We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and clean..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Bandaran Berjaya, P.O. Box 11718, Kota Kinabalu 88819, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Shah Alam
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good location and clean..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Suitable for bizness traveller or for shoppers who just need room to sleep and not really for staying in. There are two of us so a standard room with twin beds is okay and spacious. We were allocated on the 7th floor and smell of cigarette smoke is disturbing. There is minibar, coffee maker and hair dryer. The iron and ironing board is positioned at one floor down at level 6 near the stairways. Breakfast looks good, there is variety of selections but unfortunately we were fasting at that time!. Overall the 3days 2nites stay here was good as the hotel is centrally located. Nothing to complain except the showel head, once tap is turn on the water came out from both outlets, top and bottom @room710.....you get showed before you're ready. Beds are good, we slept well for the 2 nites and personally I liked the pillows......

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    78
    55
    12
    4
See reviews for
12
51
23
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Great location just a short walk away from the harbour side and night market in Kota Kinabalu.
Hotel was standard hotel, clean, and a good selection for breakfast just nothing amazing.
Our room was tidy but only single glazed so a little noisy from the street but with the air con on at night it was not a big issue.
We had a noisy room on our floor and one call to reception and it was sorted.
Staff were not over friendly but we did not need to interact with them to enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel, we used their online booking for a few weeks in advance and to our surprise even though we ask for a non-smoking room they put us on a smoking floor in a room that was for smokers. They did say they were sorry, but for people like us that have sensitivity to smoke it was a long night. We will not being going back to this hotel, we feel they should have comped the room for this kind of error.

The reason we also feel the training of the staff is poor is that rather than accepting the mistake and finding a solution they only said sorry and took no action, finally we asked to see the manager and they said he was not in. So we walked upstairs to the office and found the manager in , but he also only felt sorry for the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Nothing particularly wrong with this hotel, its just that there's not much particularly good about it. It feels like a Holiday Inn from the 1980s that hasnt been updated much. Its kept decently clean, but the bedding feels a bit old, the furniture, while not in disrepair is from a different decade, and the whole place feels a bit stale. I wouldn't call the service in the hotel unfriendly, but I wouldn't call it friendly either.

On the better side, it was quiet, and the breakfast buffet, while nothing fancy, was generous and had a decent amount of diversity. Pricing is average for East Malaysia (21 RM).

About ten minutes (and 30RM) by taxi to the airport, which is easily arranged.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Reception staff were not very warm or helpful. The room was average; looked out onto a service area at the rear of the hotel with a noisy ventilation fan. The best thing about the hotel is its central city location, which makes it an easy stroll to good seafood restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pro's
1) Room - Stayed on the 10th floor - Clean, neat and the equipment was functioning well
2) Location - Close to Airport / Market / Bus Stands and the Sea front
3) Service - Prompt and efficient, the A.C wasn't doing enough but the service engineer fixed it quickly, we didnt have adapters to charge but they provided us with one
4) Wi-fi - Worked well enough compared to other hotels we stayed at in Malaysia
5) Front Desk - Did its required job well, we didnt eat in the hotel since there were plenty of eateries around the area

Con's
1) The A.C needed fixing the 1st time
2) The adapter they gave the 1st time didnt work
3) The channels on the TV were insufficient, needs to be increased

Room Tip: Non-Smoking Room facing the hill (10th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We booked a night in this hotel returning from mount Kinabalu climb. We were pretty tired and looking forward to a nice shower. After checking in, we went to our room, which was spacious and quite clean for Malaysian standards. It all went downhill when we realised there was no hot water. We called reception to notify them/enquire about it, they just said hot water was broken so not hot water was available! No sorry- nothing. They didn't know when it would be repaired either! Obviously normally I would have just waited but returning from Kinabalu climb it was a big deal! We ended up having a cold shower...And hating this hotel for a moment!
A little later we asked for some travel advice on ferries to Brunei- which they had no idea about. We also asked if we could borrow an adaptor- they gave us one but it was broken. A couple of lights did not work in our room as well (in the bathroom, and one side bed).
On a positive side, breakfast was great and wifi was available in rooms.

Overall, ignoring the hot water drama (which was fixed a few hours later though we weren't notified about it), it was an average hotel and I would recommend travelers willing to get a decent room to pay the extra money and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu

Address: 75 Bandaran Berjaya, P.O. Box 11718, Kota Kinabalu 88819, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.