We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, nice owner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gusto Food & Wine

Gusto Food & Wine
Jalan Tun Fuad Stephens | KK Waterfront, Lot 17, Kota Kinabalu 88400, Malaysia
0168241829
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 344 Restaurants in Kota Kinabalu
Price range: $10 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good pizza, nice owner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

Just arrived in Borneo. Found this little place at the waterfront and were keen for a pizza.

Ordered pellegrino lemonade and pizza's. The gusto was the best but the other was good as well.

Afterwards chris the owner joined us for a chat. Nice chap. Will come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    25
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Order the steak and you will be in heaven!!! The taste was glorious and pizza was great too. Small restaurant on the harbour front, service was ok but hey your on holiday. Great house red wine and reasonable prices. The owners work hard and the result is obviously a couple who love food and take time to present a great meal. We went the second time in a week and they gave husband a great birthday dessert with his name on.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What a great little find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

First night had steak ...was Devine! Chanced it a second night and still great, cannot fault this place on the sea front. They even helped us celebrate husbands birthday too. House red wine was really good but those steaks are worth writing home about ! Good service and great prices...hope to go back again before we go home.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food was great - service was very poor at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a tough one to actually make a recommendation either way. From the milkshake, salad and steak I ordered the food was very good. No issues at all, but the service was truly bad. It seamed to be steady as far as customers, but certainly was not busy, but everything took a VERY LONG TIME to receive. Maybe the wait staff were having an off night, but I couldn't honestly say I would return. For me the service is equally important as the food. I sat at a table overlooking the South China Sea, pretty view, but it was very sad to see the amount of trash that was floating in the water, and certainly not a reflection on this restaurant, but sad too see. They have free wifi, but for what every reason the password I was give written down was not correct as said before service was so bad, couldn't get anyone to come back and address it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife and I ate here three nights in succession during a recent trip to KK. The food was delicious. The staff were really friendly. The chef takes particular care in making sure he understands how you like your meal cooked. The wine list is great and the value for money is tremendous. We'll be back. ..!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Food & Wine also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Gusto Food & Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gusto Food & Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.