We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not perfect but worth coming again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) to your Saves list
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW YEAR'S EVE PROMO
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Not perfect but worth coming again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

I stayed at the Pacific Sutera wing for 3 nights. The location is good. Not too far from the airport and the city. The city is around 10 minutes drive from the hotel.

My room though not new was well maintained and clean. It had its own ironing board. The toilet was spacious and had both a tub and a shower. The only that spoiled it was the TV. Reception was bad and I was limited to a few channels only. To be fair, I did not bother asking a for a new TV. Maybe I would get a replacement TV if I had asked.

The sea view is splendid. And the sea is relatively clean and clear as I could see plenty of marine life under the jetty. It had 2 very small beach strips in front of both the Pacific Sutera and the Magellan. Don't expect to do much beach activities here. I saw nets protecting the beach most probably to protect swimmers from jelly fish as I was told. There are booths selling tickets for boat rides and other sea recreational activities. I went to their gym which was small but had decent equipments.

The complimentary breakfast buffet served is average, both in terms of choices and flavor.

The hotel provided an excellent free shuttle service to commute to the city. I found this very convenient and useful and many of the hotel guests used this to get to the city.

The hotel staff I met were helpful and friendly. Some even went out of their way to help us. However beware of your valuables. One of the guest left her handphone at her table in the lounge and it was gone when she came back for it. When she called her own handphone, the person answering it had the guts to say she has called the wrong number!

Finally, I've never encountered a hotel so strict in enforcing the 12 noon checkout time. At 10 min to noon, access to my room was barred and I could not get in using my card key. They should have given some leeway after 12 noon. And I was not alone in finding oneself locked out of their room at 12 noon. There was 3 other guests with me at the reception asking for our rooms to be unlocked.

  • Liked — Shuttle service and room
  • Disliked — Strict check-out time
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    539
    156
    70
    39
See reviews for
404
511
48
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
HK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2008

Our group of 8 people (4 couples) went and stayed at Magellan for 5 nights. First we arrived to 4 rooms with single beds, the floor of one room appears to be unvaccumed, there was a huge spider web clinging to the ceiling of another room, and a seaview room was facing the garden (i.e. 3 out of 4 rooms were no good). We requested for the housekeeping staff to clean the rooms again since we were promised rooms with a king-size bed starting the next day. The housekeeping staff arrived with the longest face and we end up tipping them (~10-15 ringgits for the 2 rooms being clean) for doing their job!

Day two, we packed our bags and went out for a fun day at the islands. Before leaving the hotel, one of us went and spoke to the concierge to confirm the room arrangements. My friend was being treated very rudely by the staff (one told him to keep his voice down while he wasn't loud at all, and another commented that he shouldn't have used the word "You" when referring to the hotel staff ?!?)....we came back around 3:30pm, got the key, went to our rooms, only to discover that 2 of the rooms weren't even made up yet! Again, the housekeeping staff was asked to do their jobs (this time I refused to tip them). I was so furious I asked to speak to the manager, whom never called me back.

All in all, Magellan was a rundown (likely due to the poor maintenance of its housekeeping) hotel ran by unpolite staff, which begs the question, is this the kind of hospitality one would expect from a 5-star vacation destination?

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — The staff and the hotel accommodation
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2008

I stayed at the Magellan Sutera for a work event and had to work directly with the hotel staff in arranging my company's retreat.

The hotel staff were most accommodating and looked into our requests and complaints fast enough. There was a slight glitch in terms of booking two different guests into the same room but other than that (it's understandable as we actually have over 300 pax arriving for this event), the stay was extremely pleasant.

I had a very beautiful room, overlooking the south china sea and above the pool - a little noisy at night but it's bearable.

The breakfast was average but good spread of both local and international food.

There's a bar near the pool area that's great for hanging out too.

  • Liked — It's large!
  • Disliked — Nothing bad.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2008

Apart from a slight hitch with our room booking [not the fault of the hotel but of our travel agent] I can honestly say that our stay at The Pacific Sutera was well worth the money we paid. The staff were always pleasant and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very comfortable and bright with a beautiful sea and pool view although I do think that the TV could do with an upgrade as could the televised content [no Australian content considering the amount of Aussie tourists that go there]. I must give special credit to two staff members who really went out of their way to be helpful. These were Jack [one of the Concierge's] and Jual [the pool manager]. These two guys really know their jobs and have a terrific rapport with the guests.
The restaurants and cafe's at both properties [Pacific and Magellan] are terrific and cater for all tastes. We tried them all. However, they could do with a lesson on how to make a good Pizza. This was the only bad meal we had at the Magellan. The base was way undercooked and the cheese was not Mozzarella [too much and too salty]. But hey, going to Malaysia for Pizza is like going to Italy for roti and curry!
The breakfast spread at the Pacific Sutera is one of the best I have seen! - And I have stayed at many hotels in the last 18 months having just completed a round-the-world trip which included the USA [east and west coast], Canada, Italy and Thailand. The only thing missing was real bacon.
For the golfers - you would be hard pressed finding a nicer course for the money - all 27 holes of it. Some of the holes are spectacular - running along the sea front. It even offers the option of night golf! The clubrooms and club restaurant are in keeping with the rest of the resort - excellent.
The free shuttle service is another added feature of the resort. It leaves every hour from 8am with the last one returning from the city at 9.20pm. Not too many resorts offer this service - especially in an air-conditioned 36 seater tourist coach.
All the bookings we made for various tourist activities went without a hitch - just further evidence of the efficiency of the staff at the Pacific Sutera.
After such a pleasant experience I can say for sure that we will definitely return one day.

  • Liked — Having a balcony and the fabulous views from it.
  • Disliked — The TV and the lack of any Australian TV content or news.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

cool place to chill out. not too far from the main town. hotel has tied up with some taxi drivers whom are ever ready available, rm10/way fixed rate. there's shuttle service every hour to major complexes in the city also. and if you don't mind, its about 15-20mins walk to Center point shopping complex. good walk after gorging the great breakfast buffet!

stayed in the double room with sea view in pacific sutera. really great view, esp during sunset. there's no balcony , unless you take the business club room. pacific building is higher than magellan. quite nice setting of the room. nice bath tub and shower. the furniture and fixtures are kinda old tho... breakfast is really a good deal, buffet style...they've everything from cereals, breads, buns, multi style omelettes, nasi lemak/kerabu (different menu every day), roti canai, goreng pisang, soups, porridge....its just so yummy!!

oh ya, the bar by the pool side...fabulous cocktails they concoct! there's a happy hour promo from 4-6, buy 1 free 1...the pina colada..yum yummy! get some alcohol, sit by the deck facing the sea, read a good book, or just laze...and watch sunset come over u... awesome :)

great place to chill out, but i think its tee wid pricey for the room type...

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Having done my research on trip advisor we picked Sutera Harbour resort because it seemed to have so many different facilities which suited us. As this was our first holiday without our children we wanted to basically relax and enjoy our time together.

My husband and i chose to stay in the Magellan Sutera wing.
our room was great with all requirements of a high standard, king size bed, balcony, supply of bottled water daily etc

There is no beach (only a small man made one) but this had no no difference to our stay, even though we are both beach people.

You have use of the whole resort which is the Magellan Sutera wing, The golf club and The Pacific wing and can charge all the restaurants, bars etc to your room where ever you may be at the time.

We loved the pools in both hotels but i especially loved the pool in The pacific wing which had a swim up bar with Happy Hour "2 for 1" every day 2pm-5pm. If you actually wanted you could follow the Happy hours around and not pay full price for any beer or cocktails. The Magellan Sutera also has an olympic size swimming pool roped off for laps as well.

The daily breakfast selection was amazing, 2 mornings i found myself having delicious curries for breakfast a huge change from the usual weetbix!!!

The hotels run a free almost hourly air-con coach transfer to and from the city (approx 5 mins drive away) which was a great plus although a taxi was only RM10 (AUD3) one way.

We did a snorkel trip out to Manakan Island which departed as do many boats from the Sutera harbour which was another great plus to the hotel.

The staff was so friendly and polite always had a smile and a "hello" which made the holiday so memorable.

All in all i can only rave about this resort, its location in Kota Kinabalu, the staff, the pools, restaurants, the rooms, the view, the atmosphere at night with all the harbour alight and the amazing breakfasts made our holiday fantastic. We are already planning another trip this time taking our children. (hotel would be great for families) . Enjoy!!!

  • Liked — whole resort
  • Disliked — no beach
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2008

Sutera Harbour is actually made up of four components, the Sutera Harbour Marina, the Sutera Harbour Golf Course, the Pacific Sutera Hotel and the Magellan Sutera Hotel.

The Magellan is the more upmarket resort catering for holiday-makers whereas the Pacific is a simpler business-class hotel.
If you stay in one hotel, you are basically allowed to use the facilities of the other.

Recently I stayed at the Pacific Sutera. Its a huge hotel, slightly older looking and less resorty than the Magellan. Ample free-parking available if you have a car. Booking a room was not a problem, just gave a call to the hotel and the room was reserved. Due to it being a peak season, additional charges were incurred, pretty pricy i thought for the Pacific.

Turns out when I checked in, the room was an Executive Room, had its own living room, a powder room and a huge bathroom. Two TV's, a fridge, complete sofa set and separate bedroom. Good view to the golf course, the city and the encircling mountains. Okay....acceptable for the price i suppose!

Lobby was huge, even had Wi-Fi access if you bring your laptop. The grounds were nicely planted, with a small pond with goldfish, a swimming pool and a small man-made beach. Now if you are looking for a beach holiday, you will be disappointed by the beach, but otherwise its a great place to view the nearby islands and the sunset.

Adjacent to the hotel is the Sutera Marina. Quite nice to take a stroll around to the Magellan on the other side. The water is surprisingly clean in the marina, you could actuall see crabs clambering on the rocks, little fish swimming under the pier, and even sea urchins. Also nice to take photos of the various boats anchored at the marina.

The Sutera is located halfway between the airport and the city centre, making it ideal if you have a car to go around. Really nothing major to fault with the Pacific Sutera, it seems to be really popular with Japanese, Korean and local tourists. If there is a grouse, the front desk services could be improved, seemed to be understaffed most of the times, and breakfast was packed with people. Shows you that it is a popular hotel for families, some people may not like the crowds.

Plus points is the good location, not in the hustle and bustle of the city centre, yet close enough by taxi. Lots of things to do within the grounds itself. And at least you are by the sea, unlike in the city centre, and get to see the beautiful KK sunset.

  • Liked — Lots of Grounds to Explore
  • Disliked — The Crowds
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The Resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The Resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.