We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Jesselton Hotel A Class Of Its Own !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Jesselton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Jesselton Hotel to your Saves list
The Jesselton Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 91 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“The Jesselton Hotel A Class Of Its Own !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

It took me just 20 mins by taxi from the KK International Airport to reach the Jesselton Hotel located ideally in the heart of the city surrounded by numerous shopping centres , banks and restaurants almost everything a traveller needed. The hotel was established in 1954 but it retained it's evergreen colonial elegance and originality through it's consistent restoration and renovation programmes over the years .
The staff were so friendly, hospitable and ever helpful with their excellent service. Foods served in the only Bella Restaurant met my expectation and I would recommend you to eat there. They served Western and local food. Just by it's side was the popular Old Town Cafe to provide you good coffee ,tea , bread and a variety of common local foods in case you got hungry any time of the day, a bonus for you.
The room and the rest room were clean, so were the bed, the sheets and the pillows with complete amenities inclusive of free WIFI . I was quite impressed, there were two safety bars for holding at the bath tub area which you seldom find in other hotels.There was a book containing the history of the hotel, places of interest to visit and the various contact numbers of the hotel. Perhaps another page on the Do's and the Dont's for a traveller in KK would be helpful too.
The people in Kota Kinabalu were mostly friendly people with smiles all around and quite conversant with the English language. The airport transfer would cost you Ringgit Malaysia 30 and generally, the ample number of taxi drivers are honest and helpful to tourists. I would recommend this hotel to you but you would be considered lucky if you could book a room on your first call as it was booked fully most of the time.
Cheers and hope you enjoy your stay here !

Room Tip: Ask for the newly renovated rooms .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Benrey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Jesselton Hotel , A very nice comfortable "old style" hotel, Jesselton the name, was the name of the City back in the Colonial days before being called Kota Kinabalu, and I reckon the later sounds much better ! The rooms have been refurbished and a of a nice size, location couldn't get any better, smack bang in the middle of town and waling distance to everything. The meals are very nice, large portions and good quality so excellent value. Very very friendly staff, prices around current hotel eating market rates. Most people would struggle to finish a 3 course setting.

For a short stay of say 3 - 4 nights, would be ideal at this cozy Hotel !!

Room Tip: Great place for golfers to stay !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DuncanPGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Like to stay at Jesselton Hotel at the old street of KK downtown, the point is great convenient to reach every where by foot. The hotel is value for money for any kind of business travelers, solo travelers and families. Though it is a bit old but it has its character and taste, worth staying and pop in any cafe or restaurant on the street just outside your hotel entrance.

Room Tip: Since it is by the street, any room would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahsangje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Jesselton may be a faded beauty, the lift old and the housekeeping shabby, but somehow this place rises above that to be somewhere that is charming.

Being able to step outside on a Saturday and be immediately immersed in the markets is another bonus.

All in all, a nice place to stay at a great price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thatkiwiguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at the Jesselton at either end of our trip to Borneo. Staff at this small hotel were incredibly helpful.

Nice location on Gaya Street, close to Jesselton Point, lots of restaurants nearby, walking distance to the night market and so on.

Rooms a good size, but quite dated and in need of a refurb - fixtures and fittings looking a little worn. But clean and comfortable.

Two negatives:

1) on more than one occasion the shower spewed out brown water on first being turned on. This resolved itself when left to run for a few minutes.

2) Only once ate in the restaurant. Ordered the pancakes with fruit, illustrated on the menu as a big pile of fluffy pancakes served with fresh strawberries on top. When it arrived, it was two underwhelming pancakes with some synthetic, runny strawberry jam on top. Very disappointing, especially as it wasn't particularly cheap. We didn't eat there again.

Aside from that, though, a well-located, clean and safe hotel - good value. Would be a much better hotel if it had a refurb.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AuntieMabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We spent four nights at The Jesselton. We really enjoyed our stay. All the staff very friendly. The room suited our needs. We would class the hotel as "shabby chic", the facilities could do with a little updating, but it was a very pleasant stay. Ideally located to Jesselton Point.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GGAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear GG,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to share with you our refurbishment plan is in the pipeline.

Our dedicated service team is looking forward to be of service to you again!


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

KK's "oldest" hotel, built in 1954, the Jesselton is a comfortable small (30+-room) heritage operation that's been modernised neatly. Good-sized rooms and a great location (beside the start of the Sunday Market and a short block from the Sabah Tourism Office), but it shows its age in some small details (window latches) and housekeeping lapses (remote batteries, light bulbs). For a 3-star property with reasonable rates, it's very good value though. Its leased restaurant outlets are good - a smart Mexican joint and the smarter, long-standing Bella (Mediterranean-style), which servies fair-priced breakfasts. Location is also ideal for sampling the various inexpensive cafes in Gaya Street, and it's a short walk to Jesselton Ferry Pier for the speedboats to the marine park islands/beaches.

Room Tip: 2nd/3rd floors to be up from occasional street noises (exuberant clients of popular Chinese bun cafe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barry f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michelle C, General Manager at The Jesselton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Barry,

Thank you for taking time to share with us your experience at Jesselton Hotel. We are delighted to inform on our upcoming refurbishment plan. Hope to have the chance to share with you on our achievement for being the only heritage hotel in KK which all this while has been well encouraged by the local authority.

Look forward to have the opportunity to accommodate you in our newly refurbished room if is ready during your next visit.


Warmest Regards,
Michelle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon Hotel
Horizon Hotel
#7 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
Hotel Shangri-La Kota Kinabalu
#12 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
0.2 mi away
Hotel Grandis
Hotel Grandis
#11 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jesselton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jesselton Hotel

Address: 69 Gaya Street, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jesselton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Jesselton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu
The Jesselton Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing