We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pacific Sutera -Ideal Star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Save Saved
You added Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Chill Together Package
Ranked #6 of 92 hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pacific Sutera -Ideal Star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

beautiful scenic views, Large hotel, serene Golf course comes attached. Some of other hotels in Kotakinabalu are concrete buildings in the heart of the city with boring window views. This one along with the Magellan Sutera is class apart. Pacific is value for money star hotel, I suspect Magellan Sutera is the posh cousin. We were never told of the Magellan & my agent booked our family in Pacific Sutera. Two lovely restaurants, Excellent breakfast Buffet - though spread is favours sea food. There are some options for Vegetarian (The veg Pizza was excellent), Rest of KK has very little to offer a vegetarian (Two of us four were veg). Staff is courteous & friendly. The Gym is well equipped & modern. We are planning a Scuba trip with Sea Quest who have a desk @ Pacific Sutera- they seem sl more expensive but seem professional. I fully recommend Pacific Sutera as a luxury destination with every money well spent.

Room Tip: Choose Sea facing rooms for a little extra- Though the other rooms are Golf course view is equally g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear xstatics,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel.

Being a 384-acre resort,there is a spectacular array of activities from its luxurious five-star resort/hotel, championship golf course, marina and recreational activities. Glad that you enjoyed the beautiful scenic views and also fitness facilities at the Hotel.

It is such a pleasure to know that you had the opportunity to dine at our restaurants. Our culinary team and service staff will be most delighted to hear of your compliments as they endeavour to provide a personalised service that creates lasting memories for our guests.

We look forward to your return and would like to thank you for recommending The Pacific Sutera Hotel to other travelers.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    534
    497
    143
    67
    34
See reviews for
367
473
41
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stay here on 7th May for 2 nights, at first when we arrived the overall look of the hotel are quite impressive just a little bit rundown. Check in was fast and the staff were very helpful with our need. However, after checking into our room, the nightmare begins. The room was not clean, bedsheet got stain, bathtub was crack, the shower water were slow and towel provided got smell.
That was not all, the most terrible part was for the beach area. This is my first time in my 34 yrs living that as a hotel guest in order to lay on the beach chair you need to order drinks or food from the bar. No free sitting!!! Totally ridiculous!!! I have been to lot of beach resort and hotels around Malaysia and never once I've been told that as in house guest we need to spend money if we want to relax or sun bathing by the beach. It really spoil my day.
The only thing I can give credit to this hotel will be the swimming pool as it is huge and has a great view of the ocean.

Room Tip: Higher floors unit will have better view of the sea and island
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear conniema,

Thank you very much for choosing The Pacific Sutera Hotel as your preferred hotel in Kota Kinabalu.

Glad to hear that you had a smooth check-in upon arrival at the hotel. Your compliments on our service staff, swimming pool and great ocean view are highly appreciated.

We apologize for the shortcomings that you had encountered during your stay with us. Rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously and are looked into by the concerned departments. In regards to the chairs, all of our long-chairs around the swimming pool are available to our hotel guests at no cost. Only the few day-beds that are part of our beach side restaurant have a consumption requirement.

As our valued guest, we greatly appreciate your feedback which has helped us better understand our guests’ satisfactions and disappointments. We hope that you will give us an opportunity to serve you better on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Massive resort. Rooms need update. Pool is awesome.
Breakfast has a lot of variety but not the best I have had. Spa is western prices and no air conditioning in the room I was in, only a fan. Still nice though.
Easy access to other islands, if going to close island do not go to largest one. Too much pollution, actually really disgusting. Sapi is supposed to be the better one.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Missjanesworld,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Magellan Sutera Resort with us.

As you have observed, the resort is massive. Being a 384-acre resort,there is a spectacular array of activities from its luxurious five-star resort/hotel, championship golf course, marina and recreational activities. Glad that you enjoyed the swimming pool and spa facilities.

We are happy to inform you that refurbishments plans for the rooms are already in progress which are being carried out in stages. It is hope you will be able to experience the difference on your next visit.

However, we sincerely regret for any shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues which are looked into by the concerned departments. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it has helped us further understand our guests' satisfactions and disappointments.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Sutera Harbour Resort.


Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

New renovations at this hotel are fantastic upgrade to club floor worth the money.Friendly helpful staff good food and beautiful rooms overlooking golf course or ocean view, lovely pool with special areas for children.

Room Tip: Upgrade to club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear tenro,

Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel with us.

Your positive comments about the hotel, rooms, staff, and facilities brings joy to us. Our staff will be most happy to hear of your compliments. We are pleased that our always evolving efforts in producing only the best service for all our guests are recognized.

As you have highlighted, an upgrade to be Pacific Club guest is definitely worth it as guests enjoy personalised check-in, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Pacific Club Lounge - which we are sure you enjoyed during your time with us.

On that note, we look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalgoorlie, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in the Pacific Sutera, the hotel arm, and the rooms are standard hotel size, but very well appointed. The bathrooms had been renovated, all very nice stonework. Staff very friendly, you have access to the whole of resort facilities. Nice pools, some very nice restaurants. Your close into the city so easy to get to anything. Room service did forget to bring me ice once, but other than that very professional.

Room Tip: Go to the resort if you want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear BamBamMantell,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your recent stay at The Pacific Sutera Hotel with us.

Your positive comments about the rooms, facilities, and restaurants certainly made us happy. Our staff will be most delighted to hear of your compliments as they endeavour to consistently deliver a personlised level of service for each and every one of our guests.

As you have highlighted, the location of the Hotel is close to the city. At Sutera Harbour Resort, shuttle services within the resort and to the city are available granting guests easy access to shopping and entertainment.

We sincerely regret for any shortcomings that you had experienced and we have taken note of the issues which are being looked into by the concerned departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sutera Harbour Resort!

Best regards,
SHR-Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We booked one night in The Pacific Sutera and we wished if we had more vacation time so we can extend and stay more. The hotel, room, service, restaurants were excellent. Very professional and relaxing environment with a high quality of food and restaurant with beautiful swimming pool and beach area. We will definitely come back again. Spa and Massage is great.

Room Tip: Book a sea view suite (dont remember the room number). Suites have a huge dining/sitting area with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Adolph80,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review about your 'excellent retreat' with us even though you were on a lightning visit. We share the same sentiment as you and wished you could have stayed longer!

Your compliments about The Pacific Sutera Hotel, guest room, service, and resturants are very heartwarming. Glad that you enjoyed the facilities such as the swimming pool, beach area and the spa.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit very soon!

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dapto, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

8 nights of bliss in a club room with a view of the marina. Large room with king bed window lounges, desk and super bathroom. The resort amenities are excellent, we dined at every restaraunt without disappointment, all exceeded expectations. The complimentary drinks and finger food in the Magellan Club between 5.30pm and 7pm. were brilliant and truly free flowing. The club room staff were very attentive and more than helpful in arranging anything required, a special mention for Colin and Amber as stand out staff with a friendly professional attitude making us feel very welcome. Alfresco became a favourite eatery after enjoying brilliant sunsets
in the club room. The shuttle into town was great though a taxi was very cheap and easily arranged between shuttles. The pool area is also great, does not feel crowded, has friendly lifegaurds and great service from pretty much anywhere in resort for poolside drinking or eating. We had a choice of eating breakfast in the club room or five sails restaraunt. the club is very personalised service with small buffet and several menu choices with meticulous table service definitely 5 star, Five sails is a very extensive buffet with several cooking stations offering a vast variety of foods, I personally prefered the club room for the service, but Five sails offered excellent food and a far greater variety than anything I had seen before, both for breakfast and dinner. The lobby bar offers excellent service, an array of drinks and selection of cigars, with live entertainment each night with comfortable seating room to dance and offered smoking and non-smoking areas and a view of the pool and ocean. The fine dining option of Ferdinands Restaraunt is an option we used it to celebrate our final night at the resort, the atmosphere was quite opulent and the staff endeavoured to make us feel special, the food was good and an excellent variety of wine was offered.
Overall our stay was excellent all of our needs and requests were catered for. The use of the other hotel, country club and Marina Clubhouse facilities were terrific and there is enough to do within the resort or arranged from the resort to allow to stay longer than we did we did not take advantage of all on offer and our days and nights were filled with activity I highly recommend this resort. I did not use the spa and have rated it as good from what I heard others say though most said it was expensive.

Room Tip: Go for the Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHR-Management, Social Media Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Vince H,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay experience at The Magellan Sutera Resort.

Your thorough review is succinct and accurately reflects us as a 'home-away-from-home'. It is important to us that your stay is as memorable as it is a comfortable one. As such, our staff endeavours to consistently deliver a personlised level of service for each and every one of our guests. We are certain that both Colin and Amber will be most delighted to hear of the compliments you have for them.

In addition, it is certainly a great choice to be a Magellan Club guest. This is because guests enjoy personalised check-in, prime sea-view suites and exclusive dining for breakfast and cocktails at the Magellan Club Lounge - which we are sure you enjoyed during your time with us.

As you have highlighted, there is enough to do within the resort. Being a 384-acre resort, there is a spectacular array of activities from its luxurious five-star resort, championship golf course, marina, recreational activities, spa and 16 F&B outlets.

We are glad that you had the opportunity to dine at our restaurants. Our culinary team and service team will be very happy to hear of your compliments. It is also a pleasure to know that you found the shuttle service into town very convenient. We are pleased that our always evolving efforts in producing only the best service for all our guests are recognized.

We look forward to your return and would like to thank you for recommending The Magellan Sutera Resort to other travelers.

Best regards,
SHR-Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The Resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The Resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.