We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just OK; or maybe a little less than OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Century Hotel

Save Saved
You added Century Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Century Hotel
Lot 12 Jalan Masjid Lama, Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Just OK; or maybe a little less than OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I stayed here in December. It was the cheapest thing I could find, and figuring that I wasn't going to be in KK that long, I thought, why not? For less than $30 US a night, you can't go wrong. Well, the room was absolutely no frills. Just the basic necessities. The TV was very old school (not flat panel or LCD), and it looked like the cheap kind that would fry if you turned it on (hence, I didn't). The bathroom was livable but definitely not what you'd expect here in the States. The least they could do was have a bath tub in which you could shower away from the rest of the bathroom as opposed to having the water run all over the bathroom floor. Although I have stayed at hotels like this before, usually in less developed countries, this kind of surprised me a bit, considering that Malaysia is considered fairly developed in that part of the world. The room was also very dingy with little light, to the point that you always thought it was night, even though it was nice and bright outside. I think the floor was clean, considering that I didn't leave with bedbug bites, although I could never tell because again, it was that cheap kind of building material that you would expect to be dirty (that thin, industrial carpet in the main part of the room and that gritty, grouty tile they used in the bathroom). Sheets too also felt a bit unclean. As for the refrigerator, well, that's pretty much a joke, as I think it was only 1 cubic foot and not even cold! There was also this giant pillar in the middle of the room that you had to watch out for or risk bumping into in the middle of the night. Overall, the location was not bad, as it was not too far from the city center. Best of all, there were 24 hour eateries all over the place when you walked out, which I love! Would I stay here again? Perhaps, if the price is right.

Room Tip: Not sure if there really is a "good" room in the whole building. My understanding was they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2
    6
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
5
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
South west uk
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This is the first hotel I have ever checked out of stright away. Booked through Agoda and the pictures were nothing like on the site. Did not have the room facilities i e tea and coffee making facilities. Dirty, smelly and curtains with holes in them.
The staff were polite but were unable to let me upgrade and pay for a better room as I had booked through Agoda.
Checked into another hotel 100yards away paid a little more but worth every penny

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We stayed in this hotel from Sept 4-7 2009 . They were 5 of us, 3 adults and 2 kids. we stayed in a family suite which has 1 king and 2 single bed, a family area with 2 tv provided in the room.It was clean & only cost me RM 160/night. Front counter service was friendly and helpful . They provide 1 bottle of water everyday with a newspaper.The hotel located on the quite street and nearby to the taxi stand. It only takes 5-10 minutes walk to Seri Selera, seafood restaurant at Kg Air and the night market. We really enjoyed the services provided by the hotel and certailny would recommend this hotel for a peace stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2009

Stayed here for a couple of nights both before and after a tour of Borneo. The hotel is located on a quiet street about a 10 minute walk into KK centre. Very friendly staff and quick efficeint check in. Room was a good size, basic but perfectly adequate and comfortable, with a TV in the room. Our room was located on the back of the hotel which looked out onto woodland area.
Walking distance to everywhere in KK and only about 10 minutes taxi ride from the airport! Would definatley recommend!

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford,UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

We went to Malaysia for 3 weeks and ended up staying for 2 week in Kota Kinabalu. Upon the first night, me and my wife were seriously contemplating finding another hotel, as the room was really basic and the whole hotel appearance was a bit disheartening after a 16 hr flight!

The lift was really smelly and stuffy, it got to the stage where we bought our own air freshner and left it in the lifts. The breakfast was really basic and expensive, however we found a really nice breakfast place in the town centre.

the staff were friendly. however the manager didnt seem to be very friendly.

The main issue with the hotel was the nasty air conditioning in our room. It was really old and the air that it blowed was really stuffy, to the extent that I got sick and so did my wife.

The hotel is great for a few days especially if you're going to spend much of your time outside.

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angeles City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

After checking into a different hotel near by, I went out to find an acceptable place to stay. Ended up at the Century Hotel. The Staff was exceptional, and the price reasonable. All were helpful, courteous, very outgoing to ensure our stay was fine. The ONLY problem seemed to me to be the "Cafe".
And now, with the new addition of "wi fi" in there lobby and Cafe, I will even drink a coffee there.
Location was good, Clean, TV in rooms, computer available in the lobby (not free).
Aside from the kitchen, all was great. I'll stay there again.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Cafe (food)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2007

This is a far bit of a walk into town but it is basic, no pool or other luxury things. It does have internet though. There is many kareoke bars around.
It is located down a narrow side street.
I stayed here as it was where my tour (Geckos) were all staying.
The lifts were very slow so I ended up using the stairs everytime.
The staff were friendly enough.

Stayed June 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Century Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Century Hotel

Address: Lot 12 Jalan Masjid Lama, Bandaran Berjaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Century Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Century Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Century Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.