We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room was great, restaurant was not” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceania Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Oceania Hotel to your Saves list
Oceania Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lot 60-64, Jalan Ikan Juara 5, Sadong Jaya, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Room was great, restaurant was not”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed at the Oceania hotel in December 2013 for a couple of days. Overall, our experience was good. Staff were friendly and polite. Rooms were clean and well-maintained and certainly roomy enough. Wifi was spotty and slow. The bed was hard as a rock and uncomfortable. A/C worked just fine.

The restaurant, Catch 22, was the worst part about the stay. Only a few things on their menu were actually available - most weren't. Very little seasoning was used - most dishes lacked even salt. One dish we had two days in a row. The first day it was 1/3 the amount of food as on the second day, which had many other ingredients added. And we were charged the same price both days. I understand that restaurants run out of things, but this was far beyond that. It was as if they kept only a few things in stock and if they ran out, oh well who cares. It was also overpriced for what we got. But we ate there anyway for convenience sake. If you can, eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    53
    20
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
37
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This hotel is quite new so you will not find a nicer looking hotel for 50 USD per night in KK. The rooms are small but they are really clean and have a good layout and great 'underwater' art : ) the shower is a rain shower and the tiles are a gorgeous aqua colour. The water pressure is good, everything was in working order. My room was cleaned everyday. the service was good and friendly as well. the Staff speak english well ( which is not the case everywhere in Borneo ) and they are really helpful. If you are traveling on a budget then look no further.

In terms of food and restaurants, it is limited around here but the hotel provides a free shuttle into the city so its still convenient to stay here and its worth if for the price and friendly service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Kota is a backpackers paradise so good, clean hotels at low prices were not easy to find. The Oceania was great in all these areas. Being relatively new it had clean well appointed rooms with decent size. The staff was also very helpful and attentive in booking us excursions, hiring a car for us while we were in and around Sabah as well as bringing us anything we needed to our rooms like a hairdryer and additional water. Location is pretty good as well it is a 10 minute to the waterfront where you can find a plethora of restaurants and about 15 minutes to CenterPointe mall. If you are not on a backpackers budget and are looking for a moderately priced clean place to stay this is a good choice.

Room Tip: Upgrade to one of the superior rooms for a bit more space and a bigger bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

New hotel, well fitted out, large rooms, comfortable furnishings.

Kept very clean. Staff fairly helpful, some more friendly than others.

Pretty good breakfast selection, worth paying a tiny bit more to get it included in rate.

Location not great, can't walk to anything and need to take taxis, which are particularly expensive in KK. The room we were in had no view - looked straight into neighbouring building.

Rooms don't seem to be very well insulated for noise and we heard our neighbours' tv quite a bit - though it did seem incredibly loud.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a new hotel with clean, comfortable and individually styled rooms. The rooms we had were bright and airy with good ocean themed decor. The best thing about the hotel, however, are the really helpful and efficient staff, especially Miss Betty. Betty helped us plan trips, arrange transport and get good deals on the places we visited. She also helped me retrieve my phone charger from another hotel, and the hotel driver popped me over there to pick it up! The hotel is a few minutes drive from the centre of town, but it's easy to book on the hotel shuttle bus to get dropped off and picked up. It's the little things that give them the edge, like posting our postcards for us on the day we left when we couldn't find a postbox. A big thank you to Oceania Hotel - a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A relatively good city hotel if you are not looking for one with complete amenities.

The rooms are clean with wifi access, bathrooms are properly equipped, clean and brightly lit.

The only thing that this hotel didn't have was the usual room service, but they work with their hotel restaurant where they send up the staff to take order from you from their menu and deliver the order to you. No local food - only seafood but I like the Japanese Fish Burger with Seaweed that I ordered!

The hotel also provides free shuttle service to and from the nearby two big shopping malls in the heart of the city.

Overall - money worth spent!

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent 1 night here, before going to Sandakan. The room is really large and the price is fair. Also really clean which was nice. Very noisy rooms though, you can hear your neighbours extremely well.
It's a descent hotel and good for a short stay, but I wouldn't stay here for much longer. It misses a bit of personality, the hotel feels a bit 'stale' and it's a bit out of downtown. But for us it was just fine for the night!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceania Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceania Hotel

Address: Lot 60-64, Jalan Ikan Juara 5, Sadong Jaya, Sabah, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceania Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oceania Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceania Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceania Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.