We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate comfort for the low price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Global Backpackers

Save Saved
You added Borneo Global Backpackers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Borneo Global Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   No.29, Ground + 1st Floor, Karamunsing Godown | Jalan Karamunsing, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Prague
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Adequate comfort for the low price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hostel is close to the airport. Taxi from airport to hostel is usually 30RM, 45RM at night or early in the morning. Hostel is OK, small rooms, usually without any window. Everything was quite clean and safe. Taxi to downtown is from 10RM to 15RM. Staff is friendly and helpful if you ask them. They are able to provide taxi service and call wherever you want if you ask. I would stay again - price is adequate to comfort. Breakfast included.

Room Tip: Try to ask for room with window. We didn't have window and it is difficult to get fresh air with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    12
    7
    5
See reviews for
1
8
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Hostel itslef was OK. Just very unhelpful and not that friendly staff. Didn't have a good vibe about it. A bit of a mission out of town. Close to airport. Would definatley not stay their again or reccommend to to others..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Price is good and it includes breakfast. The hostel itself is really close to the airport but quite far out from the town centre. It takes only 10 minutes though by taxi which would cost you 10 ringitt there and 10 back. The rooms are alright but upstairs smells. I am not sure if it was only when we were there but whenever we arrived back to the hostel at night and walked upstairs that horrible smell was lingering around every day. It still didn't put us off to come back here a couple of times after travelling different towns in Borneo. It is however kept very clean and we saw cleaners cleaning commonual areas and rooms every day. Bed linen was also washed every day. Staff is friendly and helpful. They do book you a taxi if you ask them to and give you all the information you need. I think they are absolutely great.
One problem we faced was dinners at nights. Taxis don't work after a certain hour and we had only a choice of two weird restaurants nearby. One of them did work out well and went back every day. It is the smaller restaurant a little bit hidden behind the bigger one. :) I can't remember the name sorry.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

They have played a little with the words here. We have stayed in global backpacker hostels in Oz and had a good experience with them. Thinking this was one of them we book a few nights here. The place was about a 20 minute walk to the town. The staff were not great bar one. Double room size was ok but no sheets or towels provided which most doubles for this price do have.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
no current city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

stayed there twice on my trip to borneo.. got a promo price 12rm per night and it even includes complimentary breakfast.. so brilliant!! city is not too far... just 10 min walk.. if u are backpacker this amount is nothing... place is clean and comfortable.. there's a option to have a private room or dorm.. all the dorms are 6beds... but place is so big that dorms are not full.. might say that we were lucky.. took the dorm coz we are on a buget.. but there was nobody else there.. so it felt like private room :D over all place is nice and clean, u even get hot water shower..its a luxury for backpackers :D
staff there is nice and helpful .. special thanks for the guy who works there night time sadly i don't remember your name :D
only down side is that internet connection is not very good.. you need to go to internet cafe if u want to plan your next step.. but u can check your e mails and fbook for free..

Room Tip: all the dorm rooms are the same... no window, but in this heat that's a good thing :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Housed in a converted warehouse, the hostel stands in the middle of mechanic and storage centre, about 20 minutes' walk from the centre of town. That does mean that there are cheap, quality eateries right on the doorstop - bonus. However, the fact that it was a warehouse means that there are no external windows where the two floors have been carved up into separate rooms and dorms. I found this disconcerting when I woke up not knowing whether it was day or night, especially after a few hard days travelling.

Beds are fine, showers are good, staff are super friendly and helpful and the free transfer service from the airport is convenient. The rooms are looking a bit shabby and threadbare - it's time for a refurb. There is a strong conservation theme in the information displayed around the hostel which is to their credit.

On the downside, the wifi strength is very poor and Apple users often can't connect.

I would say that this is a great stop-over hostel for those looking to fly in and move straight out again to another of Borneo's sights, but as a base for KK, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I had an absolutely great time at BGB, not only were they inexpensive, but
they were well worth the price. It's always nice to know that you don't have to pay a lot to get a great place with helpful staff and pleasant accommodations. We got our open water certification with them and every time we went on our dive we saw a wide array of sea life and turtles! It was a great experience, I hope I can come back again. This place is worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Borneo Global Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Global Backpackers

Address: No.29, Ground + 1st Floor, Karamunsing Godown | Jalan Karamunsing, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 70 Specialty lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Borneo Global Backpackers 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Borneo Global Backpackers! FREE Airport Pick-up! We have 4 Bed Bunker and Twin Bed Fan Rooms / Twin-Bed & Double Rooms air-condition. a) Air-condition Double Queen Room RM58.00 x 4 Rooms b) Air-condition Twin Rooms RM55.00 x 4 Rooms c) Ceiling Fan Bunker Rooms (Max 4Pax) RM22.00 x 14 Rooms d) Ceiling Fan Twin Room RM45.00 x 1 Room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Tingo and Expedia so you can book your Borneo Global Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Global Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Global Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Global Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.