We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) to your Saves list
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
KIDS STAY PLAY & EAT FREE
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth WA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

This hotel had the lot. Well appointed rooms, super friendly staff and lots of activities. The club room at sunset is a must.

My new wife and i just loved it!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Not one complaint!
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    634
    594
    171
    72
    40
See reviews for
435
545
51
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2007

Fantastic! Magnificent! Excellent!
These are just three of the many words I would use in describing our stay at Magellan Sutera Resort, Kota Kinabalu.
My wife and I were could not have been happier with our choice of honeymoon destination.
The perfect customer service started from when they opened our car door when we arrived, and continued until they closed our car door on departure.
The SeaView room was fantastic, very modern and detailed.
The landscaping around the resort was beautiful, a perfect backdrop when strolling around the tropical resort.
The pools were sensational. All Magellan customers have the use of the Pacific Sutera, and Clubhouse pools, which are a short stroll around the marina. The three pools are well designed to blend in with the resorts, and cater for all ages. The fourth pool is an Olympic-size lap pool. All pools have lifeguards on watch.
The food is excellent. There are a variety of places to eat, and customers can eat at the all and charge back to their room. I recommend dining at Ferdinand’s, it is a little more expensive and there is a dress code, however you will not regret the 1st class service and mouth watering food you will receive. It’s well worth it. The Five Sails is the most popular, and have themed buffets every night. We ate at Five Sails most nights.
We spent a day snorkelling at Mamutik, and Manuken Island which was unbelievable, so much to see. We also had a huge seafood buffet lunch on Manuken Island, which was provided by SeaQuest, the tour operator.
The management and staff of the Sutera Resort, especially the Magellan, were always so friendly and professional. I can't write enough about them. The service really was the difference between a good holiday and the sensational holiday we experienced.
We highly recommend the Magellan Resort. I wouldn't take the risk in staying anywhere else. We have never received such a high level of service. My wife and I are making plans to stay there again in the future.

  • Liked — Excellent Customer Service, Modern Rooms, Fantastic Food, Pools ( refreshing and Relaxing)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2007

Stayed at The Magellan Sutera with our 2 kids (2 and 5). We couldn't really fault the service or friendliness of the staff. All were excellent and our kids received alot of attention. Special mention to the concierge team who couldn't do enough for you.

We had booked garden view rooms however we were given ones with a view of the marina and the sea which was nice. We used an inter-connecting room which had a huge double bed in one room (roll over 4 times and still not fall out) and two singles in the other. The rooms were clean and well appointed, although they were let down by extensively stained carpeting.

Breakfasts were awesome as seems to be the way in Asian hotels. Cooks on duty making omlettes, fried eggs or roti bread to order. Only ate lunch a couple of times - Cafe Boleh in the Pacific Sutera was good. They do an extensive buffet or you can go al acarte. I can recommend the Fried Kway Teow. For dinner, because of the young kids, we pretty well stuck to the hotel. There is a limited but adequate menu at the "Al Fresco" which is great to sit out at and watch the sun setting over the South China Sea. Happy hour is 5pm-8pm (two for the price of one drinks). In the restaurant where you eat breakfast they have a theme night each night of the week. We went to the Asian theme night (RM68 each for adults, kids free). That was a terrific feed with a very diverse range of foods and flavours from sushi to fried duck (sliced to order).

We did eat out one night at the "Little Italy" restaurant in town which was a really nice feed and economical too.

As has been mentioned previously, you have access to the Magellan, Pacific and Marina facilities. The pools were all very good - big free form pools at both the Magellan and Pacific, olympic sized lap pool next to the marina with a separate pool with water slides - this was a big, big hit with the 5 year old.

The kids club at the Magellan was somewhat disappointing. We had been sold on the idea that there was a whole range of activities to do and that a lot of these evolved around Malay cultural activities. Whilst they did post on their boards a whole range of activities, they only appeared to do a few of these and none of which were Malay culturally oriented. In fact a fair amount of time appears to be spent watching TV. I get the feeling that the Kids Club is not heavily utilised by those staying at the Hotel and therefore it can be a bit stale. This said however, for the 4 or so times our kids went into the Kinds Club, they always came back saying they had a good time and wanted to go back. The staff at the kids club were, like the rest of the staff at the Magellan, very nice and fiendly.

Shuttle bus runs basically on the hour into KK and stops at the 4 major shopping complexes. This is free, although a taxi is only RM10 which can be more convenient. The shopping is average and I would suggest that if you are looking to do any serious shopping, then perhaps spend a few nights in Kuala Lumpur in association with your trip to KK. The Sunday morning market has an interesting array of items, sights and sounds and worth a vist.

We went to the Rasa Ria resort to view the orangutangs at the santuary they have there. The concierge at the Magellan can book you in (this needs to be done as Rasa Ria patrons have priority). Apparently a taxi to and from the Rasa Ria costs RM180 however the concierge hooked us up with a private charter driver who had a nice modern vehicle and spoke excellent english. His charge was RM160 and he gave very good commentary and pointed out various landmarks along the way. The drivers name was James Toh (Excursion Transport Services).

We arranged for a boat trip out to Manukan Island for snorkling and a BBQ lunch. Whilst it was a change in scenery, it certainly wasn't what we expected. The shoreline/shallows are a combination of rocks and broken coral - makes it impossible to teach a 5 year old how to snorkel. Combine this with various rubbish/debris floating around and jelly fish stinging you and it doesn't lead to an overall enjoyable experience. The BBQ lunch was nice though (prawns, crabs, satays etc) however at RM312 for the 4 of us, I could give or take the Manukan Island experience.

Weather was generally good with the expected rains coming in at around 3pm and most times stopping by 5pm. We enjoyed our stay at the Magellan and are of the impression that KK is very much in a form of change. There is much development occuring and I would suggest that if we were to return in a few years time, it will be a very much different place.

  • Liked — Balcony with views
  • Disliked — Stained carpets
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2007

We stayed in a Club Room at the Pacific Sutera resort, and it was definitely worth the upgrade from a standard room.

There was a bit of a hassle on check-in -- they try to make you feel special by having you check in on an upper floor, but all it did was make us annoyed at having waited in line downstairs only to be told we'd have to check in upstairs. However, the check-in process went easily, and we were able to get a cable for free internet access (using our laptop) when checking in. We were given a room overlooking the golf course, which was inferior to those overlooking the harbor, but since we'd booked through Expedia we weren't given the option of choosing a harbor view room.

However, it didn't seem to matter because we spent a lot of our time in the Club Lounge across the hall which had an excellent view of the harbor and sunsets, as well as wireless internet and free drinks and snacks at certain times of day.

I was extremely pleased with the pools, as well. I'd read a review saying "Olympic Sized Pool" and I always take that comment with a grain of salt because most people don't know that to be Olympic Sized a pool needs to measure 50 meters long. This pool, however, was even larger than a true Olympic size pool and very empty besides, which was heaven for a lap swimmer (except for the exceptionally warm water temperature). They also had a water slide area which we two adults were able to use kid-free in the late afternoon.

We had the option of taking our breakfast in the main dining area or at the Club Lounge, and we opted for the Club Lounge because it was so quiet and serene, even though the buffet selection was pretty limited. It was still very nice, however, and on the second morning when we went to the dining room I didn't like the breakfast any better there.

The on-site restaurants can tend to get noisy and crowded. We ended up not going out to dinner at all the two nights we stayed. By the time we'd checked out all the restaurants in the resort area we were so hot and tired (still jet-lagged, I'm afraid) that we just gave up trying to find a nice, quiet place and went to bed!

When we decided to hang out by the pool on a lounge chair, we had no problem finding a comfy spot in the shade at the Pacific building (the hotel complex is comprised of 3 buildings: Pacific, Marina and Magellan) and ordering snacks and drinks from the attentive and courteous waitstaff.

  • Liked — Pool area
  • Disliked — check in
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2007

I was one of 1050 who attended a conference at the Magellan Sutera Harbour and stayed for a week in March /April 2007.

In one word it was Magical!!

Breakfast in Alfresco with scenic views to the South China Sea and scattered islands off the coast of Sabah was a perfect way to start the day ..... The choice of food was wonderful and the local cuisine must be tried to truly take in the Sabah experience....

As for the sunset in the evenings....it must not be missed..... absolutely breathtaking.

The staff at the hotel were extremely obliging and friendly. The gentleness, warmth and hospitality was second to none....the service was fantastic and despite the large group I did not find myself caught up waiting to be served at all.... Congratulations to the Food and Beverage team!

As for activities...You can choose to do nothing and enjoy your day lazing around one of the many pools and getting foot massages and drinking cocktails or if you prefer you may choose to go on one of the many tours/activities that can be organised at the hotel....parasailing,jet skiing, a day trip to the islands to snorkel [you won't be disappointed - the variety and number of fish to see was a lot more than I saw when diving at the Great Barrier Reef in Australia] white water rafting....to name a few...

I had a wonderful time....and I am already planning a return trip later this year.

  • Liked — Spacious rooms, spa bath, views
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2007

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel in early April 2007. The overall experience was fantastic and exceeded our expectations. The room was very large and well equipped. A huge bed (6 foot?), a big bathroom with walk in shower and oval bath,. Interestingly the bathroom had an opening shuttered window into the bedroom which was different! Our balcony had a great view over the marina, the islands and South China Sea.

We arrived at the hotel when they were hosting a conference of 900+ people from Australia but we hardily saw them and were not disturbed in any way. Generally the hotel facilities were very good although the only meal we had was breakfast. The city was only 5 minutes away by taxi at a cost of less than £2 so we used the local restaurants.

Took an island trip from the Marina on the complex . We did the Sapi and Manukan Island return with "Island Ferry Co" who have a booth at the Marina cost was only 50RM return (£8) and even included a man/guide who looked after our stuff whilst we snorkelled and walked around the islands. Speedboat out and ferry back.On the face of it the food inclusive trips were not as good value. Cards accepted and can be booked at the hotel Tour desk. Note: Hotel towels specifically for island trips can be collected at the Marina before departure which was very convienent. A great day which was good value and highly recommended. The trek on Manukan was good with a 1.5KM paved walk

The overall experience rivalled many of the hotels we have stayed at througout Asia including Thailand. Close proximity to the city and airport was a bonus.

  • Liked — Graet Room
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, NJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2007

We stayed in late March and enjoyed our visit to KK. The hotel facilities are nice but a bit dated -- carpeting and bathrooms were definitely aged. Several things in our room did not work and required someone to come fix (television, balcony door, etc).

We found service at this hotel to be spotty. The concierge was excellent and the waiters at the pool side eatery were terrific, but many other staff were just not informed, room service seemed to take an eternity to arrive, check in was slow, I sat in a chair in the lobby that smelled like a homeless person, all of which I took to be bad training and awareness by hotel management.

For those who are thinking...well that's just KK...I suggest you stop by the lobby of the Westin or the Shangri La in KK to see the difference.

This hotel has some nice facilities, it is very close to the marina that let's you explore some of the nearby islands and do water sports. The pool was nice and big. There is also a very nice golf course with night golf. Although the beach is not much to speak of -- don't expect a wide expanse of soft white sand -- the hotel grounds are very pretty.

  • Liked — Nice grounds and location
  • Disliked — Lack of attention to detail by staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The Resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The Resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.