We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unforgettable Retreat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort to your Saves list
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Introductory Offer RM888+
Ranked #1 of 93 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“An Unforgettable Retreat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We had a delightful time here at this superb hotel. Spending 4 days and 3 nights there just wasn't enough! Initially, we booked a sea view room at the garden wing, but upgraded to the ocean wing upon arrival. Very thankful to the management for offering us the upgrade!
The ocean wing room is absolutely marvelous! Decorated exquisitely, the room was incredibly comfortable, spacious and spotless! The balcony comes with a large bathtub. Privacy was sufficient as roller blinders/shadings are available at the touch of a button.
The complimentary toiletries provided were of the L'occitane range! Indeed a first class standard. Adding more to our amazements, there was also a coffee machine (Nespresso) waiting for us in the room. Finest coffee capsules replenished always. As a coffee lover myself, I appreciate these little niceties. Nightly turndown service includes scented oil burner placed in the room with the choice of preferred fragrances.
Being an ocean wing guest, you can either choose to enjoy buffet breakfast at The Coast or Coffee Terrace. Both places are terrific with wide selections of food. But personally I prefer The Coast because unfortunately at the Coffee Terrace we experienced an invasion of flies that was just a bother. My advice is to insist on a table inside the restaurant.
To the hotel staffs, my kudos to you all for making the guest feel nothing but warmth and welcomed. They were all respectfully friendly and kind and most certainly helpful. We will never forget the unexpected attention and generous support offered to us during our short stay.
Suttle bus service to KK town is availble at certain scheduled times.(return fare @ RM35). I feel obligated to point this out; do ensure time allocation of at least 15-30mins ahead of the scheduled pick up time as the bus will just swiftly pick up and almost immediately drive off without waiting for anyone eventhough time of return has been notified and noted down during ticket purchase @ the concierge. Perhaps contacting guest via mobile to alert them the bus is about to leave soon would not be such a bad idea in my opinion. Anyway, eventually the hotel management did offered to send a driver to pick us up after we alerted them that we have missed the bus by a minute or two. Although we declined the offer at that time, we still appreciate the kind gesture.

Other than that we absolutely enjoyed our stay.here, and most definately coming back for sure!

Room Tip: to splurge a little for the ocean wing room is absolutely worth every single penny spent! trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-LaRasaRia, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Ifarhana, thank you for your kind feedback. We are pleased to learn that you and your partner had a delightful time at the resort and enjoyed our Ocean Wing facilities. We have taken note of your comments regarding the flies issue at Coffee Terrace and have since addressed this with our team for improvement. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit!
Sincerely,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,700
    813
    222
    60
    21
See reviews for
1,249
1,765
77
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,057)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

A very friendly atmosphere with lots of activities if you like or just relax with a good book and good food. Meet an orang-utan an help them to survive, why not adoptee one. The rangers can tell you more.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed with my 2 young children for a week, we had a mountain view room, which was large, very well appointed, bright. It had wi-fi, and all the mod-cons we needed.
The resort was wonderful, with its giant pools, slides and water sports access. The beach was clean and the surf manageable with young children.
We found the staff extremely courteous and friendly and were made to feel welcome as soon as we arrived.
The restaurants had great food, and catered to everyone. The buffets were simply amazing!
Some of the things we recommend: a massage at the spa, seeing the orangutans, a ride on the Segways, and a cocktail in the Lobby bar.
We had a very luxurious and relaxing holiday!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
台灣台北市
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had a memorable experience at Rasa Ria resort for our 10th anniversary. The staffs are very friendly. All restaurants and food were of the high quality. Kids had excellent time from swimming pool to beach and had lots of activities in kids club. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Just being next to the sanctuary was enough to make this special as well as the pool chute!!! This property is needing a bit of tlc and I didnt think the staff were overly friendly but overall we still had a great time as the setting was great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a lovely holiday at Rasa Ria. The staff went out of their way to make you feel special. All amenities and food were of the highest quality. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to the ocean view wing, this was wonderful. We requested high floor and interconnecting rooms and received all and more than we asked for. It was a fantastic relaxing place or full of activity and sightseeing if you wanted this. We have three children and like a holiday where you relax for part of the day and then adventure the rest!!! This offered everything. We would have no hesitation in returning. One of our best holidays to date.You need to make sure you book through the resort direct and have breakfast included they do have special offers.Breakfast was a great way to start the day.

Room Tip: Ocean view wing - it does cost more but the view, bath on verandah and big day bed on verandah, own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was the first time I stayed at the Shangri La. Overall i was pretty impressed, but it lacked a few things to give it that 5 out 5. I can see why it is very highly rated.

Pros:
Clean
Friendly Staff
Lots of outlets to eat

Cons:
Refurbishment/Rebuilding just behind the main hotel, left alot of noise during the day.

Additional note: Went to the spa twice in two days. The second visit, they still asked me to fill a first time visit form. You would expect with a 5 star hotel for the staff to be a tad attentive.

Room Tip: Ocean wing will probably give you a quieter experience, but further to walk to the main parts of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-LaRasaRia, General Manager at Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear VP_DHC, thank you for your constructive feedback. I am sorry to learn you were disturbed by the construction works - never an ideal situation in a resort. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience endured. Your comment with regards to your spa experience is also well noted and has been shared with the team for improvement. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to be able to welcome you back in near future.
Sincerely,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort

Address: Pantai Dalit Beach | P.O. Box 600, Kota Kinabalu 89208, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 416
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort is set on Pantai Dalit beach surrounded by 400 acres of lush tropical vegetation, including a unique nature reserve. Here you'll meet Sabah's icon, the fascinating Orang Utan, as well as a remarkable array of indigenous flora and fauna. Unexpected encounters with hornbills who glide right overhead, peacocks walking by during breakfast, a friendly bear cat greeting you from a tree or the occasional wild rabbit, iguana or squirrel crossing your path are all part of the magic of this remarkable resort. Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort goes beyond the offerings of Kota Kinabalu hotels by providing numerous options for relaxation. This includes the magnificent Spa at Dalit Bay, a wide range of water sports, Rasa Ria's own catamarans for cruises and deep sea fishing, a challenging 18-hole championship golf course, ATV safaris, tennis, horse riding, a fitness centre and, of course, a fun-filled Kids' Club to care for younger visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, AsiaRooms, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Rasa Ria Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Hotel
Shangri La Rasa Ria Resort
Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri Las Rasa Ria Resort
Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La's Rasa Ria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.