We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible hotel, but great view” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seri Kinabalu Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seri Kinabalu Resort to your Saves list
Seri Kinabalu Resort
KM 9.5 Ranau _ Kundasang Highway | Ranau, Kota Kinabalu 89309, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 64 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible hotel, but great view”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

They call it a resort... but it is about as far from it as you can get. No towel, no chair, no nothing. Fake hotdogs and cold beans for the 30 MYR breakfast. That said, the view is astounding. Get up early in the morning and see Kinabalu come out of the fog.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    0
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
Couples
0
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel is pretty run down. The hotel seems to be in a bad shape. The room was not cleaned properly by the housekeeping. When we arrive, there was no towel provided until we ask for it at the reception. The room have no tv. The blanket have sticky stains on it.I guess they didn't change the covers. Under the pillow, there is still hair , finger nails and specks of dirt on the bed sheet. If you cant find any hotel rooms available, this is the last place to be to get few hours of shut eye.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Stay here with friend and we have a very good time here.
Room is good and i dont have any problem falling asleep.
Location was perfect for the view of Mt Kinabalu which all of us looking forward to see in the morning. Make sure to wake up early before the cloud cover the view :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawang, Malaysia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The signboard to this resort is a little bit confusing. From the main road you have to walk uphill. The toilets were smelly & hot shower not functioning. To my surprised I'm the only guest on that day! It seems like a ghost resort with only 4 or 5 workers around. The facilities are not well kept..dirty sofas, tv break down etc.. My room includes breakfast but I did not see any food prepared on the next morning. Maybe coz I'm the only guest they did not prepare it. The only plus is in the room got the qiblat direction. As a muslim traveller this is very important, but because the room so small I can only performed prayer on the upper bed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Room was simple - double bed, vanity, tv, wardrobe, ceiling fan and attached bathroom. Bed is comfy and clean. As the climate is cool in Kundasang, you definitely don't need any airconditioning especially on those cold mornings! However as we took 2 rooms, I noticed that both rooms' bathroom doors were a miss - there is actually 1 sliding door that separates room & the bathroom and 1 hinged door that separates the sink area & hot shower/toilet. Our room only had the sliding door and the other room only had the hinged door...erk...but the main thing was, you still have privacy to do your business so that didn't really spoil anything for us. You get a kettle in the room as well (very very very important for making hot drinks often!) together with local coffee & tea. I even had the nerve to ask the reception for a bowl & spoon as I wanted to eat some Maggi Kari we brought along hahaha and yes, they sent it so = happy! :p

Breakfast was great but finished quite fast (I guess because it was cold hence makes you wanna eat more, hahaha!) Simple fried noodles, omelette, bread, jam, kaya, butter, coffee & tea was served at the restaurant. Be warned : you are embracing nature so quite a lot of 'nature' in the form of insects & butterflies flying around hehehe Another plus is they also have BBQ pits for family/friends who wish to enjoy the cool air & each others company. The deck behind the resort is the best spot to just chill out - we had a bottle of liquor to warm us up, definitely neat as it feels like it's on the rocks in that climate :)

The best thing was the view from the deck behind the resort....oh the view of our magnificent Mount Kinabalu...we did not want to leave! The sun is on your face yet you feel the chill of the mountain air...leaves you speechless and in awe of how beautiful life is when you hit the pause button..

All in all, it was a great way to relax with such great scenery around you. Price was justifiable to the room quality - didn't pay much so didn't expect much..

Room Tip: Always remember to latch/lock the windows if you are on the ground floor as it faces the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seri Kinabalu Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seri Kinabalu Resort

Address: KM 9.5 Ranau _ Kundasang Highway | Ranau, Kota Kinabalu 89309, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Seri Kinabalu Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seri Kinabalu Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seri Kinabalu Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.