We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but Disappointed on Durian onboard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victoria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victoria to your Saves list
Hotel Victoria
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   17, Jalan Sentosa, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 70 Kota Kinabalu B&B and Inns
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent but Disappointed on Durian onboard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Cheap and comfy ,
everything new
and everything is comfy, bed, towel, locker, bathroom and cooking area freely to cook!
but...WIFI : is working on and off in dormitory room.receiving poor connection. No television to watch ! Staff are great and servie are door to door service. Someone bring durian inside the reception caused everywhere smells so strong. In Fact it is known all air conditioning area in hotel or hostels knows that no durian allowed inside ! every guest have to go outside to stay from the odour!, Not every customer can accept this . i have sensitive nose i cant smell sharp odour. It is caused me dizzy, and vomiting and i have to go clinic for that!its not worth what i paid in clinic and i can spend another night with that money in other comfortable hostel. this is worst experience.I hope the staff should be more aware and strict of during working hours to make sure the comfortable for the guest is very important!

Room Tip: 103 poor connection wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
4
21
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I travelled with my mom to Kota Kinabalu for 4 days and we stayed at this hotel. I booked it thru online for a very cheap price. We arrived at the hotel and was warmly welcomed by the reception. The hotel is small but definitely clean. The staff are very accommodating and helpful. Even the management was helpful and gave advice on how to get around the city.
So if you are looking for a very affordable, but nice and comfortable place to stay, this one is recommended.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I traveled to KK with my cousin this June and our stay at Hotel Victoria was a very pleasant one. The hotel is very close to just about everything you need. Their staff, most of which are Filipinos, are very courteous and helpful to all guests.

Another good thing to know is that it is quite obvious that their hotel manager, Wenyi, is very well traveled around Kota Kinabalu. She knows a lot about the city, the routes, fees, and places to eat. You can ask any of the staff information about the city and they will have the answer for you. The hotel's lobby even has a mini library with travel books I enjoyed to read.

Their internet and wifi is fast and reliable, although wifi on our floor conked out or was under maintenance on our last night but that was tolerable.

Overall, it was a GREAT stay. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends and relatives.

I'd like to personally thank Wenyi and the rest of the staff. More power to Hotel Victoria.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Clean and comfortable room at a good price. The staff were friendly and accommodating. Best regards to Linda, Che, Darling, and Jonathan. They helped in booking tours and providing directions. The charming manager, Wenyi, is eager to assist in your travel and hostel concerns. She immediately contacted us after making an online booking. They offer free toasts and fruits for breakfast and unlimited coffee.

Strategically located in the heart of the city, the place is just a few steps away from bus terminals, food stalls, and convenience stores. Awesome! We definitely had a great time!

This place is very highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose the room on the lower floor, we stayed at 106, it will save you the walk upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

A nice place if you're planning to stay just a night or two. Affordable price. Scary dark alley view below (kinda like level 1 dark alley I assumed) Bring clothes, not stones cause there's no lift. Yeah there's no lift, so what? Better climb those stairs son. (≧▽≦)

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The rooms are clean and overall the price is very good. The staff is very friendly and helped us with booking tours. With the new owners, this hotel is highly recommendable! The location is very central to explore Sabah further.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My stay at Hotel Victoria was pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable as it was recently upgraded. The hotel also provides breakfast which was very convenient. The manager of the hotel was very helpful. Overall I have no complaints.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victoria

Address: 17, Jalan Sentosa, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Victoria 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for a clean, comfortable, and safe accommodation at incredibly affordable prices? Look no further! Victoria House is what you are looking for, situated in the centre of Kota Kinabalu. We cater for small family groups as well as groups up to 30 pax. Hope to see you here at Victoria House! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Victoria Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.