We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Jesselton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Jesselton Hotel to your Saves list
The Jesselton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Tulum, Mexico
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bed Bugs!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Having blood-sucking insects crawl out of your bed at 10:30pm on the night of checkin is an awful start! We were horrified to see 4 large adult bugs and multiple smaller bugs after we lay down for the night - see our uploaded pictures. Staff were very nice, the hotel is a little outdated but in a good location. We checked out and moved to Le Meridien.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    192
    48
    10
    10
See reviews for
45
157
41
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We stayed at the Jesselton for several one and two night steches over a two week honeymoon.
I have to say it was a gamble. We booked the superior room at RM275 per night, which translates to R825. We were very disappointed our first night. The room says colonial, but the wallpaper was curling off the wall, water stains on the roof and none of the bath or sink plugs worked-but it was still better than a backpackers. They did not provide any towels or robes (at the time we didn't think this odd only inconvenient), so we resorted to using our travel towels which was then wet for our jungle trekking.

The breakfast was included at Kudo's which was hecticly overpriced even for city standards- two slices of bread-fresh toast= 4 trangled is RM 9. and the colonial breakfast is a few slices fruit with the cold meat being the cheap kind from back home and coffee without milk for RM20...This is a massive amount. I would skip this if your travel agent advises it and grab breakfast at any of the local coffee shops-much better.

Upon our second arrival, we got a new room- MUCH better. This time it was no crappy alley view, but one of the city, we upgraded to one towel and one bathrobe-ok now take into account the towel and bathrobe was make from the same material and the robe had several holes in but it was a robe. They did however keep our belongings safe this time round which was really nice and effort free.

The third time they upgraded our room which was beyond devine by that stage but also had a hefty price tag...So by the time we left we managed two towels and a robe. Better rooms and service. So all in all not that bad. However I am still not sure if this was the best use of our money. I would rather have stayed an extra day at one of our other lodges than come back to KK.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We've spent 5 nights at the Jesselton and were very charmed by the overall experience we had in this hotel.
LOCATION
great central location, yet still not too noisy as there's only limited traffic in the street. On sunday, the market starts right in front of the hotel. Walking just 5 min around the hotel, you'll find 100ds of restaurants and bars, supermarkets (a very good one also having a great wine choice, going out of the hotel to the right, past the tourism buro, and then 100m further), dozens of ATMs (use those instead of changing money at the hotel). Transfer to the airport is less than 20 min and costs 30 ringit.
RECEPTION
friendly and efficient staff, very nice bellboy (we asked to exchange a few USD into Ringit, and he went to a local exchange counter), friendly and professional service staff (we locked ourselves out of the room...). Concierge services helped where needed - all happens very swiftly and easily at the Jesselton. We also had some laundry done here - good price and service
ROOMS (we had 205)
all you expect in a 3 star hotel, clean, well maintained bathroom, safe, rather spacious room, good kingsize bed. The Wifi service was mostly working well, yet had a few erratic outages. Good airco which isn't noisy.
BREAKFAST
for the first nights we had our breakfast in the breakfast area downstairs (the "Kudos" restaurant hadn't yet opened), which was very good quality with a standard mix of options for continental and cooked breakfast. When we came back a few days later, "Kudos" had opened, and breakfast was at Kudos, where a wider choice of breakfast options was available. Good quality, and this will certainly be a plus point for the Jesselton now the Kudos restuarant downstairs is open.

OVERALL
a great experience in Kota Kinabalu, and a hotel we'd recommend for anyone staying in Kota Kinabalu.

Room Tip: We had room 205 which was perfect (see above). The suite is very nice, you might check for the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in early March for convenience of coming back from a day trip to the Mount Kinabalu National Park and a very early flight the next day. We had a deluxe room which was a good size and a well proportioned bathroom. The restaurant was closed for refurbishment so we didn't use this and our breakfast box was a bought sandwich??

Great location for shopping etc and for a very busy Italian restaurant Little Italy - very good prices.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

sorry for the title, but that is the most unforgettable impression of my Jesselton experience.

Anyways ,there are also good points.

Lobby: the style of the whole hotel is totally attractive traditional one, the taxi driver also gave a high comment to it on the way there.I did like it at the first sight.

Check in: no warm greeting or smile but quick speed, anyways, not bad

Room: it could say good, historical sofa,closet and mirror.The pre-condition is that you ignore the details, for example, we two check in but only one bathrobe and one towel ,and magically two bottles of bath gel(both of them are used already before obviously), no other shampoo or toothbrush thing. Isn't it a little mean for a 3-star hotel??
The most terrible thing is the toilet, it can flush nothing away!! I told the problem to the staff, and their “solution” is helping us flushing every time! Actually I thanks so much to the staff who really help us, but we have to feel embarrassed for our using the toilet, is it our fault?? why cannot change another room for us?? BTW, I am sure the hotel guys know clearly about the toilet problem in 301 as they reply me so quickly even I didn't finish speaking.

Staff: they are nice actually

Overview : the problem is serious enough to cover other good things

Room Tip: never recept the room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Stayed at this hotel which was brilliant for location, staff were very helpful but be careful of costs when using TripAdvisor Best prices featured booking services when paying direct to the hotel at the end of your stay.
On checking in with a costing from one of these companies, the staff wanted to charge me the taxes that was stated on the booking were included . After pointing out that on my quote these were included the original price was accepted.
On checking out however the Malaysian Ringgit cost was converted to Australian Dollars by the hotel at the time of checking out and at a very unfavourable rate resulting in a far higher cost than if Ringgit were converted by my Australian Bank.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Perfect for an arrival night or night before heading to Mt Kinabalu. Clean rooms, decent shower, plenty of eating options close by, including an odd but tasty bakery/dumpling place at was open at 6 am, so could have food before mountain climb.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Jesselton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.