We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views and good service with a smile from staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) to your Saves list
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW YEAR'S EVE PROMO
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views and good service with a smile from staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed at the Pacific Sutera for four nights and pleasantly surprised after reading some negatives about some of the resort hotels around KK. Arrived and quickly settled down to a drink in the lounge due to the welcoming and relaxing live music. Really liked the dark wood furniture in the room - with the spectacular views across the water to the islands. With the opening shutters to the bathroom I could sit in the bath, relax, and take it all in; (Especially welcome after climbing Mt Kinabalu - girlfriend got the poolside massage to really look after herself!). Did have an unfortunate billing misunderstanding - this was sorted out politely with respect and consideration. Happy :))

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Gerry K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

Happy to read that you had the opportunity to climb Mount Kinabalu. We hope you had a successful climb to the peak to witness the spectacular sunrise!

We are certainly filled with joy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy our room, facilities, amenities and service at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

On your next trip to Kota Kinabalu, do give a try at any of our 15 dining outlets and the many indoor/outdoor recreational facilities spread out across the resort which includes The Magellan Sutera Resort and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club as all valued guests are given cross-signing privileges to ensure a stay that is both relaxing and enjoyable.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to your home-away-from-home, Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    539
    156
    70
    39
See reviews for
404
511
48
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Second time at the Pacific Sutera, this time for six nights. Outstanding service with special mention to staff at Cafe Boleh. Ramadhan buffet was delicious and great value. Room was spacious and clean everyday to perfection. All amenities were great but there were some loose wires at the pools' lights at night which should be fixed to endures guests safety. Front desk staff attentive and efficient. Would go back when opportunity arises. BTW, location is near airport, and hotel provides a shuttle to town for RM 3. Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear LittleMsMe,

Thank you for posting a glowing '5-star' review for us on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased to hear that you decided to join us once again on your travels to Kota Kinabalu and that we exceeded expectations!

The impact of such view like yours on the passionate associates that work at The Pacific Sutera Hotel, particularly the team at Café Boleh, Front Desk and Housekeeping is colossal: they appreciate your recognition very much.

It truly brings us great joy to have like-minded guests, like yourself, who appreciate and enjoy our room, facilities, amenities and service. Our pool is definitely a great amenity and we are grateful for the feedback you have provided in regards to the loose wires - our maintenance team are looking into it with a matter of urgency.

Having said that, we are eagerly waiting to welcome you once again for the third time to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed at The Pacific Sutera for 2 nights. This is a good option if you wish to be close to the airport as it was around 5-10 mins taxi ride. Our room was located on the first floor and reasonably spacious. The hotel is showing signs of wear and tear and probably in need of refurbishment but is good enough for a short stay. View from the room was not great, we had booked a deluxe room with a golf course view...instead we overlooked the car park. Beds however were comfortable and clean. Staff were also quick to respond to requests. The pool is big although the beach is quite disappointing as there is just a very narrow stretch of sand. The hotel offers a shuttle service for 3 ringgits into town, the traffic was quite bad so it took quite a long time to get there. Waiting for the return shuttle back we waited for close to half an hour past the scheduled pick up time. We noticed some guests had given up and jumped into taxis. Breakfast was nothing special, the standard buffet offering. Get there early as it gets crowded. Overall the hotel was ok for 2 nights but I don't think I would stay for any longer. I believe the sister hotel next door, The Magellan Sutera has a more resort like environment so would probably be a better option for a leisure holiday. The Pacific feels more like it is geared towards business travellers. Overall an average hotel located close to the airport with all the standard facilities but certainly not the luxurious 5 star property it advertises itself as on the website.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear MYM1279,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your short stay experience with us on TripAdvisor. It gave us some great insight on how we can continue to improve our products and offerings.

Glad you enjoyed the spacious room, clean and comfortable bed as well as service by our attentive associates. You are most right about our location which is one of our strongest attribute being a mere 10 minutes from Kota Kinabalu International Airport and to Kota Kinabalu City Centre as well as a 15 minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park - great for island hopping!

On the flip side, we are sorry that you found our breakfast buffet spread to be just a standard affair. However, we would like to clarify that our breakfast spread offers over 100 items with an array of freshly prepared dishes that caters for both western and Asian taste as well as many types of fresh fruits. Additionally, although our private and exclusive beachfront area was not as spacious as you had hoped for, we hope you enjoyed being surrounded by swaying trees and the spectacular panaromic sunset view with your favourite cocktail in hand - which is a must do when in Kota Kinabalu.

We are also disappointed to learn that you may not return to stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel, a 5-star property which was established on international standards for both leisure and business travellers. However, it is heartening to know that our 5-star rated property The Magellan Sutera Resort which is closely located, has sparked some interest in your eyes.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort for a much more positive experience.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We were staying at Magellan Sutera at 22 -24 July for 2 nights. Firstly, we have experienced having bed bug at our room (initially we just thought that was mosquito bites for both myself and my daughter, but then when we went back to home and consult with the doctor, our doctor just confirmed that was bed bug in the hotel room), we had more than 80 bites red spots on our arms and legs after the first night sleeping (actually both my daughter and myself have around 80-100 bites spots).
Secondly, our room's air con was broken on day 2 and we need to relocate ourselves to another, it is good that the 2nd room does not have bedbugs anymore. However, we have experienced 4 times of water outage at night from 8pm till 11pm. On day 3 morning, we have experienced the 5th time of water outage and then we checked-out before 11am. Luckily we have booked another hotel to stay for another 2 more days.
I can't imagine why such so-called 5 stars hotel can have bed bugs and have so many outage. For having such bad experience, for sure we will never return to this hotel.

Room Tip: don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Joey W,

We sincerely apologise for the inconveniences you and your family encountered during your stay with us. It is our goal to provide the best service and amenities during each guest's stay. It is most unfortunate that we fell short on this occasion as this is not our normal standard.

In response to the bed bug issue you have raised, we take situations like this very seriously. We would like to inform that The Magellan Sutera Resort has recently refurbished its rooms' façade and they are equipped with brand new mattresses. Upon receiving this TripAdvisor review, we immediately proceeded with a thorough inspection which was conducted by a recognised pest-control and all rooms were inspected and deemed free from any pests. As a matter of fact, other guests had stayed in the room since and found no concerns.

We are truly sorry that the air conditioning malfunction in your room and we are glad that our team was able to relocate you to another room. However, it was also a water challenge for us on that particular day you are referring to due to a faulty water pump system which affected some of the rooms that were located in the wing you were staying in. Please be assured that had this been mentioned to our Duty Manager the first time, the situation would have been rectified immediately.

Anyhow, we are very proud that our maintenance team who jumped in immediately to assist has gotten our water pump system back on track.

While we understand your overall experience has very much impacted your impression of us, we hope that you will grant us an opportunity to extend the high level of service and Sutera Harbour hospitality experience that we are truly capable of delivering on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here for 4 days and we typically can find various facilities and entertainment to suits us. We played golf, yelling at the karaoke, bowling, swimming, not to mention chilling out at the pool bars and snorkeling. It was great but we ended up sacrificing our time to explore outdoor trips except to see Mt Kinabalu and some suspended bridge.

However, the facilities in this hotel are not free and pricy compares to others.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear 71cat80,

Thank you for sharing your stay experience with us on TripAdvisor.

You are spot on with your title 'Great Place For Family Vacation' as Sutera Harbour Resort is certainly an excellent choice for family travel! In fact, we are the perfect destination for any type of vacation, be it leisure or business as all in-house guests are given cross signing privileges with access to a variety of indoor and outdoor recreational activities as well as 15 F&B outlets spread out across our three properties ie. The Magellan Sutera Resort, The Pacific Sutera Hotel and Sutera Harbour Marina, Golf & Country Club.

Glad you had an enjoyable time and also had the opportunity to try our spectacular array of indoor and outdoor recreational facilities. We hope you enjoyed the sunset with your favourite drink in hand as it is a must-do when in Kota Kinabalu - otherwise, that calls for a return visit!

We would like to clarify that all staying guests are given complimentary access to facilities such as the fitness centre, 3 free form swimming pools as well as the Olympic-sized lap pool. However, we have taken note of your comment in regards to the pricing of some of our facilities and rest assured, it has been shared with our team for further improvement where necessary.

With that, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We had a lovely time at the Pacific Sutera. Seaview room was clean and comfortable with bathroom toiletries replenished plentifully. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was scrumptious and a ina clean setting. The shuttle bus costing Aus $1 is a great help as the hotel is about a 20 minute walking distance to the shopping centers . Would recommend this resort style hotel. Simply relaxing !

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are worth paying the little extra for the stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Cathy F,


Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Pacific Sutera Hotel. Glad you found our City Shuttle Service useful and convenient which is chargeable at a return fee of RM3.00 (Adult), RM1.50 (Children 6-12years) and complimentary for children below 6 years of age. There is also taxi services available at both properties which can be arranged with the Concierge team.

Your compliments for our service and amenities have been shared with the team. Please know that it is a great motivation and a source of pride for all of us to receive this feedback.

Above all, thank you for recommending us to other travellers and we are greatly looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future!

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for five days at the Pacific and the hotel is pretty much the best location to stay near the city. One big provlem is the pricing on their drinks on Breeze beach club that serves the pool area. $8 for a mug of beer and that is a happy hour price. No wonder the cocktail waitress is struggling to get business with the guests. Sutera need to study the market pricing foe the pool area if they want to fill the pool bar with conga dancing guest.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SHR-Management, Deputy Chief Executive Officer at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Jonnhyu,

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

So glad you feel the same way about our location being a mere 10 minutes to Kota Kinabalu City Centre and from Kota Kinabalu International Airport plus a 15-minutes boat ride to the tropical islands of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park - which we hope you had a chance to experience, otherwise that calls for a return visit soon!

In regards to the beverage pricing at Breeze Beach Club, we would like to clarify that Happy Hour rate for a mug of draught beer is priced at MYR12.00nett from 5.00pm to 6.00pm and from 9.00pm to 10.00pm. (Specials and times are subject to change. Please check with the outlet before ordering)

Having said that, we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Gerard Tan
Deputy CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The Resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The Resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.