We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Travellers Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Travellers Inn
Save
You added Seaside Travellers Inn to your Saves list
KM 20 Papar Road | Kampung Laut Kinarut, Kota Kinabalu 89600, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 1 which is probably the best. Ask for a sea view. It has lots of space and an unbelievably good view of the sea.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was good and cheap. Breakfast is complimentary with normally only fruit and toast (with great marmalade) on offer. Another toaster would be a big improvement as only one side working which was very slow and inadequate.
We used the hotel canoes which was great. Local bus into KK 3 MR taxi 40MR.
We would recommend this place if you want to feel a bit like a local and aren't too fussy.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    24
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malacca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed from 13-15 April 2013 in the family room. The rating is positive because we enjoyed ourselves as we knew exactly what to expect. So what you need to expect is the following:

The good
- Privacy (not many other travellers around)
- Great sunset views
- Reasonably priced food and fresh cocunuts to order
- The private covered sandplay area in front of beach
- Hotel booking and communication

Acceptable
- The not so clean beach (can't do much more here)
- The location (unless you don't plan to go out much, it would be easier if you had your own transport)
- Mainly local travellers. Hey, I am a local traveller myself, I won't say I am good but at least I should be acceptable :-)
- Service

To be improved
- Renovation and refurbishment of overall place, rooms and furniture is required
- Cleanliness in rooms could be improved (maybe it's too old so it doesn't feel clean)
- Complimentary breakfast could be better. Only had bread, butter, jam, fruits, cofee and tea

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Set in a large section of land from the main road onto the beach. We stayed in one of the bungalows for 80.000 MYR a night. Basically furnished. TV but no English speaking channels. Clean with attached bathroom with hot water. Free wifi and free drinking water. Our bungalow was steps away from a lovely swimming pool with sun beds. Though set on the beach the water didn’t look too good and with warning signs saying beware of the jelly fish we stayed with swimming in the pool. There’s a restaurant with great views overlooking the beach which was great to watch the sunset with a beer. The complimentary breakfast was also served here. The restaurant menu was limited and slightly more expensive than other places we’d eaten in. The food was ok but not great. Unfortunately due to this places’ location there wasn’t anywhere else nearby to eat, which was probably the only negative about this place. Friendly staff, swimming pool and great views with a budget price, make this a great place to kick back for a while if not too fussy about food options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I stayed three nights at the end of a busy time in Borneo, and it was perfect for a relaxing break. The pool was clean, and the surrounding sunbeds fine, though not much shade. The bar/cafe by the beach (Cecilia's) made for a very pleasant spot to sit and watch the waves or the sunset, and prices and service were good. (About 9MYR for rice and meat dish - western dishes available but more expensive.)The breakfasts were basic and variable, depending on what fresh fruit was put out, but there was always DIY toast and butter ..... though the yucky jam pots put me off trying that.

The deluxe bedroom was spacious, and the wetroom style ensuite was fine. (No hairdryer was provided, but I asked at Reception and was lent one for my stay.) I had a large balcony with a rattan settee, and a great view. No extra for aircon, and free Wifi, though use of the computer in Reception was quite dear at 5MYR for half an hour.

Tea and coffee was provided in the room, with hot water available on the corridor.

The beach in front of the hotel is sandy but not very attractive - a line of litter along the sea edge and jellyfish warning signs - but there is an area of sand within the hotel grounds that is better kept. Planes can be seen heading into KK to land, but there is little aircraft noise. The road behing the hotel is busy, though, and traffic noise and sirens (with accompanying howls from the local dogs whenever a siren sounds) are part of the noise environment here.

The hotel was efficiently run, but the least personal of all the places I stayed in Borneo. No personal recognition, even after a stay of three days!

Transfer to the hotel from the airport was 40MYR - and 50MYR from the Air Asia terminal.

Room Tip: I paid extra for a deluxe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found it a relaxing place to stay and the pool was very clean and just want you needed after spending some time in town.
The rooms were very clean-breakfast was good and the staff very helpfull.
Getting into town was easy and always interesting on the local buses/ The locals made sure the bus stopped outside the door even when returning in the dark. The stall up the road supplies cheap bottles of soft drink /sweets etc for the kids.

Room Tip: Thwe delux rooms in the gardens were spacious and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Good, basic but comfy hotel by the sea. We arrived in the middle of the night after flight from the UK and I was bit surprised that there is no hot water as I dreamt abut a long shower. Our room was simple with old furniture and rather ugly view, but spacious and clean. The pool was small and with no shade, but surrounded by well kept garden.

We had lunch in our little restaurant and the food was really good. The staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome. We booked a massage, they have a special hut on the beach with a little "spa" - it was a great start to our holidays.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers on tight budget looking for quiet, relaxing place by the sea, away from the busy city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
111 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in Feb/March as part of a tour around Sabah. The Inn is located at Kinarut, which is about 20 min bus ride from KK (RM3 fare - buses run every few minutes up to about 7pm - after that its a RM15 taxi ride !)
We had a "deluxe" room (room 1) which had a double bed and two singles. The room looked out over the beach, and you stepped outside onto a walkway which led to the restaurant. The airconditioning worked fine, (although we found the ceiling fan quieter and perfectly effective at night). The electric shower provided limitless hot water, the Wi-Fi functioned fautlessly (and was free), and the small pool was kept clean and inviting for a refreshing dip. The staff were happy to arrange laundry at a very reasonable price.
Our room rate included breakfast, which consisted of homemade jam, toast, fresh fruit, and on some days a cooked option. Tea & coffee was also available. The Restaurant offered cooked food almost all day, with seating indoors or overlooking the Ocean. We ate there several times, and the food was consistently good, particularly the local receipes. Dinner for two, including a couple of large beers, typically came to about RM70.
The Inn also hosts an office of "Josway Tours" - a tour company that can arrange transport and visits to attractions in Eastern Malaysia.

I suppose I should give some "negatives", to provide a good balance. But there was nothing serious to complain about. On one night the neighbours held a birthday party, which was a bit noisy - but they shut up around 10pm. And on some days the beach looks a bit scruffy - depending on what was washed up by the tide. You will need some decent insect repellent to sit outside - but that is standard practice almost anywhere in Borneo !!

Overall, we found this a terrific place, and all the staff were always friendly and eager to please. Highly Recommended !!

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms - some ensuite & some with separate bathrooms. Some have aircon, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Travellers Inn

Address: KM 20 Papar Road | Kampung Laut Kinarut, Kota Kinabalu 89600, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Seaside Travellers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Seaside Travellers Inn Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Travellers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.