We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded white sand beach with great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai to your Saves list
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Off Jalan Sepanger Bay, Locked Bag 100, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 95 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Secluded white sand beach with great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed there for a week with my family during Christmas. The view and the beach are spectacular. The children had a great time at the pool and the beach. It is a great hotel if you traveled with young children.

However, the room is on the dated side and the food options are limited. Overall, our family had a wonderful time there and will consider to stay at Nexus for our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    280
    165
    97
    96
See reviews for
250
311
25
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuching, Malaysia
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Takes more than an hour to reached from Kota Kinabalu. Upon reaching there you will immediately feel overwhelmed by the sight and aroma of the open sea. Stayed there a few nights to relax and enjoy what the resort has to offer. Everything seems perfect for a real holiday with the rest of the holiday makers and golfers around us. Well planned and has all the amenities of a resort and has a few spas. Had a memorable stay.

Room Tip: A good resort with all that you need to make your holiday a perfect one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Hotel Marigold - if you have seen the movie, then this is the best way to describe this place.
Clearly in its day, this was a fantastic hotel. 9or so restaurants, kids club, pools, beach views, bars, golf club. It sounds amazing, but unfortunately you will be bitterly disappointed.
The staff try hard, but when you just get the feeling that no money has been spent on upkeep, you feel for the staff as the look to keep a smile on their face when they advise you at the lobby bar that they have no vodka, tonic, or Heineken. Even thou we booked non smoking, the first room we were provided wreaked of smoke, we moved and the next room was better.
The whole place is like dodgy brothers have worked the maintenance. Clearly everything on the cheap. To make sure it wasn't just our area I did a full walk around. Lights dangling out, grime all over the floors, gardens overgrown. Inside the rooms, the lights had a bush growing out of it,Mosquitos squashed into the roof, tv fuzzy and the bathroom had a number of water leak problems through the wall causing damage which had just been painted over. The room gave zero information on the resort, phone numbers etc. they only had a single piece of paper of their deals for the day.
If this resort was near the city, you would say stay, as you could get out. But being 40 mins out of town, you are stranded, and have to figure out what they have. Of info, there are free shuttle buses - not that this is advertised anywhere.
To top it off, we went to the shop to buy some beers for the room, the shop had no air con. Chatting to the ladies, it seemed apparent this has been the case for some time. Also, walk across to the main restaurant and again, air con broken. People sit in the smoking area as this is the coolest spot. Crazy they actually serve lunch in here. The breakfast has an ok selection, but the heat, and flies just put you off eating here.
This is just such a frustrating resort, because you know how good it could be, but falls miserably short of even meeting a 3 star.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have stayed here before and the experience was only so-so, but this recent stay has changed my mind. The pool villa had a great view of the secluded beach, service was polite and helpful, and the food selection has seen the greatest improvement. There is now a dedicated restaurant, Lanai, next to the villas and suites, with a nice selection of Western, Indian and Thai dishes. Staff were invariably polite and very helpful, to the point of being overly respectful sometimes. You feel they really care about making your stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Have stayed here before but the standards have dropped. The grounds and golf course are in poor condition. The food at breakfast was a very poor standard. The whole hotel seems so rundown in fact while we were there they closed a restaurant because they had no chef.The sand flies were a major problem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I think this my first negative review ever. We spent 2 nights at the Nexus Suites and had to change rooms 3 times. The first room we were given presented partially cleaned with dirty towels still lying around from the previous guests, half drunk water bottles and used soaps in the sink. The second room featured a falling out shower glass door. Room number three only had one forgotten towel from the previous guest. Overall you got the feel that maintenance and cleaning isn't taken very seriously as things are are falling apart everywhere. However, I must commend the service and staff who were professional and very friendly. Food was ok. Occupancy appeared to be low.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent 3 days here and as far as i'm concerned it was paradise! We had booked a Borneo garden room and as many people before us, we asked if we could have a free upgrade to an ocean view room. Well, no problem there, we got one and it was so lovely - an uninterrupted view of the sea through palm trees. The room was very clean and large, the facilities were good, i.e. big strong shower, very comfortable bed, kettle, ice bucket, coffee etc etc.
The staff were so very friendly and helpful and the pool was perfect. There are happy hours at the bars and restaurants so prices weren't an issue although we did hire a car at the airport to explore and eat out.
All in all a wonderful break and we'd go back like a shot if we were in this part of the world again

Room Tip: Any with oceanview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai

Address: Off Jalan Sepanger Bay, Locked Bag 100, Kota Kinabalu 88993, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#8 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nexus Resort Karambunai is set within 3,335 acres of unique and unspoiled beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Resort And Spa Karambunai
Nexus Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Nexus Hotel Karambunai
Nexus Resort Sabah
Nexus Resort Karambunai
Nexus Sabah Hotel
Nexus Karambunai Hotel
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.