We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kota Kinabalu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
KM 5, Inobong-Teriang Road, Kota Kinabalu 89500, Malaysia   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Group rates
Ranked #1 of 70 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Evesham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent 7 nights in the Honeymoon Suite at Sinurambi and instantly felt at home as soon as we arrived. We arrived at lunch time and had lunch organised for our arrival and all I can say is wow!!! Throughout our stay we tried to make an effort to try all the food options off the menu and none of them disappointed. Everything was home-made and tasted out of this world!! We even asked if we could watch some of the cooking being done and have used some of the recipes since returning home!!!

Although Sinurambi is about 25 minutes – 50 minutes (variation due to traffic) from Kota Kinabalu city it is still easily accessible if you want to go out and about and Terry and Rose are more than happy to arrange transfers/taxis for you. We did not feel stuck miles from anything during any point of our stay and spent time staying at Sinurambi for the day and going out sightseeing for the day.

The views were just absolutely breath-taking especially in the evening when it was time for the sunset. They were some of the best sunsets I have ever seen!!! You have to sit on the terrace and watch the sunset, it’s really worth it.

Rose and Terry and all the staff are just absolutely fantastic. So friendly, helpful and make you feel so welcome. We loved having dinner around the table with them each night, chatting and having a little glass of wine or two!

If you are looking for somewhere friendly and peaceful with views and sunsets to die for, not too far from Kota Kinabalu city then you have to stay at Sinurambi!! It is an amazing unique experience.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon Suite had amazing views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrymillsBorneo, Owner at Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear L & N,
Thank you for making time to give us a review. We truly appreciate it.
There have been more amazing sunsets since your visit due to the weather. We get the magical thunderstorms rolling in then followed by a short span of rain and usually ending up with one of a kind sunset. Its our pleasure to welcome you in our home. We hope it was enough to rejuvenate
you from your hectic schedules. Our kitchen staff are experimenting with several new recipes so hopefully when you return to Borneo, we will have perfected them ! If you are coming with more friends, please let us know so we can work out a group deal. Till next time.

Best wishes ,
The MILLs & Sinurambi team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just came back from our trip in Borneo and we spent few days in Sinurambi when we arrived in Kota Kinabalu.
All I can say is that this is the perfect place for those who want to escape from the usual average Hotel. The place is located close to the Croker Range park, 20 mins by car from the city, on top of an hill with a magnificent view on the coast.We stayed on the Honey Moon suite: large, comfortable and with plenty of facilities.
There is a pool located on a terrace with a view on the coast: the sunset from there was just unforgettable.
The owners,Rose and Terry, and their little son David were absolutely lovely, friendly and helpful.We incredibly enjoyed chatting and having dinner with them (the food was delicious!)
This is definitely a place with character, charm and peace surrounded by a stunning nature.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrymillsBorneo, Owner at Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear F & H,
Thank you for making time to review us. It was our pleasure to be your home away from home while in Borneo. We wish you all the best in your future adventures and ventures :) The Mills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited The Sinurambi in Dec2013. Had a pleasant experience, leaving us wanting more. I visited the place with my husband to get away from the busy city life. Kota Kinabalu is beautiful. The owners of Sinurambi are really warm and so are their friends who were there and helped to make our trip such a memorable one. Food was good. It was very private as there were few guests. Anw we were happy to make frens with the other guests present. Dipping in the pool and just enjoying the view made us happy. Watched sunrise from our room! We took the honeymoon suite and it is highly recommended. You just have to wake up, watch the sunrise from your balcony and then hop back into bed to sleep, without having to change out etc. What convenience! Love the endearing dogs and cat at the place. Sinurambi is lovely and homely. Visiting the town wasnt much of an excitement for us though, it was hot and crowded.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite is fantastic to watch the sunrise from!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrymillsBorneo, Owner at Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hi G & H,
Thank you. We are blessed with many good friends. We hope our B&B guests become friends too :) If you wish to get out of hectic city schedule, you know where to find us. Happy New Year to both of you! The Mills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Perfect getaway holiday home from the bustling city life if you love nature and need a nest to relax and rejuvenate. It was the best 2 nights spent at Sinurambi from 3-5 Dec 2013 with great companion from Terry, Q and David. (Rose wasn't around as she was away for her Singapore business trip). Great moments shared over dinner, chill out time in the evening, banana leaves lunch and the kadazan's market trip. Thank you for your generosity to share your beautiful home and the hospitality to make us feel at home.

The Room:
We stayed at the Otter House and the Honeymoon Suite. Both suites were stunning, overlooking the South China Sea and the beautiful mountain of Borneo. Both come with a well-equipped kitchen thus you may bring along some fresh cooking ingredients if you would like to practice your cooking skills throughout your stay. The house is kinda far from the nearest town (approximately 20 mins driving), thus remember to stock up your cooking ingredients upon check in.

The Location:
The Crocker's Range National Park's entrance is just less than 5 mins walk from the House. Please bring along a good hiking (or sport shoes) and a hiking pole and you are ready to challenge the almost 70 degree steep road to reach the Pondok Nampasan. Trust me, your hard work will be rewarded with the magnificent view of KK city, South China sea and the surrounding mountains.

The House:
The swimming pool and the pool table game are the best time killer for groups. Personally I love to tuck myself in the lazy couch by the pool under the cherry trees to kill the time with books and books...Sinurambi has a great variety of books and magazines. Or you may just want to spend your time watching TV at the cozy living hall (The rooms do not come with TV). How about some dart games and jumping on the trampoline, it's your choice.

We will definitely go back to the House again the next time when we need to rest and recharge. Thank you Terry and Rose for sharing your stunning house which we prefer to call "our home".

Room Tip: Otter House and the Honeymoon suite offer more privacy and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrymillsBorneo, Owner at Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you Eric. We are glad you had a relaxing time at Sinurambi. We hope everyone who comes to stay will make themselves at home as we are such as small establishment. The kitchenette in the studio rooms are for those who prefer to cater their own meals. See you again in the near future! R Mills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was just beyond our expectations.Paradise on earth on top of the hill!Outstanding panoramic view! The room was large with windows all around and an impeccable kitchenette, which you will never use after having dinner with the hosts since the dinner is succulent !
You can tell that Sinurambi, was a project of love and Terry and Rose are very generous people. So, give yourself a favor, do not spend anymore time looking for other places to stay in Kota Kinabalu.This is it!
Without mentioning that Terry has lovely stories to tell and is able to recommend and help you with any visit you would like to do.You can even just go outside the house and hike up the hill!!
We were even accompanied by their dog that naturally followed us to make sure we would not get lost! We can't wait to go back!It was the highlight of our trip!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrymillsBorneo, Owner at Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words, glad you enjoyed the house as much as we do.
It was quite entertaining to see you both prowling around the garden with that telephoto lens.
The bird watching guide came highly recommended and we will recommend him to other bird watchers in the future. Hope you had a safe trip home. The MIlls & team (including the dogs).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Sinurambi is a great b and b where travellers can go to relax and seek solace.

We were there to climb mount kinabalu so we needed a place to rest before and recover after. Sinurambi was the perfect place.

Being a humble b and b, tucked away in a remote part of the island, sinurambi provides an excellent place to relax and kick back.

The owners of the house terry and rose were extremely hospitable.

This place is not for those lookibg for 5 star hotel amnities but there sure provide the comforts of home.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichtervelde, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We did the climb mount kinabalu en we looked for a nice place to relax!!!
We found this B&B on tripadvisor and it's indeed magnificent!
A beautiful location with a priceless view...
We did sleep in the honeymoon studio and it's so beautiful and such a view, just perfect.
We eat there every evening because the food was so delicious. The best crab ever!!
We loved the company from Terry, he drove us to where we wanted to go, always told us a spectacular story and was so nice to us!!
Unfortunately we didn't see Rose a lot because she was very sick and had to stay in bed.
What we heard of her it must be a lovely lady!!
We saw the most beautiful sunrise and sunset.
This is the best place you can stay in!!
Lovely setting, lovely food, lovely people...
We didn't want to leave and we definitely wanna come back!!
Best regards
Mathias and Ilse from Belguim

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerrymillsBorneo, Owner at Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Mathias and Ilse,

Thank you for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you here too.
I am glad to report that Rose is fighting fit again ("back in the boxing ring" she describes it).
She is indeed a very special lady and has kept this house glowing for eleven wonderful years.
Hope to see you back at Sinurambi one day,
Fond regards, Terry.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast

Address: KM 5, Inobong-Teriang Road, Kota Kinabalu 89500, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SINURAMBI Bed and Breakfast is a unique city gateaway. It has two studio cottages, two studio rooms and two luxury en-suite rooms all with stunning views and breathtaking sunsets. The Crocker Range National Park gate is 800 meter away. Your home away from home has spacious balconies, a poolside deck and kids outdoor play area. Its 30 minutes from the airport, city center, Sutera Harbour Marina, Jesselton Point Jetty (access to the marine park), Cultural Villages, Spas, Golf Courses, Railway Station, State Museum, Likas Wetland, markets and many local attractions. What to do while staying here? Go for a walk, plunge in the pool, eat , unwind by the pool while watching the birds and clouds go by :) We accept Mastercard and visa upon check out. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sinurambi Bed And Breakfast Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sinurambi Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.