We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waterfront and sunset views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3, Pay 2 Only!
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Waterfront and sunset views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location - across the road from the waterfront and near all of the markets. Our room had a great view of the islands and sunset. The hotel foyer is very olde worlde style with dark wood and chairs but it is comforting altho a few more chairs would be good as it is a very busy hotel. Staff are very attentive and the breakfast has a good and varied selection of food. Staff were quick to clean up the tables. Our room was quite spacious and the bathroom was a reasonable size but the shower continually leaked over the floor - maybe a difficult problem to fix as the water seems to seep out near the doorhinge even tho they have applied seals to most areas. The bed was very comfy. The pool was delighful as the water temperature was refreshing - not warm and soupy like many hotel pools in hot cities. There is a lovely view too from the pool area on the 2nd floor. A few minor complaints - my adaptor did not work and neither did any that the hotel supplied. Very strange as I had no problems in Kuching or at the Shangri La resort. The spa/massage prices were very expensive so I gave it a miss. There is a fee for use of the hotel's computer in the Business Centre. Otherwise the hotel is a top pick if you are staying in KK.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Aussietraveller,

Thank you for taking your time to share the feedback from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities and the service during your stay. You are right, this is an extremely busy time for Kota Kinabalu and sometimes the lobby seating is not enough or the other areas are a little more crowed than usual. Our team does try hard to ensure that this does not affect our guests and we will continue to look at how we can ensure the stay is comfortable for all.

At the same time, thank you for your feedback on the internet pricing in the business center. I will review this with my team to see if we can extend a little more flexibility for limited time use for our guests - thank you for raising this.

Thank you again for sharing your feedback, I hope you will have the opportunity to visit Sabah again in the future.

Warm regards,
Fiona Hagan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    586
    151
    50
    19
See reviews for
266
562
94
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Have just returned to Perth following a six night stay at Le Meridien.(sept2-sept8).
From check in to check out everything about our stay was simply the nicest experience one could imagine.
We paid the extra to be accommodated in the Le Royal Club area which ensured a room with a beautiful view overlooking the sea,islands and the night markets.
We were also most appreciative of the access to the Club Lounge where we could wander on down during the day for a coffee, afternoon teas and of course the most enjoyable and very well catered for evening cocktails and canapes. Breakfasts were also excellent.
Room 1233 was just perfect. Housekeeping was first class.
There was one instance where we required attention for a non flushing loo. I had not had the phone hung up for about 4-5 minutes before a smiling maintainence man was at the door and fixed the problem immediately.
The staff at all times were helpful, courteous and very professional.
We loved the location as it is so central to all the town attractions.
Overall we can't find a single negative about our stay and will not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Certainly pay the extra and enjoy the views and facilities on floors 11 or 12.( Ocean facing).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hello Geoff,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your Sea view room and the offering in the Le Royal Club on the 12th floor. Our team do work hard to ensure that we care for our guests and are able to provide a quiet place away from home to enjoy Kota Kinabalu.

Please do come and visit us again soon, we have a 2nd flight on MAS from Perth from October so will be easier to plan holidays in the future.

Warm regards,

Fiona Hagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Not a fan of carpeted rooms. The room was clean and carpet was acceptably dry. No funny smell whatsoever.

One of the towel has stains??? The housekeeping staff exchanged and gave a clean towel.

The hotel gave 50% discount voucher for dinner buffet. The food was unacceptable for a 5 star hotel standard. The chinese fried rice was uncooked (uncooked white rice). The mango chocolate cake tasted weird/bad as if they used mangoes that had gone bad. The original buffet price is RM90++. The Executive chef's team should really look into this matter (food quality). They should taste the food before serving to paying guests!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello earosl,

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete feedback from your recent stay with us in Kota Kinabalu.

Whilst I am not pleased to read your feedback on the dinner buffet, thank you for sharing as it allows us an opportunity to review this with our culinary team.

Many thanks,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BINTULU
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay, the hotel is situated in town area right with a nice sea view & a walking distance to the malls, to many seafood restaurants and the famous 'filipina' market where you can find attractive souvenirs to bring home...

The room was spacious and clean with nice comfortable bed. If you come to KK for shopping, this is a nice hotel & you do not need to take a taxi as it is very near to the shopping area.

Had a great breakfast - wide selection of food, love the food. Very tasty & indulging. Better book a seaview room, love the scenery...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello NURY888,

It sounds like you had a fabulous time in KK exploring the surrounding areas of the hotel

Thank you for sharing with others the feedback from your stay and for your tip to book a sea view room!

Warm regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipoh, Malaysia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

very spacious room, big, clean and nice view (sea view). even very near to shopping area, easy location, easy to find halal food and a very strategic location for everything. Staff are very help full and very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello lizaman,

Thank you for sharing with others the feedback from your recent stay. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Warm regards,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

5 of us guys climbed Mount Kinabalu, and decided to stay in a better hotel after that to rest properly. We booked two rooms, but upon check-in, was lucky enough to be offered an upgrade to their Presidential suite on the 11th floor. Naturally the suite is huge which the 5 of us appreciated a lot, although some facilities are not quite working like the sauna, karaoke, and the Bose sound system. I can't quite rate based on the room since it was a lucky break, but we thought overall the location of the hotel is great. it offers fantastic views of the waters opposite. At night the market across the road offers street food like bbq chicken wings and seafood, nasi goreng, etc. Next to the hotel are several shopping malls which offer shopping, massages, whatever you need. Behind the hotel, along the streets and alleys are other local food in coffee shops (both chinese and malay) which is great for breakfast and lunch. Concierge is friendly and helpful, bringing us out from the hotel via the rear exit to show us where to get delicious pork noodles.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 3 days and cannot thank enough to my friend who recommend this hotel.

Just behind the hotel is the largest shopping centre in KK. Opposite the hotel is the water front housing restaurants , handicraft market, dried sea food market and many more.

Breakfast spread was excellent and service always above standard.

Will never stay anywhere else when I am in KK.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona H, General Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hello JimmyKL,

I am so pleased you took your friends advice and chose to stay with us. Thank you for sharing your feedback from your stay with others online, I am so pleased your enjoyed the hotel and location. Please ask for me the next time you stay with us, it would five me a chance to meet you personally.

Many thanks,

Fiona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.