We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but you get what you pay for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) to your Saves list
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
NEW YEAR'S EVE PROMO
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Perth, Western Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Expensive, but you get what you pay for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a family suite at the Pacific for 5 nights and had a great time. Highly recommended.

The room was fantastic, service was faultless, breakfasts were amazing and the pool area was lovely.

We also used the golf course and the watersports centre and both were efficient and well managed and we enjoyed both experiences.

We weren't overly impressed with KK on the whole (compared to KL and Langkawi, the other legs of our trip) but the Sutera Harbour Resort is outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    541
    156
    70
    39
See reviews for
405
512
48
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wimborne
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After a tiring trip around Malaysia we wanted 5 days of real R&R...and this was it. The arrival and reception are impressive; whisked away from the desk and seated in an area with a magnificent view and a cold drink whilst they sort the paperwork. That is the way to greet a guest. We were delighted with the room, which was spacious and had a balcony with a view over the harbour, somewhere quiet to sit
Later I sat in the bar with a cold beer and a superb view waiting for my wife. I finished the beer and wondered about another, and before I could move a fresh one was delivered by a pretty girl...this must be paradise!
Breakfast was delightful with a wide variety on offer, tried two restaurants and the food was excellent. The pool area has busy and quiet places to relax, and there is a spa for a massage. All in all a place I would be happy to come back to, the staff are terrific, the service very good, and the surroundings very relaxing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We have just returned from our 6 night stay at The Magellan and would highly recommend this facility for: Staff friendliness, location, food choices, rooms with a view. We (3 adults) were given a suite on the 5th floor which comprised of a separate lounge/dining, a master bedroom (king bed) with large ensuite, second bedroom with two single beds, extra 'powder room' & toilet, two baconies, two tv's and views to the Marina. For location this would have to be one of the best with a quick access via shuttle bus or A$4 taxi into town (5-7 minutes). 10 MIntues to airport. Watersport facilities at the door,... boat/snorkeling trips to surrounding islands from Marina. Use of all facilities at the Country/Golf Club plus the Pacific Hotel. Many restaurants to choose from within the complex all offering good value for money meals, (even room service). We had no little children, but could see many young families enjoying the services/areas for toddlers etc., Wifi was generall not available in rooms, but we occasionally picked it up. (there was cable in the room for laptops which worked well). Could not fault the staff, from the cleaners to front desk, all very pleasant and friendly...nothing was too much trouble. Thank you to "Larry" at breakfast for his cheerful and attentive manner. We did view other hotels whilst travelling around and concluded The Magellan was an excellent choice.. for us. Will recommend to friends, so hope it doesn't let us down!

Room Tip: High up rooms with views to either ocean and/or marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at the Magellan Sutera from the 21st to 28th December 2012. We booked a Magellan Club room and it was well worth the extra expense, great breakfasts, both Western and Asian. Staff were all very friendly and most professional always available to recommend things to do and places to go.
In the evening you can have canapés and drinks (included in the price) before heading out for dinner, again plenty of choice between the Magellan, Marina and Pacific Sutera hotels. We really enjoyed our week and will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Get a Club room or suite lots of space and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed at the Pacific Sutera, for context. Sea view room.

Good points: location is wonderful - the view of the sea really makes my day, every day. the grounds are lovely, and what can top the marina? i mean of course the fact that the edges of the piers are lined with coral, with an abundance of fish life, despite the boats - more than can be spied snorkelling at manukan island, unless you go to proper guided snorkel/dive spots. my husband was lucky enough one morning to see two octopuses flit out, quarrel with each other a bit, and then go under a different rock. a lone barracuda scared a few schools of juvenile fish. crabs, sometimes small mudskippers. Wide range of amenities, really handy to stay where the marina is, large grounds, fine dining. I go easy on the value question by considering the existence of these amenities and the number of restaurants that need to be kept staffed, and the fact that for resorts located near nature spots, it's hard to assign a proportion of the prices (certainly not cheap) to the location itself when the location is priceless. the hotel room itself was pretty good, but nothing remarkable - i consider the value to be located in the amenities and location, though. the coffee house, cafe boleh, is 24 hours, which is really handy and not always a feature of most hotels. lovely christmas decorations.

Not good: the pacific end is the hotel part, not the resort. the part of the stay experience that they really should give more thought to is on acoustics, often neglected since hoteliers tend to focus on visual aesthetics. the hotel room hallways are open to the outside, creating a void in the middle, which - because very little soft furnishing is present - amplifies any sound in the hallways in nearby floors. so - doors banging, cleaner trolley wheel squeaking, children screaming, you get the idea. i think the magellan end might be better.

breakfast was ok, but i reckon a couple of stars below the hotel's rating (the other restaurants we tried, and the cafe's other buffets are pretty good) - the watery strawberry jam, oddly dilute miso soup, and poor sausages didn't impress. but you can stick to the breads, egg station, fruit and nasi lemak and that should do just fine. the coffee house at breakfast time can also feel busy since the food is all at the centre thus everyone has to walk to the same place, crossing many tables, many times. the breakfast overflow is downstairs to the chinese restaurant, and the lobby area where the buffet is located is also not well thought of acoustically, making it pretty noisy there - it feels like a bus station, sound-wise, which does not match the image of the hotel.

lastly, the booking arrangements they had with the booking site they used can be improved. though the site differentiated between room beds, and we booked king rooms fronting the sea, we did not get king beds and one room fronted the golf course since somehow the bed preference needed to be stated *again* in comments, and the hotel was full for the christmas period. if the bed classification information does not transfer over by the booking itself, there should be explicit instruction to reiterate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

My husband, 2 1/2 year old toddler and I stayed at The Pacific Sutera from the 22nd- 27th December. The staff, especially Sabri gave us excellent recommendations- places to eat at (delicious sea food restaurants), tours to join (wetland tour- spotting probiscus monkeys, mari- mari cultural village & Lok Kawi Wildlife Park & surrounding island tours), organizing transportation, etc. This was tough considering we had an active toddler with us.

The food was delicious and reasonably priced! We tried the breakfast buffet, lunch buffet, pool snacks and room service.

Whenever we had housekeeping come clean up our room, I'd leave a little note listing down requests such as extra towels, coffee, etc. One guy even left us a vase full of orchids because he overheard my son say those flowers are beautiful.

The hotel is large and perfect for kids! Lots of greenery and space to run around. Just staying at the hotel was a perfect holiday. It was so peaceful considering the hotel was full. We enjoyed visiting the islands, using the facilities in the joint hotels and watching the fish, coral and sea urchins swimming all around the Bay Area.

We will definetly go back. Hopefully my son will be old enough to try the water sports. Big thanks to all the friendly staff who made our holiday amazing!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, Guangdong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

They have their own harbor, just by the hotel garden! Nice room, nice facility, nice food, nice location, and helpful staff. We stayed at the executive floor for two nights. It was a great experience.

If I would have a chance to revisit KK, I would definitely choose Swing Pacific again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#7 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The Resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The Resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.