We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DM Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added DM Hotel to your Saves list
DM Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Lot No. 27 (DBKK Shop No. 28), Lorong Pokok Kayu Manis, Block C, | Damai Plaza Ph 1, Jalan Damai, Damai, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 72 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Lahad Datu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

stay here for 2 nights @ family room. Overall the i'm quiet happy with my stay at this hotel. The room is clean, room rate is reasonable and most of all i super like the high speed internet...a 5 star for the wifi service ....the down side is only the floor - very slippery.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
4
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

The hotel is located at Damai Point. It is quite far from the city center. It takes 5-10 minutes drives to downtown depends on the traffic. The room is small but cozy. The bathroom is nice provide with a hairdryer. There's a Coffee maker, 2 coffees and 2 bottles of water is complimentary. The LCD TV have a few selection of channel. The bed sheet is clean and comfortable. During our stay there was a heavy rain and the water actually leak into our room despite the window closed tight. The WiFi speed is fast. Overall I still enjoy my stay in this hotel. I definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I'm now still staying here. And gonna stay till Wednesday. My main concern is the cleanliness of the room. The pillow covers and bedsheets for me are look dirty!
And this morning while I was using the hair dryer, it was suddenly off. And the air conditional as well.
But luckily after I called to the reception, immediately they came up and settled for me. The fius was jumped off.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at DM hotel for 4 nights about 2 weeks ago.

The hotel is quite basic but still offers a good, comfortable stay. Rooms have flat screen TV and high speed internet, which is good for a lazy night in!

Yes, the hotel is a little bit far from KK city centre, but then the budget cost will make you afford the 15 ringgit taxi fare to the city centre!!

It'a also close to a couple of very good bakeries, a small supermarket and quite a few budget kedai kopi (budget restaurant/café).

If I was to go back to KK maybe I would choose somewhere a bit closer to the city centre, but then we were convinced by the good value for money, as the hotels lives up to the rating given by booking websites!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Decided to return to DM hotel as my previous stay in this hotel was a good one. Chose the same room category and to my surprise, the bathroom was bigger than the previous one I stayed. Anyways, not much complaint as I only demanded a good night stay as the room rate was reasonable and hotel room was comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kgu
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

slow room service, me n my hubby hv 2 wait for almost 2 hours for the room service(5.30pm-8.00pm); getting new clean towels, soaps, syampoo and changing the bed sheet on the 2nd night. The receptionist was also unfriendly(no smile). hopefully ur staf will serve better in future time. fortunately, the staff in-charged that night (8.00pm) changing the bed sheet was a good boy, credit to him. tq..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MY
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

DM Hotel is a budget hotel located in Damai, Kota Kinabalu. Have decided to stay in this hotel due to the room rate is very affordable!

Overall, the room was clean but take note that the entire floor in the room, even bathroom is extremely slippery although the floor is not wet at all!

Room is equipped with flat screen TV, and basic amenities are provided ie toothbrush, bath gel, shampoo, coffee packs, mineral water etc. The only disadvantage is the bathroom - it is very small and very hard to move around - not sure about other room type as the one I stayed was the cheapest standard room with no window.

Hotel is recommendable if only you rent a car to drive around as the hotel is not located in city centre. Anyways, there is a supermarket nearby, as well as many F&B outlets even Pizza Hut, Coffee Bean etc.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
5.9 mi away
Tune Hotel - 1Borneo, Kota Kinabalu
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#4 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Oceania Hotel
Oceania Hotel
#14 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
4.0 of 5 stars 114 reviews
1.8 mi away
New Sabah Hotel
New Sabah Hotel
#49 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 11 reviews
1.8 mi away
Imperial Boutec Hotel
Imperial Boutec Hotel
#59 of 97 in Kota Kinabalu
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DM Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DM Hotel

Address: Lot No. 27 (DBKK Shop No. 28), Lorong Pokok Kayu Manis, Block C, | Damai Plaza Ph 1, Jalan Damai, Damai, Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — DM Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your DM Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
DM Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DM Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.