We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Puas hati dan senang hati” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Now, Save up to 30%
Ranked #5 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kuching, Malaysia
1 review
“Puas hati dan senang hati”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Tiada yang dapat meletakkan kepada sang pengembara apabila menerima layanan servis hotel yang baik dan cekap sekali. The hotel is perfectly situated with fantastic views over the South China Sea, and close to the market and waterfront bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious and well appointed.

Room Tip: Just asked, and make sure you know the type of room before make booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear MrDell2014,

Thank you for sharing with others your feedback from your recent stay with us. I am delighted you found the location of the hotel and facilities ideal.

Please come and visit us again some day again soon, we are only a short flight from KK.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    620
    159
    58
    22
See reviews for
287
586
98
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The Le Meridien is a nice hotel.
Unfortunately, I am allergic to carpets in the rooom.
I did not ask for another room and I wonder if the hotel has rooms which are not carpeted?
That would have been ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Dear ibnibatutta,

I am so sorry, we do not have any rooms in the hotel that are not carpeted. All of our guest rooms and corridor's have been carpeted exactly the same.

If you are travelling to KK again please feel free to reach out to myself or my team as we could help to search for another hotel that may be able to suite your needs or to connect you with an agent that could assist.

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kandahar, Afghanistan
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
551 helpful votes 551 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have stayed at this property numerous times since 2008. It has been bought and sold a few times over the years. If you are used to Le Meridien in Singapore, KL or Hong Kong, this will not live up to your expectations. And do not mistaje it for a beach resort...it is nowhere near a beach. However, if you are looking for a harbourfront hotel centrally located to all the shops and restaurants in town (and the night market in KK) this is it. Rates seem to vary a lot perhaps depending on occupancy. The Club Room can be a good value if you like the evening open bar and food. Regular rooms do NOT have complimentary wifi, which is very 2002. There are a few good hotels close by - across the street and round the block - if this is not your cup of tea.

Room Tip: Higher floor with a sea view gives you gorgeous full window view of the harbour, seafront markets an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Hello csundseth,

Thank you for taking the time to share with others the feedback from your recent stay with us. Your review is correct in relation to the hotel an surroundings. As I have mentioned in other reviews we will be renovating the hotel later this year.

Thank you for sharing your tip with others in regards to staying in a Club room or a room overlooking the sea side both are amongst a favourite with our guests.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope you will travel back to KK soon.

With best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Looking at the price and comparing to other hotels in Malaysia you'll be disappointed after being there. They won't give you internet access if you won't pay 20 rm per hour! Probably you won't have breakfast included and you'll pay 50 rm. the roof of the room an the building is very low and it is not a good sensation. It don't worth the price. Choose another hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Cristina,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feedback from your recent stay in Kota Kinabalu. I am sorry that you felt that the hotel was overpriced and not good value for money, we will certainly review your comments and review the pricing if necessary in the areas mentioned.

One of the reasons was perhaps that your travel dates were over the very High demand Chinese New Year period as you mention you were here in early February. This is a very high demand period for accommodation rooms in Kota Kinablau due to traveler from China and also nearby locations where they have an extended holiday at this time.

I am sorry that you did not leave with a more positive experience and hope that overall your travel experience in Sabah was a memorable one.

With best regards,
Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

The hotel is perfectly situated with fantastic views over the South China Sea, and close to the market and waterfront bars and restaurants. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Front desk really helpful. Cannot fault the place. Would definitely recommend upgrading to the Club package which will give you the opportunity to have complementary evening drinks and breakfast on the 12th floor while enjoying stunning views over the bay.

Room Tip: Try and get the highest room available with views over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you Hello Richard_Lux for sharing your review with others.

I was delighted to read specifically your comments related to our front office associates, thank you for sharing.

Thank you again and I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again to Sabah in the future.

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Very nice hotel in a very good location if you want to walk around the center. The rooms were, as would be expected, of a high standard, and breakfast was also good.
The only drawback is the smell that sometimes comes from the sea, and if you are in the pool can be deterring.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Hello Macieira,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with others from your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu.

You are righ, located opposite is a fresh market (mainly seafood and local produce), if the wind is travelling in the wrong direction we do have a strong sea smell, though otherwise this is a very interesting market to discover local produce.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Overlooking the South China Sea and the colorful harbor market is one of your rewards for staying at this world class hotel. Plus the kind of service you would expect is amplified. The chef walked across the street for us and bought freshly caught crabs that he grilled for us at dinner... Just because we mentioned how beautiful they were and that we loved them. Excellent shopping in the same block as the hotel. I'd never stay anywhere else in this city.

Room Tip: Go for an upper story room facing the sea and market - More view. No street noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you Rollingal for sharing your experience.

I am delighted to read that one of our team really went out of their way to create such a memorable experience for you. At the same time you cannot find fresher seafood then in the markets surrounding the hotel,. so a very good choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel when you travel back to Sabah again.

Best regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.