9 & 10, Jalan Pasar Baru | Kampung Air, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Geoge Town Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Winner is a loser hotel!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night in Winner Hotel - one night too long. It is advertised as a three star hotel but the claim cannot be justified. If a proper assessment were carried out by the hotel authorities, this hotel would be classed as a one star. The room is quite small, dirty carpets, and one had to stand on the bed to adjust the AC which is from the last century. Part of the hallway does not meet any building codes I am familiar with being less than a metre wide. In any emergency it would be difficult for two people to pass each other; for example, a fireman coming in and a fleeing guest trying to get out. While it is central that's all that can be said about it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    13
    13
    7
    4
See reviews for
3
15
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I wasn't a huge fan of this hotel. First, let me start with the good parts. The front desk staff was rather nice and the checkin process was smooth. Additionally the breakfast, while nothing special, was adequate; however they seemed to be out of sausage and pancakes by the time that we got down there. Those were the best parts of staying in this hotel.

After checkin we went up to our room on the 3rd floor and were blasted by the disgusting smell of durian. It appeared that they were attempting to air out one particular room but that was making the entire floor smell terrible. Our room was rather small and the somewhat heavy door managed to stick every time. The bathroom was quite tiny even compared to the ones we recently saw in Singapore. For a visual, you could literally turn the sink on while sitting on the toilet.

Needless to say we only stayed one night.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although the rooms are on the average small, they were clean and rather comfortable. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Good central location as it is walking distance from the shopping mall, the esplanade and many seafood restaurants. The room comes with set breakfast (western or local). If you looking more food, there is a 24 hour KFC fast food outlet just around the corner, the coffee shop just a few doors away has nice char kway teow (fried flat rice noodles) and the coffee shop at the lane just behind the hotel offers a variety of local food as well. There is also a 24 hour convenience shop just a few doors away. I will mostly book this hotel when I visit Kota Kinabalu as it is safe, cosy, affordable, convenient and has free wifi as well as two hotel lifts.

Room Tip: Good if you check on the working condition of the air-conditioning in your room when you first check...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Service and staff helpful and friendly, rooms small and very 3 star, but for the country it was ok. Location not bad, walk to shops and waterfront for restaurants like mai Yai which is fantastic for food and grog. Winner hotel tried to accomodate early breakers if going on tour or leaving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Booked for this hotel for a night. But after check-in and went in the room. We were welcome with very unpleasant smell (maybe by the carpet) and the bath room is very dirty. It needs renovation and painting. Location is a bonus for this hotel and breakfast is provided.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is acceptable. Rooms are clean and staff are willing to help. A disadvantage was the size of rooms. Double rooms were very tiny, and toilets are really small. Free breakfast was served in a short period every morning. It is in the city centre of Kota Kinabalu, so the location is O.K. There was a shopping mall nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malacca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My partner and I pre-booked a hotel room before our journey to Borneo started.
The hotel is located centrally in Kota Kinabalu, that was one of the reasons we booked it.
We did all sightseeing on foot. The room (superior room with 2 separate beds) was quite small, the bath room even smaller. However, amenities available (complimentary water, tea maker) and facilities working (including free wifi).
During the first two days of our stay, I found clutches of dark hair on the carpet. Not ours, I can assure you!
The breakfast was nothing special: choice between white bread with jam or pancake.
Altogether: pretty basic...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winner Hotel

Address: No. 9 & 10, Jalan Pasar Baru | Kampung Air, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner Hotel, situated in the heart of the Kota Kinabalu city (Sabah, Malaysia), is just a stone's throw away from Centre Point Sabah Shopping Complex, the Night Market and the Central Market. It is 10 minutes' leisure walk to KK Plaza, the latest shopping complex in the city, and to the Sunday Gaya Street Fair. It is also 15 minutes drive from Kota Kinabalu International Airport.204 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Winner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winner Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.