We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I could give it credit” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sabah Oriental Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sabah Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Sabah Oriental Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wish I could give it credit”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Its like being transported back in time when I walked into the room. Even though it has the basic necessities, I felt this hotel to be old and nothing was done to make it vibrant and pleasant. Stayed in Room 509 on the 5th floor for only a brief moment due to my work and outside activity and wanting a good rest only to be disturbed by the noise from the banging of doors (at around midnight) and had the feeling that people are in your room (I was alone). This is due to the low sound proofing of the walls and hearing the people in the next room talking and merry making. I wonder at that moment why they can't distribute the rooms evenly (since it was not that full) to leave a void between one and the other for such disturbance. The bed sheet was not satin white and the pillow was really thin, The bath towel was not that white and it was quite thin. Supposedly, this was to be a 4 star rated hotel.
The toilet amenities was just a tiny bottle of shampoo, a small tiny bar of soap and a equally tiny bottle of shower liquid. Toilet was really old with permanent stains on the ceramic tiles , shower curtain was really nostalgic. the Water Closet (WC) has a push button that need a great amount of force to push for the flush and it is in a very weird position.No slipper were present in the room and walking on the carpet (bare footed) bring some kind of itch to the foot.Nothing on the telly (just a few channels) and the lighting does not suit the already nostalgic environment.
Had to rush upon check in and have a very quick lunch at the cafe. It was basically empty when I was there at around 12.15PM.

Breakfast was not that great also. The garlic fried rice was not tasty at all (for me) and they do not have sambal or fried chicken to go with the rice for it was plain as Jane. (taste enhancement).

The only consolation was the hard working concierge people.

Wish I could give it more credit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with better sound barrier. I wonder if there is any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    113
    74
    16
    9
See reviews for
38
58
26
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for one night and found it to be pretty standard. The decor and everything is pretty outdated, 70s - 80s-ish but the rooms are clean and simple. Location is a long walk or short cab away from central KK. Breakfast was pretty good, lots of options.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are comfortable and clean. The aircond and tv works very well. Love d breakfast buffet at d hotel cafe oriental. All d condiments are stocked up. In the town area but quite far to walk to d shopping mall.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

The location is far from the city centre if you wanted to walk. Their selling point is it is a good place if you are looking for a quiet place to stay. The food choices is nice in their buffet. The pool is nice because it is rubberized.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonaire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

When I was staying there I had a good time having room service the juice was nice so was the steak the rice for my mum was pleasent soup well the design of the rooms were traditonal fitting the name oriental but the tubs were abit scary the pipes leaky at night and bath there was eerie enough so to speak hopefully they upgrade their rooms and freshen the decor otherwise the staff is helpful and polite the stay pleasent indeed.I even had my father in law and husband in the same room yet we had enough space.

Room Tip: I had a fine one facing the city skyline
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Check in for a night there...
1st of all, the location is really not strategic for me.. to get to the waterfront area took me 30mins walking... Should have find a hotel closer to the town...
2nd , i bought lunch coupon from groupon, so i enjoyed my meal well at the cafe oriental... Morning breakfast was nice as well...
3rd, front desk staff are friendly...salute...
4th, actually during booking not sure whether misheard or what, but i booked the room because i was told the price was 150+. A bit suprised because have to pay 200. But nevermind...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location of the hotel is 10-15 minutes from town centre and requires a taxi back and forth, there is nothing to do around the hotel. The beds were ok but generally the condition of the rooms was poor. Very thin walls.
Very poor Wi-Fi which requires a code from reception.

The pool area was not maintained, three old sun beds - one of them broken. The restaurant was average. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sabah Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Oriental Hotel

Address: Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabah Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. At Sabah Oriental Hotel you’ll discover that attention to details is our hallmark to ensure your stay in Sabah Oriental Hotel is a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sabah Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Oriental Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabah Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.