We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sabah Oriental Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sabah Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sabah Oriental Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
MYR168 (MYR)
Ranked #37 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Tired but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is looking very tired and is in need of a refurbishment but in saying that it is very clean. Our room was clean and the bed was comfortable but the carpet, curtains and bathroom are in need of an upgrade.
The breakfast at the hotel has a good selection and it was extremely busy but the staff provided good service.
It's a taxi ride from the heart of town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    100
    71
    16
    7
See reviews for
30
54
23
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I must say the room condition is not as good as 5 star hotel and will not elaborate more as so many people giving their review.

I must say, I chose this hotel again and again because of the location is very strategic for those with cars to move around town. But the the NO 1 reason Is because this hotel give u a generous free buffet breakfast. the food has many choices and delicious considering the price u pay for the room. U will be surprise! Yes, I choose this hotel because of the awesome breakfast buffet :D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our company of 4 adults and 2 kids rent a car upon arrival at the airport. We did some comparison and glad we booked earlier instead of bargaining at the various car rental outlets at the airport.

In 10 mins, we're already at the hotel. It was easy to find. Google navigator helped much.

We had connecting rooms. Me and Mrs. picked the one with double bed whilst the grands picked the singles. Very clean with strong musky smell of wood fittings. Old furniture fitted indeed, but still are sturdy. We noticed that the hotel had removed the bath tub and left it with showers only, which, not a qualm when everything else are in order and most importantly clean.

Old and tired lobby with old and tired lighting - just to our preference.

We drove to the Filipino market (Craft Market) where the ladies enjoyed themselves. The fathers took a stroll to the food stalls located just behind the market. Though the food looked and smelled delicious, we had to walk away due to lack of cleanliness. The stagnant, smelly and slimy water in the nearby drain nearly got me puked at first account. So we had to say bye to the food there.

Not even 3 minutes drive along the Jalan Tun Fuad Stephen road, we came to a food court centre, just after the Central Market. This was where we found cheaper, fresher seafood and better hygiene stalls where we dine for the next two nights in KK. Most of the chefs wore the chef hats and cooked just like those you see on Iron Chef series. There were more than 20 stalls to choose from. Even after two fulfilling, tasty dinners, we still had a lot more in the menu which we wasted to taste. Will definitely come back to KK for this!

Back to the hotel. Good set of breakfast - the Asian way. Managed to tuck some of the breads for fish feeding at Mamutik and Manukan islands on our second day in KK.

Swimming pool was small. The kids didn't have to fight for space since most guests were there for the sun. 4.5 feet deep all the way. Non-swimmer kids need floats.

There was also a gym and sauna opened til late. Would have jumped in on both if not for my tummy was so full after dinner.

All in, we enjoyed this hotel. For the price we paid, this deserve a 4 of 5 rating from us.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We booked the Beverley Hotel but on arrival found it had changed its name to the Sabah Oriental. It's a pity a name change didn't improve it. A four star hotel? Give me a break! What a tired old place. We checked in mid afternoon and thought we would take a walk, but where? The area around it was a building site. So, off to the pool? No thank you, what a murky shabby place that was. So, we killed time by sitting in the tired old reception area. No where to go out to dinner and no advice from the staff about anything, we decided to eat in. Upon entering the restaurant at 7.30pm we found we were the only diners and it stayed that was. Our starters were brought about 2 minutes before one main and I had nearly eaten mine by the time my husbands meal arrived. There is no atmosphere there, no help, shabby tired rooms. I wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is slightly tucked away from inner city KK. So each time you need to get a 12to15RM taxi or trying crossing over a motorway junction to get into the middle.

The staff at the hotel were great, and even bought me a cake for my birthday!!

The breakfast was amazing

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The staff was great and friendly to the guest, as even the Housekeeping staff is really friendly.. But the room looks quite old, and the furniture old too, besides that the cleanliness of the room is just a good and the swimming pool looks ok with me. and the breakfast is delicious as there is local & international cuisine (:.. Moreover the hotel provide shuttle service to the guest to the city centre as this is very convience to my self & friends.. My suggestion to hotel as there should also provide shuttle service to the airport:)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Belait, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The noise from the road is so loud and goes on all night - boy racers and loud motorbikes, even big trucks.
The internet is maddeningly slow with it taking up to fifteen minutes to load a page.
The food is less than average.
It is about a twenty minute walk to town if you want to brave crossing the extremely busy main road, otherwise the hotel shuttle goes three times a day. A cab costs 15MYR to town.
The swimming pool was too green to swim in, as other reviewers have also said, so this is not a one off.
Views blocked by tall buildings.
We will pay a bit extra next time and stay somewhere close to the waterfront where there is less traffic and no need to spend money getting to town and/or back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sabah Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sabah Oriental Hotel

Address: Lorong Kemajuan, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia (Formerly Beverly Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sabah Oriental Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind. At Sabah Oriental Hotel you’ll discover that attention to details is our hallmark to ensure your stay in Sabah Oriental Hotel is a perfect one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, AsiaRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Sabah Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sabah Oriental Hotel Kota Kinabalu

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sabah Oriental Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.