We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) to your Saves list
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
KIDS STAY PLAY & EAT FREE
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stayed at this hotel 4 nights last month.staff are really friendly and helpful, public areas are great.pool good, with nice pool bar and snacks.massive hotel, you can used the other side of it too..the magellen, we stayed in the pacific.breakfast buffet was good too, sometimes the odd food from the night before dinner would resurface tho.the food is very geared up for asian travellers, but there is a good western choice too.rooms were good, we got a free upgrade too, they are a bit tired, but i think they are getting redone.beautiful view of the harbour and small islands, a wonderful place, would deffo return :)))

Room Tip: ocean harbour view is lovely :)with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    593
    171
    72
    40
See reviews for
434
544
51
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

First of all - don't believe the negative reviews on here!!!! My partner and I just returned from an 8 night stay at the Magellan Sutera Resort. We had the most fantastic time!

Our room was amazing and it had a great view of the Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park. The room was very tidy and the bed was very comfortable. There was absolutely nothing wrong with ANY of the facilities in our room/the resort in general. Every morning the staff greeted us by name at breakfast. The buffet was very tasty and they would alternate dishes daily. The pools and views were fantastic, as were all the restaurants throughout the resort. The food and drinks were very well priced and the food was absolutely delicious! The staff were absolutely amazing... they definitely made our holiday. We would always find ourselves having a great conversation with the extremely friendly staff. The location is amazing and the shuttle bus to town was great.

I really can't fault this resort and I'm unsure how so many people can be displeased with it. My partner and I found it to be truly 5 star and we will definitely return!

Room Tip: The Harbour Wing has great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

if you visit KK, this resort is better to stay. near to city and lots of facilities in this resort. you can play golf, watch movie, and other activities. it also has a sister resort managed by same company, they share hotel facilities each other. you also can rent a boat, ship. not very expensive, and staff is quite polit. they upgraded me to a high floor ocean view room. hehe

Room Tip: depends you prefer, ocean view and golf/mountain view are same good. but high floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I love this hotel, it's almost perfect. The service was great, the people were kind, the price was reasonable. It's location is amazing! If you're in KK to dive or snorkel and get out into the city from time to time, It's lovely. The rooms are beautiful, though they it shows it age. The seaside view out of the hotel is great if you can afford it.

If you want to go snorkeling it's right next to the docks, so it was easy to get to and the prices wasn't bad either.

The pool was great too and wasn't full of children either, and it had a great swim up bar.

The only problem I have was that the going to find a cheap place to eat that was tough, you have to take the shuttle bus or a taxi to go get to the city for food which means you have to spend quite a lot of money for food and drinks.

If you want a change, take the shuttle bus to the magellan sutera, it's a great hotel with a lot of facilities, especially food and drink and the cafe there is great. The pool is nice too but it's going to be full of kids.

If you're here with friends or a loved one, this is a great choice. If you're with family, then stay at the Magellan Sutera.

Room Tip: Try and get take out delivered to the hotel for breakfast...might be a better idea than buying break...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I recently had four nights at the Magellan whilst on honeymoon. ALL of the staff were five-star, and everything was absolutely perfect! The buffet breakfast and dinner at Five-sails was a clear highlight, as was the Spa. As honeymooners, our room was filled with rose petals, chocolates and fresh fruit. A really nice touch! We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

After arriving around 9 pm we were swiftly checked into the hotel our arrival drink was presented to us after we were given directions to our room which was a bit strange. I chose this hotel based on recommendations on trip advisor and many comments about the Magellan being far superior to the Pacific and it was also rated as a five star hotel. When we got to our room the carpets were covered in stains the room was very very tired with many obvious flaws, it was also very musty. I was extremely disappointed in the appearance and state of the room but we were on holidays and here to have a good time so we put the many shortfalls aside and tried to enjoy our stay. This mood was very short lived as the air conditioning didn't seem to be working and we had a very bad night sleep. We got up to go to breakfast and as we left the room realised our door didn't lock when we left, so all night our door had been unlocked :( I called and asked for someone to come out and fix the door and check the air conditioning they said someone would be out when I enquirer when as we were on our way out but could now not leave the person was dismissive which frustrated me further. Someone was out in 15 minutes and was able to fix it but I felt unsafe leaving the room and checked it was locked multiple times. We were out for the entire day when we returned to our room it was still not cold even though it was turned down to 10 degrees celcius so we headed down to the lobby to ask if it had been checked as it was still warm, they must have already known it was a problem as without me even asking they offered to move us and gave us the choice of two rooms which was nice, I did not expect to be moved so it did make the experience better. The other rooms where in much better condition and the air conditioning was amazing. Both rooms were on the harbour wing. Previous room was 6418. So biggest issue for my husband was no wifi other than in the public areas, not even the option to pay and have it in your room. Room service was really nice must come from the alfresco restaurant as we also dined there pretty much same menu but again great food and good quality but you do pay a lot more than eating in town. Also really enjoyed coffee at muffinz near the pool. Pool area is stunning and the general areas are what you expect of a five star hotel but the rooms are not really would be pushing 3.5 TVs are old box style TVs which I haven't seen in a luxury hotel in years. Would I come back? No, would I recommend it? Maybe, if you have young children as it seems to be well set up for them.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just back from 6 nights at the Pacific Sutera and cannot think of one negative thing to say about it. We had a great stay in a Luxury Sea View room which was very clean and spacious with fantastic views and a large bathroom. The pool area was lovely, and again very clean, the restaurant large and airy with a huge selection at the breakfast buffet. There is a regular shuttle bus to KK centre for just 3RM return (about 60p), and practically on-site is the island boat trip center. Everywhere was clean and fresh, the staff were excellent, with a special mention for Nels - the Beverage Manager, he always made a point of saying hello and stopping for a chat. All in all we have a fantastic trip and really enjoyed our stay here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)

Address: 1 Sutera Harbour Blvd, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) 4.5*
Number of rooms: 956
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sutera Harbour Resort is Malaysia’s foremost premier integrated property. The Resort encompasses the luxurious accommodation of The Pacific Sutera and The Magellan Sutera hotels, a 27-hole championship golf course, Sutera Harbour Marina & Country Club, two Mandara Spas and a host of dining and recreational facilities. Sutera Harbour Resort is also affiliated with 5 other eco-destinations in Sabah managed through Sutera Sanctuary Lodges including Kinabalu Park, Mesilau Nature Resort, Laban Rata, Poring Hot Spring & Nature Reserve and Manukan Island Resort. The Resort also offers a luxury charter division, North Borneo Yachting and steam locomotive through North Borneo Railway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Hotel
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera And The Magellan Sutera)
Sutera Harbour Hotel
Sutera Harbour Kota Kinabalu
Magellan Sutera
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera) Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.