We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beringgis Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Beringgis Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beringgis Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Km 26, Jalan Papar, Kampung Beringgis, Kinarut, Kota Kinabalu 89600, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Bangalore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Ideally located on the stretch of beach of Kota Kinabalu...a sleepy place to have good rest. Economically priced and have good rooms with nice private beach to enjoy and relax. Service is OK but not that efficient, staff is good and humble that's why one doesn't feel the average service. Food is not good, but you cannot help as u r around 1 hour away from main city.

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are quite good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    69
    32
    20
    6
See reviews for
34
54
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We just returned from a lovely stay here. I think that some of the reviews complaining about the smaller things have really chosen to focus on the negatives. This is not a resort that advertises itself as 5 star and if that's what you are looking for, you should go to the more expensive spots. For the price we paid, we felt that this was a great spot and a great price and we had a really lovely time!
Our room was really big, really clean and really modern. The staff were really friendly and did their best to help at all times, even when we had an issue with a day tour and payment problems. It is true that the grounds were occasionally a little shabby but this really does not affect your stay in any way! The pool area was great, and down by the beach, there were plenty of beach loungers and the little cabanas were amazing! They made our stay even better as we chilled there each day ordering our drinks from the amazing restaurant/bar staff and relaxing reading in the shade in between building sand castles and swimming.
It is true that the resort is a little isolated from town and your eating options are rather limited to the nearby seafood restaurants and the hotel restaurant but the food at the hotel place is really good and reasonably priced and there is a pretty decent selection. If you are looking for somewhere with an option of exploring the town (which is not a very exciting town if you ask me) then you might want somewhere closer but we didn't - we just wanted to relax and enjoy the peace, which we did. The hotel will happily organise you a taxi though and they have a big variety of day trips too if you are bored with staying there.
Oh, and the spa is really great too! Easy to book and with lots of different things. We all had different treatments and they were great.

Room Tip: We stayed in Mawar 5 and it was a great location and really newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Beautiful setting with no one on the beaches, large clean pool and very relaxing. Deluxe room was large and clean albeit a little dark. Wonderful staff except the lobby staff who had no idea about what to do, how to get around, trips etc. Go to Sabah tourists office in KK who were so helpful. Resort quite far out but there is a pricey shuttle bus. The tourist office advised us on hiring a car which was great and cheap compared to the restrictive shuttle bus. Easy driving, slow traffic and excellent roads. No local buses from resort but great restaurant opposite which was so so cheap with excellent food. No alcohol though! Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived to Beringgis after our climb up Mt Kinabalu expecting a haven to rest and relax. Our room was quite recently renovated and we were happy about that.

The disappointment hit us when we started to walk around the resort area and found out that there was only one restaurant serving the guests and not really any other services (super market, restaurant) nearby the hotel. Also it looked like there was a renovation going on in one of the hotel buildings + beach front bar. The garden did not look very lush and the pool area was also a bit run down (different types of sunbeds, some of them broken, mattresses not that tidy looking, sun shades broken, pool bar closed and abandoned). If you take a look at the hotel buildings you can also see a need for renovation on the roofs etc. Restaurant toilet was in a shocking state, luckily our room was nearby.

The beach infront of the hotel is secluded and extremely nice. Definately one of the reasons to go to Beringgis. Even with the disappointments we found our stay OK since the staff was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is 40 minutes from airport and 1 hour from the town of kota Kinabalu. Its located on a streach of golden sand. The hotel has the most friendly staff who are able to help no matter the time of day, we checked out at 4am and had no issues. the rooms are good size with all you need for a relaxing stay. I would recommend this place for families or couples to enjoy this loverly island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Had a family outing at the resort and booked 5 rooms on 13th February.

The resort is located at good location with a quiet beach which is fantastic. The lobby is great but the check in process is rather average. Staff did not appear to be friendly.

If you are planning to stay at this hotel, it could be worth paying a little bit more for the rooms in the new wing as the rooms in the old wing is very dated. During our stay, there was renovation going on as well. The new wing is located further away from where the renovation is taking place. I'd rate the rooms at the old wing at best 3 star if not 2.

Upon checking into the room, we found a brochure on the table that has a lists of the respective rooms rates. To our surprised, we discovered that the room rate that we were quoted over the phone was much higher. This despite we booked the room well in advanced i.e. 5 months prior to check in date. We brought this up to the front desk lady during the checkout and she conveniently brushed aside the discussion by saying that the brochure in the room is not valid.

The resort's pool is decent and kids friendly. We did not see anyone at the towel counter at 4pm. So we had to bring the towel from the room instead.

Breakfast is averate with very limited selection.

Room Tip: Get a room in the new wing. It is closer to the beach too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

After a big disappointment of booking 8 nights in central KK in a condo and finding it was totally unacceptable to us we were very relieved to find the Beringgis beach resort just 30 mins from central KK. What a great find:
Lovely renovated rooms, spacious, very clean and great bathrooms (Deluxe rooms) with little terrace and chairs to relax on.
Beautiful and very well maintained gardens.
Nice big, clean pool with sun loungers and umbrellas (could do with a few more loungers and umbrellas as the sun is pretty intense.)

Good sized restaurant but food and drink choices need complete review as quite pricey for the mediocre quality and it's quite a trek out if you aren't happy with them. We didn't want to trek in to KK every night as we found the smell of raw sewage very off putting, so it would have been good if the hotel restaurant could improve their choices and provide more variety as there was very little to excite us given that we had 6 nights and 7 days of food.

Breakfast is plentiful, but still not quite "there yet" eg you get the baked beans but get beef slices as bacon and chicken sausage. I would suggest that sliced cheese, cold boiled eggs and ham could be available every day and that it's fresh fruit juice and not dluted juice. Note that the omelettes are delicious and the fried eggs are good! There is also a restaurant which has opened across the road and although we didn't go I was told it was actually very reasonable

Lovely view of the sea from the restaurant and bar and there are some little canopied areas with cushions where you can sit and chill and watch the sea and the sunset with a great stretch of private beach with very shallow and safe waters for children to play in.

Very nice, smiley and helpful staff......thank you Lioneli, Joel and Savrina for all being so friendly and very helpful.

All in all we really loved this place, had a great holiday and felt that the accomodation was excellent value for money

Note that I marked it down on location as it is a bit remote for dining options as the main choices were in KK, but there are a few sea food restaurants nearby (transport required) and there is a supermarket in Papar town and a pharmacy (antibiotics and many other medications can be purchased over the counter in Malaysia at the pharmacy. Transport required for Papar). Due to the location it would have been good if the shuttle bus was free as it costs 15 MYR ringgits per person each way and it all adds up!

Happy to speak directly with management on our personal suggestions for improvement as we firmly believe that this place has huge potential and could be a great contender( but at much more affordable prices) to the Sutera resorts and the ShangriLa further up the coast

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Beringgis Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beringgis Beach Resort

Address: Km 26, Jalan Papar, Kampung Beringgis, Kinarut, Kota Kinabalu 89600, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Beringgis Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Beringgis Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beringgis Beach Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Beringgis Beach Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beringgis Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.