We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has seen better days...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Save Saved
You added Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Chill Together Package
Ranked #6 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Has seen better days...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We last reviewed this hotel in 2006, although had stayed here in 2008 & 2011 in the mean time. It has gotten a bit older looking and the maintenance is lacking a bit. They were in the process of renovating the Harbour wing, and I do not know how much of a renovation they are doing but it appeared to be just inside the rooms.

There is a morning buffet breakfast. When I first started coming to this hotel, the breakfast was excellent. Much more local flavor which is what I am after when I go to a country. The last few times there has been much addition of western items & Korean items (doughnuts, kim chi, etc.) Even the roti (local flat bread) was not as authentic as before on occasions (from previously made dough).

We would probably stay here again, however, because it is a great location and it is not overrun by children. Seems to draw golfers and business types.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear nrf,

Thank you for your sharing your review about your recent stay with us at Sutera Harbour Resort.

As you have observed, we are happy to inform you that refurbishment plans for the rooms are in progress which are being carried out in stages. We hope you will be able to experience the difference on your next visit.

We apologize for the shortcomings that you had encountered during your morning buffet breakfast. Rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously and looked into by the concerned department. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback which has helped us better understand our guests' satisfactions and disappointments.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    511
    145
    69
    36
See reviews for
378
483
43
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

what we liked

location- you are right next to the sea, 5 minutes from KK and 10 minutes from the airport (but not under the flight path) and overlooking the sunset.

choice of amenities-you are booking the resort, not just your hotel, which is two hotels and a country club on three sides of a marina and can use all the facilities and even charge them to your room. About a dozen restaurants, bars and cafes (one 24 hours), three pools, gym, billiards, kids areas etc. In our 5 day stay we didn't even get round half of it! We found the Magellan a bit characterless but wandered across to the other areas a lot of the time, nice to have the choice. Also dive centres on site if you're into that.

The children's amenities are focused in particular areas which is ideal if you have kids- you can enjoy them together and ideal if you don't as they're not intrusive. Everybody seemed to be having a good time side by side.

liked the rooms, spacious and the Magellan rooms have a balcony. Good insulation- we didn't even need the aircon on overnight once we'd acclimatised.

Our favourite was the beachside area at the Pacific, quite romantic, and the large country club's lounge. We spent a lot of time with a book and a glass of wine watching the comings and goings of the marina.

the other side

KK is an average town, the waterfront restaurants are good with a great view of the sunset and there is an awesome eat-on-the-spot fish market, but the prices were not that much cheaper than the hotel and the place smelt slightly of fish and drains (not the resort)

the shuttle bus to KK is more than full both on the way there and back. we got turned away the first two times then got taxis instead (easily available and about US$5)

the Magellan was very noisy-from 7am onwards we heard every person that went past the room and every door bang (dampers PLEASE!). Not sure when the best time is for drilling work round the poolside but guessing the middle of the day when everyone is lying there isn't it.The matresses were poor for this level of hotel though we liked the bed linen.

Overall we had a great stay and would definitely go back to this pleasant, relaxing resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear jumbobelle,

Thank you for taking the time write us a detailed review about your recent stay with us.

It is heartening to know that you had a great stay and found the Resort pleasant and relaxing. Surely, your review will be most useful to other travelers who are planning a visit.

We would like to apologise for the shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues which are looked into by the concerned departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back home to your residence in Kota Kinabalu at Sutera Harbour Resort.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

After spending a couple of days in K.K. and being stuck in traffic in the heat in the taxi on the way there, walking into the foyer was like stepping into an Oasis..

The Pool was first class, and my partner spent many hours on one of the deckchairs. The Restaurant served fantastic food for Breakfast and Dinner, the Room was comfortable with wooden tones and the staff attentive and friendly. The only downside is that the prices, especially when compared to the city outside of the resort, were expensive. But it is a resort, and this is to be expected.

I wholeheartedly recommend the Magellan Sutera for anyone after a little bit of paradise in the middle of Kota Kinabalu, and if you catch a sunset there with a drink in your hand and someone you love beside you, it's a moment that you won't soon forget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear thatkiwiguy,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort with us.

Your positive comments about our swimming pool being first class, fantastic breakfast and dinner menu by the restaurants, and rooms are certainly heartwarming. Our staff will be most happy to hear of your compliments as they endeavour to provide a personalised service that creates lasting memories for our guests.

We highly agree that one of the most cherished moment to be remembered always is to catch the amazing sunset with a drink in your hand and having someone you love beside you at the same time.

On the same note, we love the pictures you have shared on TripAdvisor on what Sutera Harbour Resort has to offer. Thank you for recommending The Magellan Sutera Resort to other travelers.

We look forward to being your residence of choice again on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Enjoyed our 3 nights stay immensely in this hotel. Lovely sea view. Lovely marina. Lovely sunset. Lots of choices of restaurants...boat rides....island getaways...
So glad we chose this place. Thumbs Up!

Room Tip: Would recommend the sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Vimalahspring,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel with us.

We love it that you enjoyed your 3 nights stay immensely in this Hotel and for giving us the 'thumbs up' as well!

As you have highlighted, the views of the sea, our Marina, and sunset are captivating. These beautiful panoramic views are yours to behold.

On that note, we appreciate the encouragement you have given to us and love the pictures you have shared on TripAdvisor on what Sutera Harbour Resort has to offer.

We look forward to being your residence of choice again on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

beautiful scenic views, Large hotel, serene Golf course comes attached. Some of other hotels in Kotakinabalu are concrete buildings in the heart of the city with boring window views. This one along with the Magellan Sutera is class apart. Pacific is value for money star hotel, I suspect Magellan Sutera is the posh cousin. We were never told of the Magellan & my agent booked our family in Pacific Sutera. Two lovely restaurants, Excellent breakfast Buffet - though spread is favours sea food. There are some options for Vegetarian (The veg Pizza was excellent), Rest of KK has very little to offer a vegetarian (Two of us four were veg). Staff is courteous & friendly. The Gym is well equipped & modern. We are planning a Scuba trip with Sea Quest who have a desk @ Pacific Sutera- they seem sl more expensive but seem professional. I fully recommend Pacific Sutera as a luxury destination with every money well spent.

Room Tip: Choose Sea facing rooms for a little extra- Though the other rooms are Golf course view is equally g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear xstatics,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Being a 384-acre resort,there is a spectacular array of activities from its luxurious five-star resort/hotel, championship golf course, marina and recreational activities. Glad that you enjoyed the beautiful scenic views and also fitness facilities at the Hotel.

It is such a pleasure to know that you had the opportunity to dine at our restaurants. Our culinary team and service staff will be most delighted to hear of your compliments as they endeavour to provide a personalised service that creates lasting memories for our guests.

We look forward to your return and would like to thank you for recommending The Pacific Sutera Hotel to other travelers.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stay here on 7th May for 2 nights, at first when we arrived the overall look of the hotel are quite impressive just a little bit rundown. Check in was fast and the staff were very helpful with our need. However, after checking into our room, the nightmare begins. The room was not clean, bedsheet got stain, bathtub was crack, the shower water were slow and towel provided got smell.
That was not all, the most terrible part was for the beach area. This is my first time in my 34 yrs living that as a hotel guest in order to lay on the beach chair you need to order drinks or food from the bar. No free sitting!!! Totally ridiculous!!! I have been to lot of beach resort and hotels around Malaysia and never once I've been told that as in house guest we need to spend money if we want to relax or sun bathing by the beach. It really spoil my day.
The only thing I can give credit to this hotel will be the swimming pool as it is huge and has a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Higher floors unit will have better view of the sea and island
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear conniema,

Thank you very much for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel as your preferred hotel in Kota Kinabalu.

Glad to hear that you had a smooth check-in upon arrival at the hotel. Your compliments on our service staff, swimming pool and great ocean view are highly appreciated.

We apologize for the shortcomings that you had encountered during your stay with us. Rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously and are looked into by the concerned departments. In regards to the chairs, all of our long-chairs around the swimming pool are available to our hotel guests at no cost. Only the few day-beds that are part of our beach side restaurant have a consumption requirement.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback which has helped us better understand our guests’ satisfactions and disappointments. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Massive resort. Rooms need update. Pool is awesome.
Breakfast has a lot of variety but not the best I have had. Spa is western prices and no air conditioning in the room I was in, only a fan. Still nice though.
Easy access to other islands, if going to close island do not go to largest one. Too much pollution, actually really disgusting. Sapi is supposed to be the better one.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Missjanesworld,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort with us.

As you have observed, the resort is massive. Being a 384-acre resort,there is a spectacular array of activities from its luxurious five-star resort/hotel, championship golf course, marina and recreational activities. Glad that you enjoyed the swimming pool and spa facilities.

We are happy to inform you that refurbishments plans for the rooms are already in progress which are being carried out in stages. It is hope you will be able to experience the difference on your next visit.

However, we sincerely regret for any shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues which are looked into by the concerned departments. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it has helped us further understand our guests' satisfactions and disappointments.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Sutera Harbour Resort.


Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The Resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The Resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.