We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Offer RM888+
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Western Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

We stayed at Rasa Ria for three days before Xmas and we had a marvellous time. It was our 1st trip overseas with our 21 month old and she thoroughly enjoyed the pools! All the staff were friendly, and made us feel very welcome. If you have a child under 4, staying any longer than 3-4 days may be abit boring, as there are alot of out door activites for older children/adults, unless you are willing to pay for a baby-sitter. Food was abit on the expensive side but was of very good quality and delicious. Overall, its the best place to catch up on R & R - lying by the pool doing NOTHING! Would definitely come back very soon.

  • Liked — Staff and service
  • Disliked — distance from CBD
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,696
    813
    222
    60
    21
See reviews for
1,247
1,763
77
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,056)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2008

We stayed at the Rasa Ria for 7 nights in November. Overall, we did enjoy our holiday, but to be honest 7 nights at this resort is too many. It is very isolated, and with a shuttle trip of 45 minutes to the nearest town, you're not going to be spending much time outside of the resort. The other thing we didn't realise is that the shuttle is quite expensive. In the end we couldn't justify the cost of the shuttle and stayed in the resort.

The atmosphere at the Rasa Ria was very friendly, relaxed and peaceful. The staff were wonderful......very friendly and helpful at all times. Also, the omlettes at the breakfast buffet were fantastic!

On the subject of food, we found meals to be quite expensive. We probably spent about $100 a day on food for the two of us, but we usually ate heaps at the breakfast buffet so we didn't have to buy lunch, drank water instead of ordering drinks, and ate at the cheaper restaurants (Coffee Terrace and Naan) for dinner. However, the dinner buffet is TO DIE FOR! It's so amazing.....every kind of food you could wish for and more.

As a number of posters have said, the price of drinks is really very high, although we found that our resort in Brunei charged similar prices. Expect to pay about 8 ringgit for a small can of coke! But an orange juice was 24 ringgit (A$12!!!!!) and alcoholic drinks were just out of the question! We just drank water most of the time as we couldn't afford the drinks.

We stayed in the Garden Wing, and the room was very nice! Very clean and with a balcony overlooking the ocean (great view!). We got some amazing photos at sunset of the sun setting over the water. The room had a nice bathroom and the bed was very comfortable.

There is a orangutan sancturary at the resort (costs about 40 ringgit per person to see them). We were a little unlucky. The orangutans only stayed about 3 minutes before they climbed away through the trees again. The keeper called them for a long time to try and get them to come back but they weren't hungry. We were quite disappointed, as my wife loves orangutans and we really didn't see anything to write home about. However, at least the 40 ringgits goes to a good cause. We were hoping they'd offer to give us entry to the next viewing session since we really didn't get to see them for long, but no such luck.

There are quite a few free activities at the resort, and we found them very good. The blowpipe competition was very fun, and so was the ping pong and mini golf! We also hired some kayaks and went for a paddle in the ocean. They are currently upgrading the waterslides! However, the cost of jetskiing was out of the question (I think it was $70 for 5 minutes?) and so were many of the paid activities. However we did take a short bike ride into a local village which was very interesting and we had some delicious snacks at a local house as well.

Overall, we found ourselves getting quite bored on our holiday, and the price of food, drinks and activities took away some of the enjoyment. However, this was at least partly due to the excahnge rate, which wasn't as good as it had been months earlier due to the financial crisis. It is a very nice resort, but I'd probably recommend staying about 3 nights unless all you're looking for is a place to sit around the pool and relax. The staff are wonderful, but if you stay too long you'll be wishing for a change of scenery.

  • Liked — The rooms, the views and the free activities!
  • Disliked — The price of food, drinks and activities.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed at the Rasa Ria in July of 2008. One night initially prior to doing a 3 day / 2 night climb of Mt. Kinabalu, followed by 6 nights with friends.

This is a fantastic resort that makes you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive. The staff were so friendly and accommodating, as good as you will get anywhere. Everyone we spoke to at the resort had the same high praise and it somehow seemed to make it easier to socialise with others at the resort as the mood and atmosphere at every bar was so friendly.

We stayed in the older superior rooms which were very spacious & comfortable - probably 4- 4.5 stars. If you wan't sheer luxury and opulance - our friends stayed in the recently completed Ocean View Rooms. These were just fantastic, but at a price.

Can not praise this resort enough. They were just fantastic.

  • Liked — Service, atmosphere, friendliness, location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Wow, this resort is something else. A real gem set on the South China Sea and surrounded by a beautiful rainforest which is home to a small number of orangutans that you can see during feeding times twice a day. We stayed in the Garden Wing which was a decent sized room with a balcony but if you want to upgrade, the Ocean rooms have amazing views and hottubs on the balconies! There are 2 lovely swimming pools, a gorgeous deserted beach with watersports facilities, 5 very good quality restaurants and a nature reserve. The hotel caters to your every need and the staff are unbelievably warm, friendly and totally efficient. The only drawback is the distance to anywhere; there is a shuttle bus into KK but it takes 45 mins and isn't very regular and the driver doesn't hang around!!

  • Liked — Location is unbelievable
  • Disliked — Distance from KK
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at the Rasa Ria Resort. If you're looking for a bit of peace and relaxation, and no reason to go beyond the grounds of the hotel, it really fits the bill. Set in huge, beautiful, tropical grounds, with two free flowing pools that edge out on a white beach, it is really lovely. Our room was also spacious and well designed and the resort is great if you are travelling with kids. there is a Kids Club, staff are well disposed to helping parents out with children, and there are lots of activities. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The food prices were a bit expensive
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

Just back from 7 days at Rasa Ria resort. It was great. All the staff were very efficient and helpful. Definitely book an Ocean View room which are very large with views over the grounds to the sea with fabulous sunsets.The food is excellent especially the breakfast and the buffet dinner by the Pool which we did three times! The only drawback is the distance from the city. It costs 80 ringits into town by cab one way or 70 to the new Borneo 1 shops. If there is at least 2 or more of you it is better and nearly as cheap to catch a cab instead of the resort shuttle which has limited service. The golf course is excellent also. If you just want to relax somewhere this place is perfect.

  • Liked — service, golf
  • Disliked — distance from town
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret Harbour
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Rasa Ria in November for a week.
The resort is beautiful and having the orang utan's within a five minute walk was certainly a bonus.
Our garden view room was comfortable and serviced twice daily by some of the friendliest staff I have encountered.
There was plenty of activities available to book from the resort and the staff were helpfull when booking.
The food, although pricey compared to some places was excellent and really not too badly priced for the quality.
There really isnt a bad thing we could say about Rasa Ria.
We would return there for sure !!

  • Liked — The Staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Address: Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort is set on Pantai Dalit beach surrounded by 400 acres of lush tropical vegetation, including a unique nature reserve. Here you'll meet Sabah's icon, the fascinating Orang Utan, as well as a remarkable array of indigenous flora and fauna. Unexpected encounters with hornbills who glide right overhead, peacocks walking by during breakfast, a friendly bear cat greeting you from a tree or the occasional wild rabbit, iguana or squirrel crossing your path are all part of the magic of this remarkable resort. Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort goes beyond the offerings of Kota Kinabalu hotels by providing numerous options for relaxation. This includes the magnificent Spa at Dalit Bay, a wide range of water sports, Rasa Ria's own catamarans for cruises and deep sea fishing, a challenging 18-hole championship golf course, ATV safaris, tennis, horse riding, a fitness centre and, of course, a fun-filled Kids' Club to care for younger visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Hotel
Shangri La Rasa Ria Resort
Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.