We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended for budget stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borneo Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borneo Backpackers to your Saves list
Borneo Backpackers
No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Penang Island, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Recommended for budget stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We finished our expedition at Mount Kinabalu and spent the last night in Borneo Backpacker before back to Penang. It was a great experience and up to my expectation. The hostel overall are clean (my main option to stay) and the reception are friendly as well. Perhaps they should install more computer for guests who want to surfing Internet :)

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    50
    17
    15
    5
See reviews for
2
17
39
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Subang Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The 23 of us from the 0830 Choir of the Church of St. Thomas More Subang Jaya descended on Borneo Backpackers on the night of 29 May 2013 and stayed til 2 June 2013. It is located right in the middle of town, within walking distance of Gaya Street where there is plenty of shopping, entertainment and food, and some other places of interest e.g. Anderson Clock Tower, Signal Hill Observatory Platform. The rooms were fine with bunk beds in the dorm rooms and double beds in the single rooms. The rooms are air-conditioned, clean and bed bug free. Down side is the hostel is located close to the road and light sleepers will have a hard time due to the noise from the street. Toilets and showers are clean but have to be shared as expected in such accommodations. Light breakfast, drinks and beverages are available for a price. Free WiFi provided. Great room rates and definitely recommended for solo travelers or for those looking for a budget stay in KK.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quiter as they are further away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Lets starts with the positives... the location is great, the end!! The staff (particularly the girl on reception) are incredibly rude and unhelpful when we wanted information on kk!!! They refused to let us put our luggage in the luggage storage which is a locked cupboard and her reason was because we weren't staying two nights!!! She also got very moody, huffing and puffing when we requested the free water from the tap rather then buying it (even though it is advertised on their leaflet and on the wall in the hostel). She also snapped answers to our questions and muttered things under her breath which made us feel very unwelcome. Unfortunately this all happened AFTER we had paid. She kept asking us where we were going next and when we told her the truth (staying with a friend who lives in KK) she accused us of lying and staying at Lucy's guesthouse which is next door. I never saw one other guest in the whole place and I can't say I'm surprised why.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The place is neat and very accessible to the city proper. I think its well secured as well. The receptionists are somehow apathetic though. They seem to lack some social skills but notheless they were able to provide us with excellent service. The place is something i definitely can recommend

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorneoParadise, General Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and comments. Hope you've enjoyed your holiday in Borneo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked the hostel online in Agoda, PREPAID everything, for 4 people and for 5 nights. We also specifically wrote them on the booking, at what time in the evening we will arrive. On their web site as well on the booking site they offered transfer from the airport.
When we finally arrived in KK, late in the evening (but exactly on time!) they first of all did not pick us up in the airport. OK, not so bad, we took a taxi to the city and found out that there was nobody there in the hostel to let us in and give us rooms! The doors were closed and other backpackers said that all the rooms are full! They also did not answer any of the contact phone numbers.
It was terrible - in the middle of the night, just arrived, we did not get any rooms even though we had payed for everything in front, we were left on the street, with all our luggage, after more than 24 hours of flying there from northern Europe! Not very trustworthy!
Luckily very nice people from next street hostel took us in during the night and we spent the rest of our stay in KK in another hostel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorneoParadise, General Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Do appreciate your comments and I am pleased to clarify what has actually happened. We did receive your booking through Agoda but it is not stated that airport transfer is included. We do not get any contact details from anyone who booked thru Agoda and that is the very reason why we do not offer this service to avoid unnecessary misunderstanding. On the other hand, we did receive your email requesting for airport transfers and we have also replied you immediately that we are not able to provide this service as certain terms and conditions apply. Entrance door is lock at all time for security reason and only accessible through password. Our Reception closes at 11pm and as you are scheduled to arrive at 12 midnight, my colleague had waited for you until 1.30am but you have not show up. Either you may have postpone your trip without informing us or you may have changed your travel plan. We were glad to see you the next day and explained the situation to us. On our part, we are willing to compromise and refund your fee despite the very last minute cancellation. Nevertheless, I'm glad you have found an alternative place to stay and that you've enjoyed your holiday in Borneo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SINGAPORE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Me and my friends stayed at Borneo Backpackers for 3D3N. We are delighted by the airport transfer service, the driver was on time and waiting for us at the arrival hall. Staffs are friendly and helpful, especially Nanie. The location was perfectly located in the center of KK, a short walking distance to Gaya street, restaurant and convenience stalls. The room is fine for a backpacker hostel standard, air-conditioned, clean and no bed bud. However, its perfect location may be a disadvantage for light sleeper, due to noisy street. Toilet and shower room are clean.
Simple breakfast is provided, and kitchen was neat and adequate. Overall staying experience is thumbs up! Worth for the price. Recommended for Solo traveler or with friends who are looking for a budget stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorneoParadise, General Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and everyone who is reading this. Glad you've enjoyed your stay in Sabah and we look forward to see you again someday soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights around mid-March. We were supposed to be picked-up by the hostel from the airport, but were unceremoniously left to our own devices when our flight arrived 40 mins late (?!?!?!?). Good thing it was fairly easy to call for a cab to get to the hostel. The hostel itself has a very homey charm to it and is well maintained. There is free wifi but only accessible from the lounge (no signal at the rooms). If the hostel didnt leave us at the airport or were more apologetic about leaving us at the airport, I'd probably choose to stay here again. But rude staff is the undoing of a hostel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BorneoParadise, General Manager at Borneo Backpackers, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. We did an investigation and find that you have not request for airport transfer. You booked with us through Agoda and nothing is mentioned about airport transfers and neither is flight details given. Maybe this could be a confusion with another booking at another lodge? Airport transfer is not included base on the price offered at Agoda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borneo Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borneo Backpackers

Address: No.24 Lorong Dewan, Kota Kinabalu 88801, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 74 Specialty Lodging in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the heart of the city; Borneo Backpackers has already attracted the attention of discerning travellers from around the world. Some guests have already made return visits, and many more have vowed to return. While guests originally come for the facilities on offer, such as clean bathroom, toilets, pantry area, internet facility, cozy lounge area, roof garden deck, 24 hours security, and a tour information counter. They return for the service from our friendly, helpful and knowledgeable local staff. Rooms are all air con, from Dorms to Private rooms. Rates begin at $7 USD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borneo Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borneo Backpackers Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Borneo Backpackers Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borneo Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.