We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 days at Le Meridien” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu to your Saves list
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3, Pay 2 Only!
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Dudley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“2 days at Le Meridien”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are ok spacious but need updating a little, but they were clean and tidy. Our room was not ready when we arrived so were given another one. This was on a lower floor but still had a sea vie. The smell from the fish market over the road was overwhelming when you first step out of the hotel. The breakfast was ok with lots of choices to be made. The staff were friendly all around the hotel and would do anything to help.
The hotel is in a good location if you like to go shopping with lots of shops in the malls and the market stalls round the corner everyday. Beware of imitations!!

Room Tip: The better the view the higher up you go
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Kris,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
I would like to apologize on the inconvenience we may have caused during your check in. In any case whenever some issues were not resolved up to your expectation, please share with us your concerns immediately, especially to our Duty Managers at that time.
Glad that you loved the location and the places of interests nearby, hope you had done tons of shopping.
Thank you and have a lovely week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    586
    150
    50
    19
See reviews for
266
561
94
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in this hotel almost every time we visited Kota Kinabalu for the last three years. Love the decor and also the friendly staffs. Some of the staffs even went the extra mile providing us with a baby bed without us asking for it. The rooms are spacious and with beautiful views overlooking the ocean. Situated in the middle of the town, therefore very convenient to look for places where the locals goes to eat. The breakfast was superb and we enjoy ourselves very much. Definitely going to stay there again the next time we visit.

Room Tip: Request for sea view room (they might charge a bit, but it's worth it)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
We hope you have enjoyed all the places of interests nearby the hotel during your stay. Glad that you loved the ocean view, feel free to let us know should you need to book rooms with other spectacular views in future we will be more than willing to assist you.
Glad you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for the special mention on the breakfast and our friendly staff. We look forward to welcome your family, friends and loved ones here again.
Thank you and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Our travel plans in Sabah changed quickly due to the Sulu invasion and the cancellation of our Tabin lodge stay. We needed accommodation in Kota Kinabalu and decided we would stay at Le Meridien just because it looked good and had a view of the ocean.

It was the best decision we could have made. We asked for the deluxe room with the view of the ocean and the markets opposite. The huge windows, chaise lounge and spacious room with its king sized bed provided an impression of light airy comfort. Room service was prompt and delicious, with all staff helpful and friendly.

We ate and drank at the cafe and enjoyed delicious coffees and perhaps the most delicious Tom yam soup ever! Service was impeccable and we noticed every request was met and exceeded - by that I mean a drink was accompanied by nuts (packaged not loose), coffee accompanied by biscuit and so on. Also the chairs provided everywhere were extremely comfortable which means sitting watching the world go by is a sweet way to spend time on holiday.

This hotel understands the idea of under stated and over delivered - and as a customer this really works for me. Excellent value, perfect position and delightful atmosphere - we will be back.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room-extra cost small for large and impressive view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu guest!
Firstly, we are sorry to hear on your cancellations experience to Tabin and we hope that you and your family are still looking forward to your visit to Tabin in the future. They are indeed tremendously gorgeous.
Secondly, it sounds like your trip has turned for the better and we’re glad that we have assisted you and made your stay a truly fun and memorable one all while you’re in Kota Kinabalu. Thank you for the kind note on our Tom Yam Soup, we are truly humbled and rest assured we will inform the kitchen team involved on your kind compliments. As for the coffees ‘accompanied with nuts’, recognizing simple gestures like our packaging is a great motivation for us as well.
Thank you for your kind recommendation. See you soon and hopefully you get to spend more time around our outlets as well to find out more about us and what we can do to make your trip a better one.
Thank you and have a beautiful week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at Le Meridiem KK for four nights at the beginning of our trip in Borneo. The room was very spacious and clean with everything you might need. We requested a high floor room with sea views and this was really nice. The breakfast was good. The hotel is very centrally located, walking distance to everywhere in KK. They can arrange for you any tour you might want to take while in KK. We enjoyed the Mari Mari Cultural village and afternoon tour to the Klias river, but we did not like the tour to Mount Kinalabu and Pour Spring, there is a long distance to get there and we spent most of the time on a van.

Room Tip: Sea view and high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Sounds like you enjoyed your stay throughout in Kota Kinabalu in general and also at the hotel. I’m glad all of us here have made your stay a wonderful one with the assistance from our Tour Desk as well. See you again, and hopefully you get to spend more time around our outlets as well to find out more about us and what we can do to make your trip a better one.
Thank you and have an excellent week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Stayed there for a night. The location was excellent, about 15 mins from the airport and a lot eatery nearby the hotel. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful which made me enjoyed the great hospitality of the Sabahans. The room was spacious and the seaview from the room was indeed spectacular too. However, the facility in the room looked quite old and I had bad experience with the toilet. The water pressure in the toilet flush seemed low and the toilet was clogged the next morning. This was certainly not a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Great staff on the front desk, concierge - helpful with queries on places to visit. Free parking. Excellent location in city near markets and eateries. Good-sized rooms with nice views (partial sea/partial city). We (three generations) had a lovely 3-night stay there.

(I don't think KK would have been quite so easy to travel around and visit without our car rental, which we negotiated and picked up on arrival at the airport.)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Good to hear that our concierge team has taken very well care of you and your family and to know you enjoyed our breakfast too. We’re glad to hear you appreciate the location of the hotel and the places of interests nearby.
Please let us know if you need further assistance on transportation and movement if you require in the future. We will be more than happy to assist you.
Thank you and have an excellent week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights with my family and enjoyed tremenously as staff especially concierge was so helpful to assist us to do online check-in for our flight. Room big and airy and clean.

Breakfast choices was enough to eat for the day - "ate like a king" especially the fresh fruit juices station! what a good way to start the day!

Hotel location was excellent and can walked around the town. also convenient to catch a taxi at all times as the taxi station located just acroos the hotel.

Will definitely recommend to all my firends and business associates.

Room Tip: Rooms on non smoking floor more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suresh R, Manager at Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Good Day Nai,
Greetings from Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu!
Glad you enjoyed your stay here and thank you for the special mention on the breakfast, we hope you enjoyed all the juices! As you should.
I will also convey your compliments to all the staff especially the warm and friendly concierge team. Looking forward to welcoming you, your family, your friends and your loved ones from time to time.
Thank you for the recommendation and we will be more than happy to welcome you, your families and friends time and time again.
Thank you and have an excellent week ahead!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu

Address: Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | Sinsuran, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#5 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Méridien Kota Kinabalu embraces the aesthetic and eclectic beauty of Sabah while showcasing superb views of the city, Mount Kinabalu, and the South China Sea. Located in downtown Kota Kinabalu, and within easy walking distance of local attractions, the commercial district, and retail and entertainment facilities, the hotel provides easy access to some of Malaysia’s finest beaches and golf courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Starwood APAC, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Kota Kinabalu Le Meridien
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.