We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ang's Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ang's Hotel
28 Lorong Bakau, Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88809, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
California Hot Springs, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Ang's Hotel is located right in downtown Kota Kinabalu and is a great value for the money. Don't expect a nice hotel, but it is very adequate with clean beds.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    6
    1
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
4
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

Although it's possible to book online (http://www.sabah.com.my/angshotel/main.htm), I just walked in after arriving in Kota Kinabalu and had no problem finding a room there, although it was peak season. So no need to book ahead. The staff is very nice, although unwilling to give any discount. The rooms are air-conditioned and hot water is provided several times a day. The hotel is old and a bit worn, but the owners keep it very clean. The bed was comfortable enough. The main advantage of the hotel is its central location in close proximity to the pier. Nevertheless it can get noisy so it's better to take a room inside the building (without open air windows).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, Utrecht
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2009

The hotel was in the centre of Kota Kinabalu and was good for what you are where paying. Aircon avalible.

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarawak
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

Well thankfully we had no cockroaches in our room (see previous reviews)! Instead there were a lot of tiny ants!

We stayed for one night here. The hotel is very old and even though its website claims to be the best budget hotel in KK, this is not true at all as we moved to another budget hotel nearby the next day which is far better than this one and cheaper too!

The room we stayed in was a deluxe room with windows. The room was clean and tidy but the carpet is very old with stains and the wardrobe has graffiti on it. The dresser and wardrobe looked very old and worn with the lamination on the plywood peeling in places. The bathroom has a bathtub (with hot and cold water) but it had ugly stubborn stains in it. The underside of the sink was very dirty as well. Thank goodness the toilet was clean though. In the bathroom, a window glass pane was slipping off and looked like a disaster waiting to happen. Imagine if it slips completely off and falls to the ground below which is a busy street...

The AC is of the older window single unit type and was cool and quiet. There was a pair of mismatched bathroom slippers and two clean towels in the room. The sheets were clean but the pillows under the cases looked very old and blackish, especially the extra pillow in the wardrobe. The beds were comfortable though. There was also a simple arm chair and table in the room as well as a small TV with some local channels. No kettle is provided, only a free bottle of drinking water and a hot water flask.

The hotel has dark corridors and a very old lift. We didn't know how to work the lift at first! But after that, we had no problems with it.

As for the staff, we thought they were okay, polite and the cleaners also greeted us. No complaints regarding the staff.

It was relatively quiet here, we were not aware of any no pubs nearby that feature bands or karaoke singers at night. This is a definite plus! There are several budget hotels a stone's throw away from this one but none of them looked too nice.

There is a chinese restaurant just downstairs and another popular coffee shop just opposite. Several eateries and fast food joints are close by as well.

Overall, I think this hotel needs a serious make over, then perhaps it will be more popular because its location is certainly quite good. It's a budget place but you could get a much nicer budget room elsewhere for cheaper (we did!).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overall feel, very old.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2007

We had booked and payed for two nights in advance via website. The first evening we found an ant nest in the bathroom and a cockroach in the bedroom. The carpet was smelly and dirty. We stayed the night and changed to a room without a carpet the next day. The second evening, when opening the door, there were at least five cockroaches in the room, the biggest 6 cm long. We decided to leave the hotel and tried to get our money back for the second night. The staff was very unfriendly, said no and just turned away. We took a taxi to King Park Hotel, wich was really nice and clean and with friendly staff! More expensive (118 RM) but well worth it. Ang's hotel is way too expensive for what you get (64 RM).

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kellyC108, Owner at Ang's Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2008
We are not very happy with what's stated on this review, and have taken strong action to deal with the problem immediately. Ang's Hotel has been part of KK City since 1962, and it is one of the best local budget hotel in the City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2007

We stayed in this hotel for a few hours! We flew into the city and went straight to the hotel. Gentleman at reception during the day was very friendly and showed us to our room. They have a very old lift. Corridor and rooms are very dark but seemed clean. After we got back after dinner we found a huge cockroach in our room. Someone from the hotel got rid of it for us but when i asked where it came from he said that they come up through the hotel from the restaurant below! So the hotel was full of them! There was a very rude man at reception at this point who said that we can take another room and literally told us that we were being stupid about the cockroach, he was unnecessarily rude and arrogant when we were very polite considering the circumstances. We asked for our money back as we had only checked in a few hours earlier. He refused to give our money back. Basically they didn't care because they had our money. We checked into Imperial International Hotel at midnight - much better - cleaner, better location!

  • Liked — Some of the reception staff
  • Disliked — Cockroaches! Greedy-money making hotel.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

I stayed in Angs hotel for a night i just wanted a single nice room for one night and got it cheaply by simply walking through the door and it cost on 60 rm i had double bed ,TV, No ASTRO and a toilet and shower. It was a little small but at that price a bargain with clean sheets No problems found and hotels has a good location in city centre

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — room size
  • Tips/Secrets — dont book ahead
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ang's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ang's Hotel

Address: 28 Lorong Bakau, Jalan Pantai, Kota Kinabalu 88809, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Also Known As:
Angs Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Ang's Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ang's Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ang's Hotel to your Saves list