We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great relaxing place with pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Travellers Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Seaside Travellers Inn
Save Saved
You added Seaside Travellers Inn to your Saves list
KM 20 Papar Road | Kampung Laut Kinarut, Kota Kinabalu 89600, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Nottinghamshire, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“great relaxing place with pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and found it a relaxing place to stay and the pool was very clean and just want you needed after spending some time in town.
The rooms were very clean-breakfast was good and the staff very helpfull.
Getting into town was easy and always interesting on the local buses/ The locals made sure the bus stopped outside the door even when returning in the dark. The stall up the road supplies cheap bottles of soft drink /sweets etc for the kids.

Room Tip: Thwe delux rooms in the gardens were spacious and cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    23
    17
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Good, basic but comfy hotel by the sea. We arrived in the middle of the night after flight from the UK and I was bit surprised that there is no hot water as I dreamt abut a long shower. Our room was simple with old furniture and rather ugly view, but spacious and clean. The pool was small and with no shade, but surrounded by well kept garden.

We had lunch in our little restaurant and the food was really good. The staff was very helpful and made us feel welcome. We booked a massage, they have a special hut on the beach with a little "spa" - it was a great start to our holidays.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers on tight budget looking for quiet, relaxing place by the sea, away from the busy city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 98 cities Reviews in 98 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in Feb/March as part of a tour around Sabah. The Inn is located at Kinarut, which is about 20 min bus ride from KK (RM3 fare - buses run every few minutes up to about 7pm - after that its a RM15 taxi ride !)
We had a "deluxe" room (room 1) which had a double bed and two singles. The room looked out over the beach, and you stepped outside onto a walkway which led to the restaurant. The airconditioning worked fine, (although we found the ceiling fan quieter and perfectly effective at night). The electric shower provided limitless hot water, the Wi-Fi functioned fautlessly (and was free), and the small pool was kept clean and inviting for a refreshing dip. The staff were happy to arrange laundry at a very reasonable price.
Our room rate included breakfast, which consisted of homemade jam, toast, fresh fruit, and on some days a cooked option. Tea & coffee was also available. The Restaurant offered cooked food almost all day, with seating indoors or overlooking the Ocean. We ate there several times, and the food was consistently good, particularly the local receipes. Dinner for two, including a couple of large beers, typically came to about RM70.
The Inn also hosts an office of "Josway Tours" - a tour company that can arrange transport and visits to attractions in Eastern Malaysia.

I suppose I should give some "negatives", to provide a good balance. But there was nothing serious to complain about. On one night the neighbours held a birthday party, which was a bit noisy - but they shut up around 10pm. And on some days the beach looks a bit scruffy - depending on what was washed up by the tide. You will need some decent insect repellent to sit outside - but that is standard practice almost anywhere in Borneo !!

Overall, we found this a terrific place, and all the staff were always friendly and eager to please. Highly Recommended !!

Room Tip: There are a variety of rooms - some ensuite & some with separate bathrooms. Some have aircon, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights here and found it clean and comfortable. It is a 20 minute (3 ringgit) mini bus ride to the centre of KK which is fine for getting in and back to see the sights.

The beachfront restaurant serves a simple continental style breakfast with cooked options charged extra. The sunset view over supper was fantastic.

The laundry service was good -10 R for a bag of washing which came back spotless and fresh.

If you are travelling on a tigth budget and don't want to pay for a taxi from the airport you can catch minibus 20A or 17C. This doesn't leave from the airport so you'll need to leave the terminal, walk a couple of minutes to the main road, cross it to travel south, and catch your taxi. The driver will probably guess where you're headed.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Seaside is a family run business. Don't expect the Sangria La - but a small resort - clean and affordable - but simple. It has a small pool and a restaurant. A small beach area that is kept clean and a fantastic view over the ocean and islands. We stayed in a family room with 3 kids for 12 days with a fantastic view and our own balcony. The Seaside is 30 minutes outside of Kinabalu and you should keep that in mind. The bus is cheap only 3 RM into town. Seaside is a quite place and really nice for families and people who want some quiteness. If you are looking at something more modern - this is not the place. It is authentic and out of the turist area. It is not turist you are likely to meet on the beach (that is not very clean) but locals.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxxar, Malta
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We booked 2 nights and stayed 7! The property is absolutely amazing. Pool area is small but great since the sea is not nice to swim in as when the tide is out it's full of rubbish although hotel staff clean it daily. Staff are all helpful, food in the restaurant is so good and a lot of choice, even for vegetarians. The rooms are simple but clean and we had a sea / pool view, very nice.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs are the best since they have the best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Lovely simple place for chilling out. Nice pool. Excellent food in restaurant. Beach not suitable for swimming - all rubbish became visible once tide out. Avoid the massage lady - more like joint manipulation and knuckling than a massage - most painful massage I have ever had! Sit by the pool a d relax for 24hours is perfect though. Free wifi.

Room Tip: Above the reception has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Travellers Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Travellers Inn

Address: KM 20 Papar Road | Kampung Laut Kinarut, Kota Kinabalu 89600, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Seaside Travellers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Seaside Travellers Inn Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Travellers Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.