We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big Resort. Flooding Toilets. Sandfly Attacks.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai to your Saves list
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Off Jalan Sepanger Bay, Locked Bag 100, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Big Resort. Flooding Toilets. Sandfly Attacks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Rooms looked really good at 1st impression, but maybe it was because we purchased it via AGODA or something... the toilets started making a puddling wet mess after the 1st day. We occupied 2 rooms and BOTH had major electrical socket problems (many werent working) and BOTH toilets had "flooding" issues.

The resort itself was relatively nice. Big walking space for after-meal strolls. The beach was nice and wide enough for u to find ur own lil corner to chill. The only (and possibly the biggest) upset for me were the sand flies on the beach. I dont know if it was my succulently sweet chinese blood or the fact that i just ticked them off with my overly peaceful presence, but they were biting me EVERYWHERE i went. By the end of my trip here i was left with bad itchy bites all over my body. BRING AN INSECT REPELLENT if u wish to spend a large chunk of your day at the beach here.

Oh. Strolling next to the HUGE monitor lizards that roam the resort grounds freely was a fairly fascinating experience. I felt as brave as the late Steve Irwin every time one strolled pass me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    292
    174
    97
    99
See reviews for
263
321
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Spending a night in their luxury POOL VILLA, obviously disappointing.
checked in and out counter as slow as turtle.Room? clean though, but not exactly as in the pictures shown in their superb advertisement. e.g., no microwave,given kitchen but no cooking allowed,only 1 room with d toilet bathtub(they shown 2 in the picture),where it takes an hour to fill the tub water.The shower head was damaged with no repair, water pressure so less as if u need an hour to get showered clean.
Aircon in both room and the living room aren't cold since the whether is so hot!
Living room r no special to other 5-star resort,no wifi,and the indoor pool was dirty!
kitchen will be flooded when u use the kitchen sink!definitely they din't maintain the resort well.
Lazy chair outside the room with no cushions,n the lamps are all broken.
Theres a watchtower built high,near to our units where u can take pictures on sunset or sunrise. Im happily climbing up for my sunrise snap, only seeing 2 guards sleeping near the stairs blocking the way.cant't even take any snaps.....sigh...
we get to swim later in their outdoor pool near the villa with NO TOWEL by reasoning- they still in washing process! 9am and still no towel? kidding me!!
Breakfast in' Lanai restaurant' was like school canteen quality,sucks with alot of flies!
honestly,with this kind of quality,they dont deserve the charging of RM1000++ which is a luxury price in Sabah resort.I prefer Shangri-la Tanjung Aru and Rasaria resort. Atleast the recomended resorts are doing a way better job than Karambunai. Especially pool villa esort in karambunai, they seriously need to consider their services to keep up with competitors.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Everything is as expected of a 5 star establishment. Didn't try their spa service though. Room is large and comfy. The only gripe is that the restaurant - at that particular time, did not have a working air conditions. So you can just imagine trying to enjoy a somewhat luxury dinner buffer whilst covered in sweat!

Room Tip: Any would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

nice room , massive bedroom & bathroom , perfect garden view
nice natural environment, privacy, quiet place to be - perfect for honeymoon
it was raining heavily that night i was amazed that hotel gives best effort to manage pick up with limo from room to lobby- treatment was first class ! dining experience in sunset bar & grill was excellent -delightful & tasty menus, price was reasonable for two, excellent services
nice muffin shop for pastries & brasseries,
nice white sandy beach, huge area for a nice walk with your partner ,

however a bit of hard & struggle with receptionist when they checked me in and they deny my rates even i booked it earlier through online,when i used govt id - staff does not know innoprise is not one of govt body!
lastly i was upset with staff for breakfast- we forgot to bring our coupon voucher
they insisted for us to come back with the voucher before seating , oh my! afterall it was a long walk and our room was like a mile away, it was frustrating and it is supposed this 5 stars hotel should be more efficient , or at least they should have called the lobby to verified to be sure!
setting table for breakfast is not ready! just tissues no napkin and no knife for bread
even though the room was perfect but i can tell the room was not ready -they forgot to put bathrobe and when it rains heavily there is a leakage on the wall.

Room Tip: ocean views will be more nice, if its earlier booking the rate should be more or less price for gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My name Dr Tadza, i was in Nexus on 17/5 till 20/5 for my business trip. i stay in room 8502, for the room its very comfort and view really nice scenery. I'm very thankful to Exe. Chef Kader because he very helpful with all the explanation about the food and all the food really tasty. Pastry side also very good which is have a lot of variety to choose and the most important the taste really feeling good. In my opinion nexus received a lot of tourist, so asian food is the best way to serve and promote them about the taste, with a variety of pastry i'm sure nexus in the right way on the food presentation.

sure one day i will come back to NEXUS KARAMBUNAI.

Room Tip: the room very superb and make sure the scenery face top the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed there for a week with my family during Christmas. The view and the beach are spectacular. The children had a great time at the pool and the beach. It is a great hotel if you traveled with young children.

However, the room is on the dated side and the food options are limited. Overall, our family had a wonderful time there and will consider to stay at Nexus for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Takes more than an hour to reached from Kota Kinabalu. Upon reaching there you will immediately feel overwhelmed by the sight and aroma of the open sea. Stayed there a few nights to relax and enjoy what the resort has to offer. Everything seems perfect for a real holiday with the rest of the holiday makers and golfers around us. Well planned and has all the amenities of a resort and has a few spas. Had a memorable stay.

Room Tip: A good resort with all that you need to make your holiday a perfect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Off Jalan Sepanger Bay, Locked Bag 100, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique and unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.